RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


seat bags, know of any good ones(26 posts)

seat bags, know of any good onesdealy663
Jan 13, 2002 7:24 PM
Hi,

I just got my new road bike and bought a seat bag for it. The bag looked pretty narrow, but I guess it wasn't narrow enough, because it totally trashed the inner thigh part of my shorts in 38 miles! I have a big hole in the right leg a and a smaller one on the left.

Can anyone recommend a good bag that fits cleanly under the seat without rubbing your legs. My seat is a Selle Italia Flite.

Derek
re: seat bags, know of any good onesWoof the dog
Jan 13, 2002 9:00 PM
You probably had a bag that was huge, man! I never heard of this problem. I've got a trek seatbag (they got in a bunch of different sizes, mine is the medium, i think). I don't use it anymore because you have to take the seatpost out to put it through the little stretchy ring, so I don't recommend it. Bring your bike to the store and try a bunch of different things.

Wiggling on my back

woof the dog.
I like the Pedros bagpmf1
Jan 14, 2002 6:15 AM
I use the same saddle that you do. No rubbing problem. Its big enough to hold 2 turbes, but not huge like some bags. Its yellow too. Big plus if your bike is yellow. Two of mine are.
re: seat bags, know of any good onesB2
Jan 14, 2002 7:10 AM
Just bought a Blackburn Mini-Wedge for $10. It's pretty small so you'll have to pack a pretty minimalist tool kit. It attaches to the seat with a special fastex buckle assembly and velcros around the seatpost like normal.

Haven't even installed it yet so I don't know if I'll like it or not. I figured for $10 I couldn't go too wrong.

Bryan
I have a Carradice the size of a suitcase...Retro
Jan 14, 2002 9:26 AM
...and it doesn't rub anywhere. In fact, I'm thinking of the five or six bags I own, from one-tube-and-two-levers toolbags to the Carradice Low Saddle Longflap that can carry a weekend's clothing, and none of them rub. Are you putting them BEHIND the seatpost...?
I have the same problemdzrider
Jan 14, 2002 9:28 AM
I find that the issue is more the seat than the bag. I get none of it with the old San Marco Concor saddles that I prefer, but with the Concor Light every bag gets the shorts. The best of them is a Blackburn, kind of banana shaped and large enough to hold a tubular, some cash and a multi-tool. Now that I have orginal Concors on all the bikes, I prefer a Mountain Smith bag for tubes, lever, etc and the Blackburn for 2b's.
Janddgrzy
Jan 14, 2002 9:53 AM
They rule for both road and MTB. You can't kill 'em (well you can if store sharp objects for a long time) and they won't kill your shorts. Everything else is a bunch of low-end crap made offshore by slave labor and designed with the only the bottom line in mind.
Janddpmf1
Jan 14, 2002 12:36 PM
Where can one buy these, oh Great One?
Janddgtx
Jan 14, 2002 12:57 PM
http://jandd.cust.blazingdot.com/dloc/dloc.php

they are the nicest bags out there IMO
Janddgrzy
Jan 14, 2002 2:17 PM
Sorry, all the shops around here (Bay Area) carry them , but they're out of Santa Barbara
endless questjigs
Jan 14, 2002 12:50 PM
there will always be smaller, better, larger, cooler looking, easier to access, etc.
Quest is Over!grzy
Jan 14, 2002 5:14 PM
You can't find a better built bag than Jandd - no matter what your size requirements are. Their ballistic type of nylon is much better than the gym-shorts material that the others use.
that's what you saynm
Jan 15, 2002 5:45 AM
and you speak for everyone, right?
But of course!grzy
Jan 15, 2002 6:16 PM
Once you get beyond being a slave to fashion you'll realize that all you want is something that works well and lasts a long time. It's just a saddle bag for your stuff - not a designer hand bag. Actually there are some people who want trendy overpriced crap that wears out quickly so they can buy the next trendy thing, but I don't speak for them. It is funny how a certain segment of roadies will buy anything as long as it's expensive enough and hard to get.

BTW - a bud at the LBS was the one that told me they were the bomber product 5 years ago - damned if he isn't right. They even have a warranty.
grzy is always right!pmf1
Jan 16, 2002 5:01 AM
Be it which pack, carbon fork or titanium frame, he always has the best thing and never is afraid to tell you.

Has he ever owned a different ti frame, or carbon fork to compare what he's got to? No, but it doesn't matter because he's the smartest, best engineer and former air force pilot on this board. We should never doubt him.
pmf = pull my fingergrzy
Jan 16, 2002 5:50 PM
What a great handle for you - warm moist stinky air from rotting matter that most, except the originator, find objectionable.
can't take the heatfunny!
Jan 16, 2002 6:44 PM
so get outta the kitchen!
HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHApmf1
Jan 17, 2002 5:33 AM
Besides being a genius, you are so whitty and charming. Its no wonder everyone loves you here.
Heygrzy
Jan 17, 2002 9:29 AM
At the end of the day it's pretty much a virtual pissing contest with some useful bits thrown in. What's the big deal? It's not like anyone is really going to change much or that we're going to agree on everything or even how we phrase things. Hopefully everyone can live out their fantasy, have some *fun* and not get hurt. I *think* I'm going to be OK, but that's just my opinion. You may disagree. ;-b

BTW - I'm not looking for love here - are you soliciting?
Hey yourselfpmf1
Jan 17, 2002 11:07 AM
Ah ... I just get sick of how everything you own is the end all. All other bike bags are made of "gym shorts" accept the one you use. Reynolds Ouza Pro forks are the best forks in the world. Serrotta ti bikes are the best frame in the world. I'm sure your wife is prettier than mine too.

I guess its not so much that you have an opinion ... we all have them and this board is a place where people solicit them ... its just the way you always announce that everything you use is the greatest, and everything else is just a pile of cr@p made of used gym shorts.

I think you're a smart guy with a wealth of knowledge about bikes. I also think that you've truly helped some folks out on the board. I'd also bet you've driven some away. Its just the way you go about dispensing your advice, without a shred of humility, or possibility that you may be wrong. And the way you attack people who are wrong (or at least you think they are) that gets tiring. I'm sure you'll have a clever comment for all this (I'm not going to bother reading it). But before you make it, maybe you oughta consider that people would like you a whole lot more if you toned it down a bit. Are you like this to folks you know face to face?

And no, I'm not looking for love from you. I doubt anyone here is.
I think it's more of a persona thinggtx
Jan 17, 2002 1:12 PM
grzy is just trying to stay in character. If we all met up for a ride (god forbid) I bet there would be some big surprises.
yupbi11
Jan 17, 2002 1:20 PM
he is a little man
To reply or not to reply.grzy
Jan 17, 2002 4:52 PM
That was the question.

You don't like the way I phrase things - BFD - it's not a popularity contest nor am I running for office. Seems like
I struck a nerve with you - I guess my enthusiasm, convictions and strong opinions are just too much for your delicate sensibilities. Try to remember this next time you chew on someone or drift from PC -speak. You're not exactly a wall flower yourself. Somehow you find this harder to take than the people calling each other offensive names and other grave sins. I giggle at the thought that you found the "gym shorts" line worth mentioning twice. My old Blackburn bag really is like this. Think of it this way - at least I got you to think and respond. I'm doing the same. Sorry I got your goat. I was going to try and be more like you, but you don't have a sense of humor.

Your goal now is to walk the talk, least you be seen as a hypocrite. At least I'm free to keep acting like a hellion and laughing (at myself)....on the low road. You don't really think that I take all this stuff that seriously all the time do you?

I knew you'd read this anyway.
he did say IMOtarwheel
Jan 16, 2002 9:22 AM
grzy is usually right, just rude. I've got two Jandd packs and they're great. The big one zips open to an even larger size and can hold a ton of stuff for longer, extended rides. I've got a small/med size one that I use most of the time and it holds a tube, tools, CO2 inflator w/ 2 extra cartridges and more. You can buy them online at performancebike.com.

Topeak makes some nice bags that snap off and on, but they won't fit Selle Italia saddles -- at least not my TransAm Max. For some dumb reason the plate that holds the quick release for Topeak bags won't fit the rails. I e-mailed Topeak about this and they don't make a different adapter, so I returned the bag and got a Jandd.
NO, NOT ALWAYS check this outWoof the dog
Jan 16, 2002 8:40 PM
Grzy is not always right, just more often than not.

Go here to see my point:

Woof the dog "The art of handlebar taping" 1/16/02 8:35pm

Buahhahahahahahha

Woof, the evil dog.
Pedros or AvenirKEN2
Jan 14, 2002 7:16 PM
Both Pedros and Avenir make excellent bags. Pedros is more a mtn. bike type (recycled inner tubes). The Avenir seem harder to get but I like them better than the ubiquitous Jandd bags that everyone else raves about. Avenir's fit tighter under the seat and are more streamlined looking while still having enough room for a tube a a few tools. I bought the middle sized one.