RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Speedplay Pedals for Beginner X3 or X0(8 posts)

Speedplay Pedals for Beginner X3 or X0tc_onechosen1
Jan 6, 2002 12:09 AM
Does anyone have an opinion on these new XO pedals? I have had several surgeries on my left knee and am new to road biking. I have read/heard that Speedplays may be the way to go. I am getting a 2001 TREK 5200. Any opinion on X3 verus X-zero's(less play)?

Thanks, Tim
re: Speedplay Pedals for Beginner X3 or X0Brad
Jan 6, 2002 2:01 PM
Speedplays are good, but you might consider ime. They not only have rotation, but they also slide a little from left to right. This would further take the pressure off your knees.

Brad
TimeBrad
Jan 6, 2002 2:02 PM
Time ... not ime ... sorry
re: Speedplay Pedals for Beginner X3 or X0Chen2
Jan 6, 2002 6:03 PM
I've had 5 knee surgeries and my recommendation is Speedplay X-1's or X-2's. From what I've heard the X-3's are fine but won't as last long. It may take you a ride or two to adjust to the float. I see no benefit to buying the xeros.
-Al
re: Speedplay Pedals for Beginner X3 or X0VetteRacer
Jan 7, 2002 12:21 AM
Last week I called Speedplay to check on something for my Frogs. I asked them about the road pedals and the guy said if you are serious about riding then go X2 or X1 if the pocket and stomach can handle it (weight limit, and pricy). I did mention to him about my knee problem, for Mtn my SPD's made me knee swell and stiffen, after switching to frogs my knee is all better on rides. With that said, he said to stay away from the new Zeros because I probably wont enjoy them and has the potential to bother my knee. And he said the X3 would be fine for occasional riding or cheaper test to see if you like them, they dont last as long I guess.

I just purchased some X2s and cant wait to try them out (in the mail, and lacking frame still ;)
Matt
re: Speedplay Pedals for Beginner X3 or X0morey
Jan 7, 2002 7:18 AM
My knees were a problem until I purchase my Speedplay X2's.
I have not had a problem since. See no need for the Zero.
X2s are an excellent choice.Twilight
Jan 10, 2002 12:10 PM
I bought a set of X3s to see how they'd feel. They are, in my opninon, the best cheap pedal you can get if you've got bad knees. Try a pair and see if they work for you too. If they do, ride 'em till they die and then upgrade to the X2s. Personally, I stay away from parts with a weight limit within 30lbs of my usual weight.

I've got 2000 miles on my X3 pedals - grease 'em every 200 miles or so and they'll last long enough to save for a few sets of X1s.
Thanks to everyone for the responses!onechosen1
Jan 10, 2002 11:08 PM