RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Pegoretti Marcelo, GreatGoogoolee Moogoolee, Pinarello Opera(11 posts)

Pegoretti Marcelo, GreatGoogoolee Moogoolee, Pinarello OperaBreako
Jan 26, 2002 4:06 PM
Anybody ride either of these two bikes and if so what do you think of them as far as stiffness, handling etc...?
re: Pegoretti Marcelo, GreatGoogoolee Moogoolee, Pinarello OperaTSlothrop
Jan 27, 2002 8:52 AM
I haven't ridden either bike, but if it's any help, check out Procycling October 2001 for a review of the Marcelo. It got a great review, and is definately the frame I'd like to upgrade to.
re: Pegoretti Marcelo, GreatGoogoolee Moogoolee, Pinarello Operatr
Jan 27, 2002 9:12 PM
All of these bikes have gotten good reviews from Millar. I have an Opera and have seen the others in person. You can't go wrong with any of these. All three are very good workmanship.
I have a Marcelo. I have not ridden scads of high-end bikes, sobill
Jan 29, 2002 11:40 AM
I may not be the best judge with the widest perspective, but . . .
It is laterally stiff. Compared to my LS Natchez, it is dramatically stiffer. Some of that undoubtedly is the threadless vs. quill stem configuration, but that difference doesn't account for all the difference (you can feel that the Marcelo is stiffer on a climb). It may not be as stiff through the BB as, for example, an OCLV, but that's a tough call. It's pretty stiff. I understand that the Great Googelee Moogelee is a tad stiffer.
It is nonetheless a comfortable ride. Both of my bikes have carbon forks, and both absorb road noise through the front, but the Marcelo seems to absorb road noise on both ends.
The single coolest thing about the Pegoretti is the way it tracks through a turn. There is nothing skittish. It is VERY surefooted. Hit a bump on a fast turn? The rear just takes it. The handling is very precise.
For all that, the LS seems a little more nimble somehow, with faster turning. For example, even though not as stiff, I am more at ease in a pack with the LS. I haven't quite figured this out yet, and it may just be longevity. I've had the LS since 1998, the Pegoretti only since late August, 2001.
I ordered the Pegoretti through tiramisu imports. It took a while.
I have a pinarello.I have not ridden scads of high-end bikes, socolker
Jan 29, 2002 2:58 PM
it's a steel, lugged steel high end circa 96/97 called vuelta.
ok, it's stiff. you pedal and it goes.. no lateral movement on the bb. none. nada.
it has a steel fork. the bike is nimble but i corner at high speed on very bumpy ground and i get exactly where i want.it doesn't deflect, hesitate or flex.
pinarellos have a slightly steeper front end compared to the pegorettis.both are superb brands.
I have a Marcelo. I have not ridden scads of high-end bikes, sodan pearson
Jan 30, 2002 9:17 AM
I want to second Bill's comments. I have the Marcello as well and love its steadiness... it is a point and shoot bike with a stiff frame that is light and nimble. Tracks through turns like a cat. I find the carbon Mizuno fork communicates more road vibration than I like and that is the only problem with the set up. I haven't been on the Opera, though I would love to try it. For what it's worth, my daily rider is a Pinarello Banesto Replica--good Italian steel circa 1998. It is also stiff and handles wonderfully well. If it's weight was shaved, as the Opera is, well, it would give the Peg. a run for its money. You can probably flip a coin and not go wrong.

I worked with the guys at Tiramisu to set up my Pegoretti and that was a very, very satisfying experience. One little anecdote, I ordered my Marcello in the days when Tiramisu promised any custom paint job you wanted at no extra charge. I developed this beautiful curving design ala the Telekom's and sent it along. The Italian paint house said they couldn't do it for less than some large additional charge. The guy at Tiramisu was wonderful and apologetic. But apparently Signor Pegoretti went over to the paint house to talk to them personally to try to get the deal done. I felt bad I had eaten up his time, but what personal attention... Really cool
Dan, where are you? We need to start a local chapter. nmbill
Jan 30, 2002 9:24 AM
nm
Thank you for the information guysBreako
Jan 31, 2002 9:42 PM
That's what I wanted to know, your experiences and how I could expect these bikes to handle compared to each other. People have told me to expect the GGM to be slightly stiffer than the Marcelo thanks to its slightly larger diameter tubing. Makes sense. How the two Pegoretti's compare to the ride of the Opera, I'm not sure, but I'm guessing they are all stable and blow through turns like a knife through butter, and climb well.

Out of curiosity, do you guys feel these bikes provide good comfort (ie road buzz dampening/vertical complaince). This is what I have heard the carbon does in the rear for the Opera. Also, are the advertised light weights of these frames legit or not?

Thanks.
When you climb or sprint, the bike is absolutely laterally stiffbill
Feb 1, 2002 8:19 AM
As for vertical compliance, I can't remember if I said this above, but I would say that, for example, an OCLV is stiffer through the BB. The Marcelo is not so vertically stiff as in, step on the pedal instant reaction shoot forward. As a result, it is comfortable, dampens road noise (my first reaction to riding the bike was, man, this thing is completely laterally stiff and STILL demolishes bumps and road noise) and it's plenty stiff enough (if feels faster and reacts to pedal stroke faster than the LS). My ti Litespeed is a little bit cushier, but the LS also is perceptibly less laterally stiff.
It's a good bike.
Thank you for the information guysDan Pearson
Feb 1, 2002 8:23 AM
Quickly... the advertised weight on the peg. is real. While I haven't weighed it to make sure it is ounce-for-ounce as advertised (and I'd have to strip the components to get there anyway), it is unbelievably light. I shake my head everytime I pick it up. And it looks like it belongs in an art museum suspended from the wall at home; nice aesthetic plus. I don't mind road vibration through the frame--it seems to eat up a lot of road chunkiness without skipping a beat or beating me into submission. Very comfortable other than my stated reservation about the mizuno carbon fork.
Dan
Dan, where are you? We need to start a local chapter. nmDan Pearson
Feb 1, 2002 8:17 AM
Hi Bill,
Sorry, I've been away for a few days... I am in Silver Spring... Usually run the Capitol Crescent downtown via Bethesda for work commuting. Can pop me an email at dan.pearson@mail.house.gov if you want to chat offline.
Dan Pearson