RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


why the dropouts are so thin(18 posts)

why the dropouts are so thinWoof the dog
Dec 10, 2001 3:15 PM
on so many aluminum cans? It doesn't make sense because that is where many of them crack. It would be worth it to add extra 50 grams of material (weight of ~2 derailler hangers) to beef 'em up, but instead they are getting smaller/thinner every day. Have you seen an early cannonsnail dropout(s)? Those are what I call real dropouts. hmmm

Woof the daug.
yeah sureperf
Dec 10, 2001 5:46 PM
and make 'em horizontal too
OK, then, GO FETCH!!!!!! nmRusty McNasty
Dec 11, 2001 5:46 AM
OK, then, GO FETCH!!!!!! nmWoof the dog
Dec 11, 2001 5:48 AM
you guys are such a f***ing assholes
Hypocrite. (nm)grzy
Dec 11, 2001 9:57 AM
re: why the dropouts are so thinNessism
Dec 11, 2001 7:33 AM
The reason dropouts are so thin these days is because they make the frame lighter. Light weight sells! Kind of silly I agree. Just another example of irresponsable design in the bike industry if you ask me.
it because freds buy lighterfred!
Dec 11, 2001 7:50 AM
they think it will make them faster. Not idustry's fault, but consumers that demand
Suregrzy
Dec 11, 2001 9:55 AM
Yeah, the line is mile long at my local C'dale shop with people returning their bikes for snapped dropouts. Riiiight. I keep buying new C'dale frames b/c I didn't know I could get free ones.....

If there really was a problem don't you think we and the Consumer Protection Agency would know about it?

On what basis do you make your statement - sitting around late at night with a highball glass full of scotch doesn't count.
I don't get itWoof the dog
Dec 12, 2001 10:12 AM
I snapped one frame with a crack going right through the drive side dropout where the two tubes (ss and cs) join together all the way down to to the surface where the axil touches. All aluminum bikes that I closely looked at have paint cracks right by the seatstay on the weld because thats where the metal is so thin and thats where the stress point is. Why not beef it up? Just a comment, why be so negative?

Whats up with all these "yeah right, yeah sure, go fetch, what kind of statement is that, hypocrit"? Why are you being so negative and so offensive? You have me seriously wondering what is it that I said. If I were you, I'd apologize right now.

Woof.
Ponder Thisgrzy
Dec 12, 2001 12:16 PM
You come off sounding like chiken-little saying that it is a fact that the sky is falling. Like if the C'dale engineers had only checked with you they'd see the obvious errors of their ways. So you had one failure on one bike - BFD. What about all the rest (and there are thousands of them) that haven't failed? Ultimately you're dealing with a fairly cheapo frame made from a material that is known for it's poor faitugue properties. You bought it b/c it was cheap. If you don't like it then why don't you pony up and buy a better frame? Ever notice that they use essentially the same frame on virtually everything from low to high end models? Obviously you've done the FEA (finite element analysis) and fully understand all of the stress points and issues involved and can advise their engineers on the error of their ways? Cracked paint doesn't equal cracked aluminum.

You started with the negative comments - I didn't know there was a moritorium in effect after you posted. BTW - I'm not the only one that posted a skeprical reply. Go fetch wasn't me. You can't tell me that you don't see the hypocracy in what you wrote - if not I'm not about to explain it to you - it would be a waste of effort.

Hey, I'm sorry for what YOU said and the fact that you're confused.
Ponder ThisWoof the dog
Dec 12, 2001 1:57 PM
whatever. you still could be nicer.
by the wayWoof the dog
Dec 12, 2001 2:09 PM
here is what a really good mechanic who I trust said about aluminum frames: if you don't crack one in a season or two, you don't ride it hard/long enough. I think its true, do you?

Peace

Woof.
P.S. I think you need to get laid.
quit whiningpunk
Dec 12, 2001 5:39 PM
you sissy boy. go hump a leg
Whiney Puppy (nm)grzy
Dec 13, 2001 9:26 AM
lolWoof the dog
Dec 13, 2001 12:54 PM
i love you too.
I don't get itvitusdude
Dec 14, 2001 11:31 AM
Well Woof, I don't know if you are right or if you are wrong. But you are entitled to your opinion. I think some of these guys are rude because you struck a nerve: now they are wondering if their frames will break ruining their investment and maybe their skin.
Uh huhgrzy
Dec 14, 2001 12:43 PM
It keeps me up at night. I'm worried silly.

What ruins my investment and skin is when I screw up and hit something. The C'dale frames never seem to mind a whole lot. In fact I sometimes hear them snickering at me.

In any event the failure mode won't be a catastruphic fire ball into a semi - unless you never pay attention.

He's got a right to his opinion, just like the flat earth people, but their dropouts have been around for a long time.
SureJack S
Dec 12, 2001 1:09 PM
Isn't there a guy here that owns 13 cannondales? no joke