RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Spinergy SR-3(9 posts)

Spinergy SR-3Superg
Feb 4, 2002 6:37 AM
Anyone have any experience with these? Are they durable?
DON'T DO IT!!!szybki
Feb 4, 2002 7:12 PM
Yea, I bought some SR-3's off of ebay. Gotta a hell of a deal. Wheels rocked... for about 400 miles... then the rear hub scattered, naturally I was about 45 miles from home. Had to have the old lady SAG me in (emm-bare-assing). Sent the wheel back to Spinergy, waited about 4 months for a replacement. The newly repaired hub looked and sounded great. It lasted about 700 miles. Replaced it myself with an Ultegra 28 holer and been riding them since. Just recently got some ksyriums (2001 model) haven't had them too long, but they seem like VERY nice wheels. I saw on Spinergy's web site where they have improved these crappy hubs for 2002, but I personally would not take a chance - apply the cash towards better wheels.
'Bout Time!grzy
Feb 4, 2002 7:27 PM
Time that is for Spinergy to come up with really new, cool and improved design to blow all other designs away forever (or a year or so). Ignore the fact that this is what they said last year, and the year before that and the year before that. If their stuff is so damn good how come it keeps failing and their designs are one radical departure after another and you can always buy last year's stuff at fire sale prices?

The general consensus around here is that the Spinergy products are crap and their customer service is worse. There are some die hard fans, but I don't think they ride hard enough to have the stuff fail on them or else they get the stuff for free and are required to say good things to get more free stuff. You'd have to be on crack to actually buy their stuff.
'Bout Time!Eric16
Feb 4, 2002 7:33 PM
I don't have any personal experience with them but two of the guys I ride with both got a great deal on em and picked up a pair. I haven't heard any complaints from them yet and they both ride hard enough to fail a wheelset if it has a defect...then again they only just bought them in September so if they both have rear hub problems down the line I'll let you know!
spinergy are still revolutionizing the wheel game...johan burnt eels
Feb 5, 2002 7:34 AM
description of Spinergy's new SRX wheel and they state the following:

"By using a shallow rim section and round spokes, the SRX saves nearly 200g. over last years SR-3."

are we to say W_O_W???

this was pointed out on another site but i thought it very funny indeed.
W_O_W_I_E_!grzy
Feb 6, 2002 4:49 PM
As in Maui.

What will they think of next? How can anyone take them seriously?

These guys have to be operating with a perma-buzz and money to burn.
Am I the only lucky one here? Am I on crack??geof
Feb 5, 2002 8:02 PM
I own Spinergy Xearos and love them. The hubs are solid and I ride every day to include big roller time, and I weigh about 200. Maybe I got the Wednesday set or something, but after around 1600 miles or so they have been fine with only one truing. And, I've had good results from CS regarding other stuff. Oh well, go figure...

I'm not in bed with Spinergy at all... I love the Mavic's and am really thinking of doing a really nice high end build. But, until these die... I'm happy
Am I the only lucky one here? Am I on crack??superg
Feb 6, 2002 6:08 AM
Thanks for all the comments. I bought Rithey WCS DS Aero wheels instead. I saw to many negative things about spinergy.
No, and I don't knowmickey-mac
Feb 6, 2002 10:57 PM
FWIW, you're not the only lucky one. I've got about 8000 trouble-free miles on my Xaeros and couldn't be happier with them. However, if I had to choose again, I might go with something else, primarily because of the numerous reported problems. In other words, I really do feel that I've been "lucky" with my set.