RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Headsets, is there anything they can't do?(19 posts)

Headsets, is there anything they can't do?Woof the dog
Jan 23, 2002 11:16 PM
I can get a cheap Ritchey WCS headset!!! new of course, how is it compared to Chris King? Should I plummet 100 bucks for Chris King or pay considerably less for a Ritchey one?

Thanx a bunch

Woof the ritchey dog.
if you know anything about bikes...str8dum1
Jan 24, 2002 9:44 AM
then you dont need to drop $100 on a king. i bought a 30$ cane creek c2. replacement bearing are 12$. i can buy 5 sets of replacement bearing plus the HS for 10$ less than the kings. 5 sets will last me basically forever (well as long as i keep buying disposable superlight Al frames).
if you know how to take care of your bike, i dont think its worth it.
Agreed. CK's are beautiful and last forever, butStraightblock
Jan 24, 2002 10:06 AM
offer no real weight savings or performance gain over a $30 headset that's properly installed and maintained. Sure, it's nice to look at it and know wou've got top of the line, but it would be at the bottom of my upgrade list. Put the money saved into some new tires or some other place where you'll notice the difference.
Agreed. CK's are beautiful and last forever, butwbates
Jan 25, 2002 4:20 AM
Yeah, but it's great to know that you won't ever have to adjust your headset again. I'd rather pay the $100 for a quality headset and not spend another cent on it for as long as I have it. I've never had that luck with any other headset manufacturer.
they can't make you fasterarooooooooo
Jan 24, 2002 10:20 AM
much ado about nothing......... nmCT1
Jan 24, 2002 9:22 PM
CK will make you a lot fasterJohnT
Jan 26, 2002 6:40 PM
It will make you a lot faster in the sense that you will never again have any group rides where you have to stop in the middle of the ride and fool with yoyur headset. It'll make you faster in the sense that you'll be able to spend more time training and less time fooling around installing, buying and traveling to the store for replacement parts of other headsets.

If you want peace of mind and no hassles ante up for the CK. If you want to play it cheap and deal with constant headaches and trips to the store go Cane Creek or somebody else.
Couldn't disagree moreCT1
Jan 26, 2002 6:47 PM
I've got bikes with CK headsets AND I've got bikes with CC HS's .......

IF and that's a BIG IF .... you know how to install them PROPERLY, both will work the same and NEITHER will cause you adjustment problems.

All this talk about CC HS problems really makes me laugh or.... maybe better yet sigh with resigned disbelief.

OH I weap for the future!

YMWDV
JohnG
Couldn't disagree moreJohnT
Jan 27, 2002 6:19 AM
That's all your opinion. Many more have weeped and sighed with disbelief at how poorly their non-CK headset performs once they have tried a CK. I can't even name how many riders I know who anted up and tried a CK for the first time and then realized that you can actually buy a headache free headset, install it and not have to worry about it.

I used to ride CC and had all kinds of bearing and cup problems. This was true for multiple models. People who think there is no reliability difference between CK and CC make me laugh, sigh and giggle all at the same time.
Couldn't disagree moreJohnT
Jan 27, 2002 6:26 AM
By the way, CC is currently giving out free replacement cartridge bearing cups for their "superb" zero stack headset which has caused owners all sorts of problems in the past year. More relibility from CC.
I-N-N-O-V-A-T-I-O-NTJeanloz
Jan 27, 2002 8:29 AM
Chris King wouldn't know anything about it. Whenever a company introduces a new product, like the ZS headset, there are going to be some problems (in that particular case, there was a mis-cue with the race supplier). King builds a great headset. But I'm not a huge fan of companies that rest on their laurels. King has been promising a bottom bracket for 5 years (or more), and all they can deliver is a headset and sometimes a couple of hubs.

My point is that if Cane Creek stuck to making one headset (the A-headset that THEY invented), they would have nothing but great products. It's because they keep trying to improve that they have little problems. I, for one, am pleased that Cane Creek is pushing the performance envelope and making bikes better- even if there are some bugs with their new products.
I-N-N-O-V-A-T-I-O-NJohnT
Jan 27, 2002 9:15 AM
I have no problem at all with innovation. It seems to me that Cane Creeks problem has never been innovation. Their problem has been an ongoing willingness to use their customers as laboratory experiments on products which are introduced to the market with woefully poor or inadequate field testing done. Chris King reminds me a lot of the Japanese - they let others do the innovation and then they take the ideas and perfect them. From an innovation standpoint I'll admit they don't help much, but from a consumer standpoint they are the best IMO.

By the way, the ZS headset is not by any means a groundbreaking invention. Integrated headsets have been used by Italian framebuilders since the late 1960's. It's only recently that the popularity of internal or integrated headsets has spilled over from the MTB community into the road community, the same as with index shifting a few years back.

My job as a consumer is not to worry about a firms innovation or lack thereof, that's the company's job. My job is to spend my duckets as wisely as possible and reward those who are producing the best and most reliable products and what's nice about the CK headset is that you layout the cash early on and then forget about it, its never a problem again. This can't be said of most of the other manufacturers headsets IMO.
Still couldn't disagree morehammermaster
Jan 27, 2002 6:59 AM
I don't know anyone who has had to stop on a ride and adjust a headset, and I do mostly large group rides. If adjusted right there's no way you should have to tighten anything up after normal use. If it loosens up on you, it's your own stupid fault!!!

Most people here will get a new bike before going through a headset.
Still couldn't disagree moreJohnT
Jan 27, 2002 9:22 AM
Really, that's very interesting then. That must mean all the guys who bought CC zero stack headsets in the past year must all be really stupid and not one of them knows how to properly adjusr their headsets. Because practically every one of them has had to have their bearing cartriges replaced by CC. What's funniest of all is that CC is replacing them FOR FREE. I guess that means CC has decided to leave a budgeted reserve for really stupid guys who ask them for new bearing cartriges for the ZS headset. Gee they are philanthopists indeed.
It's like compairing a Porsche to a Toyota...geof
Jan 26, 2002 8:44 PM
Will they both work? Yes. Is one a bit more elite? Yep. Is there a coolness factor that is worth every penny. ABSOLUTLY. Does one out perform the other... (yes with the Porsche... for the most part, with the King.) I love my Chris King headsets and my 911. I also have a Subaru. The Porsche just rules (Porsche lust since I was a kid). As do the Chris King headsets. Put them in... Forget. Unless you ride in LOTS of rain. Then you might need to service them ever 10,000 or so miles. (give or take)

The King headset is bar-none the top-o-the heap. No matter what some King bashers may say. The OVERWHELMING opinion is they cannot be touched. Simple. Real.
I don't think that's an example you want to make...TJeanloz
Jan 27, 2002 8:22 AM
As I'm the proud owner of both a Porsche 356 (convertable) and a japanese import SUV, I'm willing to say that the Porsche has the raw performance edge, way (way, way, way) more coolness, BUT it spends equal time in the shop and on the road. If a CK headset spent that much time in the shop to be better performing, I'd take the Cane Creek every time. The Porsche is an aging, but awesome car, and it needs a reliable backup model.
But...geof
Jan 27, 2002 7:16 PM
The 356 is the dated model. My 911 (84) only sees the shop for general maint usually. It spends less time in the shop than my Mitsu Montero Sport I can tell you. And I actually drive my Porsche all the time.... So maybe it's personal but you get my drift... :-)

Happy drivin'....and ridin'
This is true,TJeanloz
Jan 28, 2002 9:31 AM
Any car that's getting to be 50 years old is going to have some issues. And of course, every day it's not in the shop is a glorious day for me.
Wow - I must be a freak then....Anchorman
Jan 28, 2002 6:41 AM
5 bikes, not one CK between them. Never had a single problem with a headset ever. Oldest one is 9 years old with LOTS of miles on. Clean once in a (long) while and a bit of lube and there they go. Plenty of better stuff to spend my $$ on....