RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Shimano WH-6500 or Spinergy Xaero(8 posts)

Shimano WH-6500 or Spinergy XaeroBianchiRacer26
Jan 14, 2002 8:29 PM
I love both these wheels, they're about equal in weight, and I can get either of them for about $440. But I can't decide which one. Can anyone make a good case for which one I should buy?? They'll mainly be used for long rides (30-100 mi.) and tours, if that helps.
Neitherpmf1
Jan 15, 2002 5:54 AM
For just a small amount more, you can get a set of Aerolights from Speed Dream (speeddream.com). Strong, fairly aero wheels that weigh 1435/set (clincher w/ skewers included in that figure). Thats at least a half pound lighter than what you're considering. They're made with standard items that a bike shop can get you (i.e., Sapim spokes). I got a pair recently and am quite pleased with them (I've got a lot of other wheel sets to compare them to). Check them out. They're better than either of the wheels you're considering. The Shimano Ultegra wheels are fairly heavy and I've heard the rims are poorly machined. The Xaero ride nicely (I've got a set of Spox, which are similar), but I hear nightmare stories about Spinergy customer service. They're not real light either. Break a spoke in either and you have to special order it, so have a back-up set of wheels.

In fact, a set of Open Pros on DA or Record hubs are better than either of those wheels. For $440, you could get Open Pros with fancy hubs.

American Classic also makes very light affordable wheels in your price range. I've never tried them though.

Just my opinion, but there are a lot of choices out there for that kind of money that are nicer wheels.
NeitherWoof the dog
Jan 15, 2002 12:09 PM
you could get nimble wheels (nimble.com i think) or you could build yourself a pair of something lighter than mavic shmavic. Just use velocity aeroheads, durace hubs and revolution spokes. should weigh around 1550 grams w/ al. nipples, use brass for more durability. Beats 1704 grams for a typical mavic ksyrium don't you think? cost ~350 bucks (add 25 for the build). Speeddreams and nimbles are race wheels - i wouldn't say american classic hubs are for everyday use with their needle bearings.

peace

woof.
Right on!Kerry Irons
Jan 15, 2002 5:13 PM
You can get Velocity Aeroheads with Campy Record hubs from Colorado Cyclist for $309. DA hubs for $290. What exactly do the boutique wheels have over one of these combinations? And what is it you get for the extra $150 or so? NOTHING!
Not necessarily!cyclequip
Jan 18, 2002 4:24 AM
I have a number of wheelsets that I use - at my age its about the pleasures as much as the achievement - and I have no heitation in saying that the Ksyrium wheels feel much faster at speed than my OP's on D/A hubs and section Wolbers and DRC's on Ultegra/D/A hubs laced 3x Sapim Race, brass nipples. And MUCH livelier out the saddle than the Velocity's. And that perception means everything when the hammer is down.
More info pleaseMcAndrus
Jan 18, 2002 5:23 AM
You say that the Ksyrium's are livilier than the Velocity wheels. I assume you're speaking of the Aeroheads.

I'm considering getting a set of Colorado Cyclist built wheels with Record hubs and Aerohead rims and I'm wondering about your comment about liveliness.

I would think most of the climbing and sprinting responsiveness is a factor of the rim weight. After all, the rim is the furthest from the center of rotation. The next factor would be the hub's weight and rolling (turning?) resistance. Then the spoke weight and air resistance would come into effect. I know this one issue has been discussed to death but if any physicists wish to expand on that point, please do.

I don't know the weight of Ksyrium rims but the Aeroheads seem pretty light. Colorado Cyclist lists them at 420 grams while Branford Bike lists them at 405 grams. (I guess I'm going to have to get a proper scale to see who's tellng the truth.)

Other than weight, the only factor I would think that would affect liveliness (or responsive to a surge in force) would be the rim's stiffness. That is, how much does the rim flex under stress. Can't this be a factor of both the rim and the spokes and spoke patterns?

Do you have an opinion on why the Ksyrium would feel better than the Aeroheads?
Sorry for the errorsMcAndrus
Jan 18, 2002 5:25 AM
I was reviewing this post and hit OK instead of EDIT. There are misspelled words. As a former newspaper editor I am humbled by my own ability to hit the wrong @#(*$&# key.
KsyriumsEric
Jan 15, 2002 9:00 AM
I will not go into the boutique vs. conventional wheel debate, but you could also get a pair of 2001 Mavic Ksyriums from www.totalcycling.com for $440 right now.