RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Ergo vs STI(15 posts)

Ergo vs STIjkh
Dec 12, 2001 4:24 PM
I am putting together a new bike and can't decide on Campy or Shimano group. I currently have a Schwinn with Ultegra group and feel very comfortable with the STI shifter/brake levers. I have no experience with the Ergo shifter and have a concern about shifting. My major concern is that I have small hands and not sure how I can reach to the shifters when my hands are in the drops. Do I need to twist my wrist to reach it? Or Ergo shifter is just not for people with small hands. Any comments are appreciated. Thanks.
Shimano vs. Campy: here we go again.... (nm)KEN2
Dec 12, 2001 5:41 PM
Here is a sure fire, scientific way to decide.Kurt VF
Dec 12, 2001 6:09 PM
I'm going to end this thing once and for all. I've spent a lot of time thinking about it and it will settle all debates. If you prefer lasagna, go with campy. If you like sushi, go with shimano. End of discussion.
The best explanation I've heard!! (nm)Dave Hickey
Dec 13, 2001 5:40 AM
But what if you really like French food? (NM)rckymtnmd
Dec 13, 2001 8:30 AM
Mavicbn
Dec 13, 2001 9:13 AM
and you gotta be a total prick on rides
how about Simplex derailleurs?KurtVF
Dec 13, 2001 12:59 PM
Wern't they French? The frenchys might act like pricks, but next time they're country is occupied I'd be glad to go over and bail them out again.
best set upmno
Dec 12, 2001 7:00 PM
campy wheels, ergo shifters, and cranks; shimano cassette, derailleurs, and bottom bracket
My fault ... did not mean to start a flame ...jkh
Dec 12, 2001 9:26 PM
I'm pretty new here in the forumn and did not mean to start another debate over which one is better than the other one.

As I said, I had no previous experience with Campy and was concerned about reaching to the down-shift shifter. So, I went out to a LBS this evening and tried them out. I felt quite comfortable with the Campy.

Thanks for all the replies for this post.
what flame war?KurtVF
Dec 13, 2001 7:59 AM
This is a pretty standard debate topic that most open minded people find very interesting. A friend of mine has extensive experience with both and says they are equal. One is better in some aspects, the other is better in others. It is up to you to decide which one has more aspects that suit your liking.
Okay, here's the dealMcAndrus
Dec 13, 2001 2:00 PM
After riding several bikes with Campy and Shimano - mine and friends' - here's my opinion.

The functional differences are: Shimano feels smoother and shifts more acurately on the front derailleur and Campy feels more mechanical and shifts better (quicker) on the rear derailleur.

But .... they are both fine systems and when you consider the engineering and manufacturing involved they are works of art.
Six of one, half-dozen of the other ...tarwheel
Dec 13, 2001 9:22 AM
I've got Ultegra on my older bike and Chorus on my newer one. Both systems are very good and you won't go wrong with either. I got Chorus on my new bike because I wanted 10 speeds and Campy has a reputation (deserved or not) for more long-range durability. When I first test-road a bike with index shifting, I preferred the feel of Shimano because it shifts easier and smoother. Campy Ergo takes more finger pressure to shift, but it breaks in with time and gets much smoother. I wouldn't worry about not being able to reach the Campy shifters -- that's something you get used to with riding. You can also get handlebars with less drop and reach (which is what I did), so it really doesn't matter. However, I ride most of the time on the hoods rather than the drops. If you ride mostly on the drops, the Shimano might be a little easier for you. The bottom line is that I have a slight preference for my Chorus over Ultegra, but it's not that big a deal. If you are used to Ultegra, you might consider getting Dura-Ace, which is a little lighter than Chorus.
Paper or Plastic?grzy
Dec 13, 2001 5:30 PM
If you don't have a strong opinion then flip a coin - and then leave it if it comes up Campy.
am i missing something?koala
Dec 13, 2001 6:35 PM
If you like shimano then stay with it. I am so used to campy that when I ride shimano bikes I am constantly braking while I try to shift. Both work beautifully. Campy gives a little more tactile feedback and the shimano is butter smooth.
re: Ergo vs STImclements
Dec 14, 2001 2:59 PM
Over the past 20 years I've used everything from steel crap to Campy Super Record and Dura Ace. In my opinion, everything above a certain minimum level works perfectly when tuned properly, so it's better to spend your time worrying about something that really matters like the wheelset.

However, if you want to split hairs and look at differences in componentry, just keep in mind that they are all good and the differences people talk about really do exist but they are blown way out of proportion to reality.

Campy SR and Dura Ace are both nice, but sacrifice ultimate durability for low weight. Ultegra is my favorite because it works just as well as Dura Ace (in my opinion) and is more durable even though it weighs a few ounces more.

If you want to know what is most durable, look at what tandems use. Ultegra driveline and shifters. It is rare to see any kind of Campy or to see Dura Ace on a tandem.

In my opinion, campy bearings (hubs, BB) are the absolute best, better than Shimano -- or they used to be back in the mid 80s when I had my last Campy Super Record bike. But Shimano's driveline (say, Ultegra) is more solid and reliable than Campy.

So to answer your question, I would go with Ultegra. It is in my experience the ultimate combination of good design, good build quality, and light weight consistent with durability.

Now, when you bring overall "bang for the buck" into the picture, to get the fastest possible bike for a fixed sum of money, I would not get Ultegra. Instead, I would get cheaper components and use the money I saved to get better wheels. The minor difference componentry makes, pales in comparison to the huge difference wheels make.

Again, not flaming anything or anybody, just relating my experience.