RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Dura Ace vs. Campy Record(17 posts)

Dura Ace vs. Campy RecordGlen
Jan 25, 2002 3:33 PM
What are the pros/cons of Dura Ace vs. Campy. I know Campy is slighty lighter, but is it worth it for the price difference? Looking at buying a new high end bike, but not sure on which way to go. I've never ridden a Campy, but have had Shimmano in the past and had no issues. Be interested in any thoughts/recomendations
okWoof the dog
Jan 25, 2002 4:13 PM
I recommend you go through past months' pages one by one. Up at the top there are links "next 50" and "archives." If you don't find anything in the more recent threads, search archives. I guarantee you will find TONS of threads like this. It is really tiring for people to repeat these threads every month if not more often....well, at least I think so.

Sincerely

Woof, the almighty dog with a bushy tail.

P.S. gonna go ride my bike now!
The TotalBike Article...AUH
Jan 26, 2002 5:50 AM
http://www.totalbike.com/articles/Campy-Shimano.html

Read through this article. It's really pretty thorough and the author gives both D/A and Record a fair case although he clearly prefers Record. You'll come away thinking Record is the only way to go, but plenty of riders prefer D/A. In the end it's more of a personal preference than anything else.

If you've only ridden with Shimano, test ride a bike with Campy ErgoLevers!!! Find a friend with a Campy bike so you can get at least a ~20 mile ride. You'll find them really foreign and unpleasant if you're like me. My friend says he took to the Campy layout right away. In a year or two if my D/A parts start to need replacement I'll probably get Record just to give myself another chance to warm up to the Campy "feel."
The TotalBike Article...John T
Jan 26, 2002 6:13 PM
That's a load ofd crap. he didn't clearly favor Record. He basically said that both were the same. They both function and great and as far as shifting is concerned Dura Ace shifts way smoother than any of the Campy lines. Abouyt the only real thing Record has going for it over Dura Ace is 10 speeds instead of 10 and looks. The durability issue is a complete joke. Both sets of components will outlast most bikes and how many guys really rebuild their groups after 5 years of wear anyway. Practically none.
The TotalBike Article...AUH
Jan 27, 2002 6:15 AM
It looks as if you didn't read the entire article.

"In my opinion, if we search the closer to perfection groupo avalaible today, that one is the Campagnolo Record. A cog more, close to the same weight, carbon levers, faster shifting... In my opinion it is the best thing avalaible if you have to race."

"I think that Dura-Ace should be compared with Chorus. Record is in its own league."

"The most interesting thing for me is that, after some years with Shimano being far from the rest, now Campagnolo is back in the first position, and, as the Japanese will not rest until they beat the Italians again, we, riders are the ones who win."
(emphasis added)

No, the author's preference is Record and he's not afraid to say so, but he is indeed fair and points out some advantages that he sees in Dura Ace as well. Most importantly he emphasizes that having one or the other will not make or break your races and that they're both excellent pieces of componentry. He himself just prefers Record. Nothing wrong with that.
The TotalBike Article...JohnT
Feb 1, 2002 7:02 AM
Who gives a rats ass if he prefers Record. There are just as many guys who prefer Dura Ace. That's why it's called an OPINION, not a FACT!

Record has already had huge trouble with its carbon fiber rear derailleur as far as breakdowns, I'd hardly call that use of carbon fiber technology a plus over D/A. Record Ti cassettes wear out faster than a Ford motor is that an advantage? Their BB technology is old and antiquated, everyone knows the D/A BB technology is far superior. How many guys have broken Record chains during climbs in the past year with those 10 gears? Look for more this year. As far as price is concerned, there is no comparison, Records a joke. The Chorus grouppo weighs a good 1/2 lb more than D/A so they are not comparable grouppos on that key fact.
re: Dura Ace vs. Campy RecordJimP
Jan 26, 2002 2:46 PM
From an asthetic point, the Campy is a prettier system. The Italians design the parts like they design a Ferrari. Now, looks aren't everything but the Campy does perform quite well. Look at a "World Cycling Productions" (www.worldcycling.com) catalog and see which pro teams are riding with Campy. On the downside, I had a pair of wheels laced on Campy Record hubs with the front and non-drive rear radially laced. After a year, the flanges started to deform. The hubs were so pretty that I kept the hubs for another couple of years just to look at them. My current LBS doesn't like the Campy 10 speed chain - says they wear fast but I have heard conflicting reports. I have ridden DA for several years now and they have held up very well. Good luck on a tough decision.
re: Dura Ace vs. Campy RecordM.E.
Jan 30, 2002 2:37 PM
As for performance, they both work great. As for pro teams, I believe in the 2001 Tour de France it was 13 teams on Dura-Ace, 11 teams on Record. I was a Campy man for a long time but 3 years ago got a slightly used bike w/Dura-Ace for a killer price and hve been very pleased. As for beauty I think it's really nice looking as well and don't understand the hard core Campy fan's attitude that it's a no-brainer in favor of Record.
re: Dura Ace vs. Campy Recordfeathers mcgraw
Jan 26, 2002 4:51 PM
Try this link.

http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/prodreview/components/campyvda.html
re: Dura Ace vs. Campy RecordGalibier
Jan 28, 2002 10:24 AM
The slowtwitch link above is, in my opinion, more useful than the plainly biased totalcycle link. As for whether YOU should get Dura Ace or Record, the only significant performance difference is in the shifters. Do you prefer the Shimano shifters? If so, get Dura Ace. Do you prefer the Campy shifters? If so, get Record. Can't decide? Go with Campy (personally, I'd get Chorus), as with Campy you get an extra rear cog. Price-wise, Dura Ace is the intelligent choice over Record, but not necessarily over Chorus. Appearance-wise, I don't agree that Campy components look better than Dura Ace; both look elegant and well-made.
re: Dura Ace vs. Campy RecordSnowBlind
Jan 28, 2002 2:32 PM
I don't like the Shimano stuff for two reasons:

1. Shifting can engage the brakes. (OK operator error)
2. Small for my hands. The real problem that can't be fixed.

If you can get a mix of Chorus and Record you can get the best of both worlds:

Record: "Rolling" surfaces: BB, Hubs, Headset, cranks, if you want 'em (very pretty). why: Hub and Headset have grease ports. Nice if you ride in bad weather or gritty area (Sacramento has both).

Chorus: The rest of the stuff. Why: Carbon is nice, but fragile, I like having real metal in the drive chain. You still get the butter smooth and durable Ball Bearings system in the shifters, but more durable.

Ok, I have assumed you have picked a frame, but let me tell you, put the money in a custom frame. I would trade my Record/Campy stuff for Tiagra before I gave up my custom built frame.
It would suck, but the bike would fit well, and I would be comfortable.
re: Dura Ace vs. Campy RecordGalibier
Jan 28, 2002 2:55 PM
I'm curious -- why can shifting engage the brakes any more on Shimano than on Campy? Both use the brake lever for shifting to larger cogs. Shimano's smaller lever under the brake lever, which Campy has replaced with the thumb buttons, can't be used to engage the brakes. So -- what's the difference?
Nopegrandemamou
Jan 28, 2002 4:13 PM
On Campy there is a smaller lever behind break lever for up shifts and a thumb lever for down shifts. On Campy the brake lever is only for stopping not shifting.

The lever design and mechanism are the only advantage Campy has over Shimano. IMHO Campy is much cleaner and a better solution. Otherwise it's pretty much a wash between the rest of the group.
Qualitybornin1964
Jan 28, 2002 4:31 PM
Shimano works every bit as well as Record, (here it comes) BUT I've seen D/A cranks that have blistering in the finish. LBS tells me that is common and won't affect performance - people still love it. What is it about brand loyalty in roadies...
Yepgrandemamou
Jan 29, 2002 6:02 AM
I have to agree. I experimented with Shimano in the late 80's 600/105 mix. It worked a heck of alot better than Campy's offerings at the time but had to replace headset,BB and the finish on the crank looked horrible. I was really disappointed in the longevity of the group.

Once ergo power came out I happily went back to Campy.
triple performanceMatjaz
Feb 5, 2002 2:00 PM
Hi there !
I also have to make the decision: DuraAce or Chorus.
For me the decisive fact is which one performes better with triple crankset. Last season I was driving Campy triple Veloce , but I was disappointed. It was always very difficult to shift properly to find the middle chainwheel. I found it very rarely with first shift. I always had to make trimming (which with Campy IS possible) to avoid sliding the chain towars front derailers arm. What was also very annoying is that I had to make the trimming of front derailer position also when the gear on the rear sprockets was changed.
It was not a problem to shift on small or big (front)chainwheel but definetly to middle one. I do not remember such problems when driving MTB with Shimano LX Deore gears. It is known, that Shimano has "digital" shifting while Campy has more "analog". I do not find a problem with Campy with double, but triple siply does not work fine. I however did not try Ultegra or Dura Ace triple or any roadbike Shimano triple. Does somebody have such experience?
Best regards, matjaz
triple performanceMatjaz
Feb 5, 2002 2:03 PM
Hi there !
I also have to make the decision: DuraAce or Chorus.
For me the decisive fact is which one performes better with triple crankset. Last season I was driving Campy triple Veloce , but I was disappointed. It was always very difficult to shift properly to find the middle chainwheel. I found it very rarely with first shift. I always had to make trimming (which with Campy IS possible) to avoid sliding the chain towars front derailers arm. What was also very annoying is that I had to make the trimming of front derailer position also when the gear on the rear sprockets was changed.
It was not a problem to shift on small or big (front)chainwheel but definetly to middle one. I do not remember such problems when driving MTB with Shimano LX Deore gears. It is known, that Shimano has "digital" shifting while Campy has more "analog". I do not find a problem with Campy with double, but triple siply does not work fine. I however did not try Ultegra or Dura Ace triple or any roadbike Shimano triple. Does somebody have such experience?
Best regards, matjaz