RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Bianchi Eros Donna vs. LeMond Tourmalet(24 posts)

Bianchi Eros Donna vs. LeMond Tourmaletalyssa
Feb 13, 2002 5:40 AM
I am trying to decide which of these 2 bikes to buy.

I am 5'3" and these were the only bikes I could find that would fit me that also has 700 wheels. I test rode the Bianchi and it fit well. I have been unable to find a bike shop that has the LeMond in my size, so I have been unable to compare them. If I ask a bike shop to order one for me to test ride, then that means I am committed to buying the LeMond.

Has anyone test ridden either of these bikes? Can anyone advise?
if the Bianchi fits well, end of storynm
Feb 13, 2002 6:12 AM
BUT- the Bianchi has Campy shiftersalyssa
Feb 13, 2002 6:22 AM
and the LeMond has Shimano which I prefer.
You could learn to like more things nmDaveL
Feb 13, 2002 7:52 AM
you could learn to not be a jerk.alyssa
Feb 14, 2002 12:19 PM
You tell him!Kurt VF
Feb 14, 2002 5:27 PM
GREAT COMEBACK!!!!! I love it!
:-)alyssa
Feb 15, 2002 5:43 PM
HAHA thanks!
Buy neither. Look for a bike with higher end components...Cima Coppi
Feb 13, 2002 8:02 AM
Both of the bikes you are looking at come with the low end components from both Campy and Shimano. If you are looking to get a new bike, find one with at least Shimano 105 or better, or Campy Daytona/Centaur or better. Given your size, you will never wear out a frame of any material, but low end components with cause more grief in the long run.

CC
Append. Try this...Cima Coppi
Feb 13, 2002 8:17 AM
I don't know what the prices are of the bikes you are looking at, but I would call Gary Hobbs at GVH Bikes and get an idea of what he recommends. Looking at his inventory, he had plenty of 53cm frames at amazing prices, and he can set you up with a Shimano 105 build group with STI levers starting at $795 (this includes everthing you need except the frame and fork). Check out his site:

http://www.gvhbikes.com/

The first thing you need to do is get a professional fitting done by a competent bike shop in your area. You can provide Gary with the measurements from that fitting, and he can custom build you a bike that will fit you significantly better than anything you would buy off a showroom floor.

CC
thanks for your advice, but since this is my first road bike...alyssa
Feb 14, 2002 8:06 PM
I don't think I should buy a bike with very expensive components. As long as the frame is good, I can always upgrade later. Nobody seems to have complaints about Tiagra components anyway.
More advise...Cima Coppi
Feb 15, 2002 7:01 AM
There are many rules of thought about how to buy a bicycle, especially for those who plan to actually ride them. Here are a couple I subscribe to:

First. Fit is of utmost importance. Focus primarily on this no matter what.

Second. Components wear out far more quickly than a frame and fork. This is why I advise people to buy a bike with middle of the road or better components. This may mean paying less for a frame to get a bike that is in your price range. You will never complain about your frame or fork being out of adjustment like you will a drivetrain or brakes.

Components can be easily moved from one frame to another once a new rider developes and can see the benefit of differing frame materials.

You are on the right step with selecting a steel frame for your first bike, but I urge you to consider better components on that first bike. They will require less maintenance in the long run, which means, if you are not mechanically inclined, the bike will be in the shop less often.

CC
thanks for your advice, but since this is my first road bike...weiwentg
Feb 15, 2002 11:12 AM
I have complaints about Tiagra components!
if it came down to the low-end stuff, I'd definitely get Campy over Shimano. according to reports, Campy stuff is more reliable. my Tiagra group has not been very reliable.
what type of problems did you have with Tiagra???alyssa
Feb 15, 2002 5:19 PM
what functionalities of Tiagra were "not very reliable"?? were your Campy components Mirage?
Low-end Campagnolo vs. Low-end ShimanoPoulidor
Feb 16, 2002 8:26 AM
For what it's worth. I have a Mirage equipped Bianchi that has served me well for 6 years. I have had no repairs or adjustments made to the components. Mirage works well and is apparently indestructable. I also have a Trek with Sora components (I know that is lower in the food chain than Tiagra, but close enough). The diffence is quality is apparent. The Sora brakes are horrible (minimal stopping power) and the drive train is constantly skipping or making new creaks/groans that come and go. The shifting is often sloppy. In my opinion, I would not hestitate to buy a bike with low-end Campy components but I would avoid low-end Shimano equipped bikes. This is not Shimano bashing, just my opinion, based on experience. Good luck.
Low-end Campagnolo vs. Low-end Shimanoweiwentg
Feb 16, 2002 11:45 AM
Tiagra cassette: shifts horrifically.
front derailleur: very finicky; made horrible gnashing noises when upshifting (admittedly it was a triple)
cranks: heavy
BB: bearings not very smooth ... by reports, they are pretty durable, though.
shifters: working fine, actually
rear derailleur: my bike came with a 105 rear D, so I couldn't say.
thanks for your advice, but since this is my first road bike...mackgoo
Feb 15, 2002 6:07 PM
If it's your first road bike how do you know you prefer Shimano? If you step into the light you'll never go back.
re: Bianchi Eros Donna vs. LeMond Tourmaletjtolleson
Feb 13, 2002 1:49 PM
If the Bianchi Eros Donna fits, then the Tourmalet likely will not. The Lemond's slack seat tube angle and long effective top tube is not very women friendly.

Not only that, but the Bianchi Eros and Eros Donna are, in my opinion, the best entry level (and mid-range) steel on the market.

PS -- If a bike shop is making you commit to purchasing the Lemond just because they order it in for a test ride, you need to find a new bike shop. That's a bunch of crap.
re: Bianchi Eros Donna vs. LeMond TourmaletRusty Coggs
Feb 13, 2002 6:18 PM
Any REAL geometry differences tend to disappear in the smallest sizes.
re: Bianchi Eros Donna vs. LeMond TourmaletCrusty Oggs
Feb 13, 2002 8:29 PM
You might say that for ANY size... steepen the seat tube angle and a bit and shorten the top tube a bit, and (ta-da!) same "fit".
So true, so truejtolleson
Feb 14, 2002 7:19 AM
But the TT length on these two is different, even on the sub 50 cm sizes. If the Bianchi fits, I say just buy it!
the tourmalet comes in women's sizes alsoalyssa
Feb 15, 2002 5:27 PM
to clarify "committed to buying the bike" - I mean that I have to place an order for the bike and give them a deposit which would be 50%. If the bike doesn't fit, then they will try to get another bike that fits me. but then I am limited to the brands that particular store sells.
re: Bianchi Eros Donna vs. LeMond TourmaletCAAD5 Kid
Feb 13, 2002 10:16 PM
Just a thought from a shop guy....only buy a bike that you've test ridden (and I mean an actual ride...more than a spin around the parking lot) and that you feel one hundred percent comfortable on. Don't have them order a Lemond because you hear it's ok. Secondly, why won't they order the Lemond for you..it shouldn't be a special order....that should be a bike that is stocked or if not stocked, they shouldn't pressure you into buying it..sight unseen. Try to get them to ask around for one..they can call the Lemond rep and try to get one down so you can demo it out or ask them who the other local Lemond dealers are. Don't settle for riding one bike and buying it...try to get out on at least two bike..preferably more..and see how different frame materials, and different brands compare. You mentioned that one bike has Campy parts...big deal...Campy's great but never buy a bike based on Components..look at the frame, fork, and wheelset first..those are the most expensive items to replace and are the biggest concern...a bad frame with campy on it is still a bad frame. Components wear out..and can be replaced when the time comes....well, thats all i got for ya.
you work at a bike shop?alyssa
Feb 15, 2002 5:41 PM
Ideally I would like to do what you suggest BUT -
it seems that the bike shops around where I live generally don't carry bikes with small frames, and I was lucky I found one store had the women's Bianchi in stock. I would like to test more than one bike to compare but I have to give a non-refundable deposit to order the LeMond.

You mean your bike shop doesn't require a deposit to order a bike (not in stock) for a customer? what state are you from?
Yes, I do......................CAAD5 Kid
Feb 15, 2002 7:10 PM
My shop does normally charge to special order something (deposit). However, my shop carries a pretty good selection of women's bikes and equipment (cannondale women specific, and Trek WSD...we are a Lemond dealer but i haven't seen the Lemond you're talking. We would probably charge to order the Lemond but who knows...thats up to the higher-ups.....all i know..is that it seems like the shop you're going to know isn't exactly trying to get the perfect bike for you.....they could do tons of things to try to accomdate you....
p.s. I'm in MA