RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


cost of various upgrades(18 posts)

cost of various upgradesshiner1132
Dec 9, 2001 10:33 PM
This past summer, I purchased a specialized allez sport. Its been great, but it came with 105 components, a specialized crankset, and mavic cxp21 wheelset.

I've gotten really into riding, and am putting in between 120 and 160 miles a week, and want to put some cash into some upgrades. There are alot of bike shops around here, and I was wondering if someone could give me some good advice as to how much some of these upgrades should cost:

1. Changing the 105 components and crankset for a full ultegra grupo. what about campagnolo chorus?

2. Changing the mavic wheelset? I'm not sure what to change though. I was thinking about some of the shimano wheelsets, or maybe some of the bontrager wheelsets that are coming on the new trek 2300's, but I could use some advice.

3. Any other tips?

--thanks.
Lots of options...TJeanloz
Dec 10, 2001 8:19 AM
You have a lot of different options here. I would not recommend swapping the 105 group for Ultegra- the performance gain would be tiny, and the cost would not be.

Swapping over to Chorus would be considerably more expensive, because it would necessitate rebuilding the wheels with Campagnolo hubs (or using an expensive adapter cassette). This option will probably cost as much as the bike did.

Changing wheelsets would be a decent compromise. But don't get caught up in marketing and good looks- unless you're trying to make your bike look cooler...At this stage, I'd get a good aftermarket wheelset that has a replaceable freehub, so that if you want to change to Campy in the future, it's just a matter of swapping freehubs.

My top recommendation though, is to do nothing. The old adage is that the cheapest way to buy components is when they're already on a frame. I'd ride your current bike for another season, save more cash, and buy a top-notch bike in Spring 2003.
Lots of options...cyclomoteur
Dec 10, 2001 5:27 PM
"I'd ride your current bike for another season, save more cash, and buy a top-notch bike in Spring 2003"

Usually we upgrade on a good frame (not a 4+ lbs spec. frame and fork), someday go try different angles on another frame, yo might realized that you ain't gotten the best goemetry (you think it's good, but meaby it isn't)

Upgrading grouppo is too pricy and won't give you much.

"But don't get caught up in marketing and good looks- unless you're trying to make your bike look cooler"

WRONG, it has been proven that Zipps, Rolfs, Heds etc. DO perform MUCH better then a standard 64 wheelset (like CXP-21), but it doesn't make sense flapping your wheelset for zipp 303 on a spec. gearing on a heavy 105 grouppo and a heavy stem and bars.

Serious biking ¿ 105 grouppo is enough for 150 normal miles/week. If you are doing killing hills or if you are passing much of the time praticing sprints, you might wanna swap derailleurs and shifters.
Upgrading to a new bike in 2003 is a wise choice (your Specialized is now a "mullet") -Getting serious means doing a lot of training in this winter to lose the extra fat (losing 2lbs on your bike will cost you 2000$, losing 2lbs on your midsection will cost 2 hours on the trainer...)

It can only help you to appreciate more your 2003 bike !

1- Get in shape
2- Kill yourself on your 20lbs+ bike
3- Buy a 17lbs bike with aero wheels in 2003 and feel the power.
4-Find a money-tree to pay the bank !

Good riding !
-Guillaume
Well, maybeKerry Irons
Dec 10, 2001 5:44 PM
Agree that you're going to be hard pressed to get the "value" out of a lot of component upgrades - the bike is pretty well balanced right now. Better tires, certainly. Maybe a set of wheels that you could put on a top of the line bike - then keep the wheels when you sell this bike.

However, don't pay much attention to the "losing 2lbs on your bike will cost you 2000$, losing 2lbs on your midsection will cost 2 hours on the trainer" comment. It won't cost $2K to lose 2 lbs. and you could NEVER lose 2lbs of fat in 2 hours. 200 miles of riding, if you ate nothing, will burn up 2 lbs of fat. Unless you can do an honest 975 watts output for 2 hours straight, you should ignore Guillaume's typical hyperbole.
I think I speak for everybody...Tjeanloz
Dec 11, 2001 8:31 AM
When I say that you probably ought to get a little bit more experience on your bike before you go spouting off about it.

What are you? 17? 18? You sound like me when I was 17.

Seriously though. The savings of even the best, most aerodynamic, equipment are not (in my opinion) significant over the 'standard' CXP21- which, I'll remind you, is semi-aero. If I were Greg Lemond in the '89 Tour, it would be worth every penny I had for another second (or rather, 44 seconds). I would venture to say that a 105 equipped Specialized is 95% the bike that a Record equipped C-40 is. I know a guy who turned PRO riding a Jamis Eclipse that had a 105/RSX mix and a duck-taped together headset. Equipment is fun to drool over, but in the world of how fast it makes you, it means almost nothing. People don't believe this- I can't tell you how many customers came back after buying a fancy set of wheels and say that they now average 26mph instead of 18mph, and it's because of the wheels. Aerodynamics don't work like that.

In short, don't let anybody make you believe that equipment is the road to better performance. You can be fast without it. My dream was to ride a Huffy in the local criterium series- just to embarass people on C-40's, but apparently Huffy doesn't make a road bike any more. Except in extrodinary circumstances (40k time trial, Mt. Washington hill climb) equipment will not be the mitigating factor in victory.
You consistently speak good sense, Tjean. nmscottfree
Dec 11, 2001 9:36 AM
Furthermore,Tjeanloz
Dec 11, 2001 9:48 AM
The contrary to some earlier statements, the Allez Sport is a fine aluminum frame. It will serve you well for many years, and is capable of everything from racing to touring. It seems that the children here don't remember when 4 pounds was super light for a frame and fork. Is it the best frame in the world? No. Is it something to be ashamed of? Absolutely not. In my years of club riding, I find it often true that speed of rider is inversly proportional to cost of bike.
Yes, sir!dzrider
Dec 11, 2001 12:04 PM
On the tennis courts we noted that talent varied inversely with attention to equipment. We also noticed that players took credit for their good shots and stared at their racquets after bad ones. Funny, but guys who could run the court and hit the ball didn't worry nearly as much about their equipment. Human nature is much the same in cycling. People who aren't as fast as they want to be would rather believe it's equipment than believe it's genetics or training or their weight.
re: cost of various upgradesFSRslug
Dec 10, 2001 8:19 AM
From coloradocylist.com

Ultegra Group: $650
Chorus Group: $930

Both come with 10 items(no rims, seatpost, bar, stem, or pedals)
Figure about another $100 for labor and misc. parts at the shop, unless you do the work yourself.

In my opinion most people should use the traditional 3x wheel with no less than 28 spokes.
Three words...KEN2
Dec 10, 2001 9:50 AM
Don't do it. The performance gains will be impossible to notice especially for the $$$ outlay. You'd be better off riding this fine bike and saving up to get an upgrade bike with the components you want already on it.
Totally Agree!grzy
Dec 10, 2001 11:15 AM
It's not very cost effective to go the individual component upgrade route if you're paying full-pop retail for pats.. You can do it on a case by cases basis as things need to be replaced. Upgrading the wheels can make a huge difference and is often worth while. Ultimately it all depends upon how much you love your current bike, how well it fits, and if you have money burning a hole in your pocket. After replacing the bike, the next cheapest way to upgrade is to buy an enitre grupo off the net. Bear in mind that you can end up with Ferrari level parts on a VW frame and it'll still ride like a VW.
re: What's your hurry?dzrider
Dec 10, 2001 11:13 AM
If you find a really great deal on a wheelset, go for it. They'll be something you can use for every day when you get a new bike with race-worthy wheels. Otherwise, put a few dollars away every week until you can upgrade your whole bike. Upgrading piece by piece is not a good plan.
Seems to be nearly unanimouscory
Dec 10, 2001 3:55 PM
To me, at least, it just doesn't make sense to upgrade a bike that already works well just for the sake of upgrading. As a couple of other people have said, a wheelset may be worthwhile. 105 to Ultegra, though, isn't likely to be worth the considerable cost.
re: cost of various upgradesChen2
Dec 10, 2001 3:55 PM
I agree with the others, but one possibility would be to build your own wheels if you are somewhat mechanically inclined and if think you would enjoy learning to do that.
-Al
re: upgradesdavidl
Dec 10, 2001 4:25 PM
I'll throw in my .02 by saying that I agree that a wholesale group upgrade is not worth it. I have done the same thing myself only to realize that the groups' performance is so close that there is really no function gain for the money spent.

The best upgrade money I ever spent was on wheels, tires and pedals. I have had really good luck with plain ole Mavic Open Pro rims, doublebutted spokes and the very best hubs I could afford. One set was built up by Excel Sports [chorus hubs] and another by Branford Bike [daytona hubs].

You could do the same thing with DA hubs. Have the wheels built, put on some high-end tires, Contis or Vittoria, or whatever suits you best.... and you will not believe the improvement in the way the bike rides and handles. The open pro rims are plenty light enough [for me] and are durable. I went through three sets of pedals before I found the 'right ones'.

Another probable upgrade would be the bottombracket - say a real lightweight phil wood, or the like.

Stick to upgrading the parts that rotate.

105 is a good group, I would leave it alone. I'll bet that just like my daytona shifts as good as my bike outfitted with chorus, you'd find the same thing with 105 and upgrades.

Just my take on it having thrown money away like that myself.
do it! do it!doop
Dec 10, 2001 6:23 PM
and buy from LBS- the bike industry needs your $$$
Don't change a thing.Betard Fooser
Dec 10, 2001 6:38 PM
When you are ready to buy a more expensive bike, put fenders on it, and use it for a spare bike.

Nice, complete bikes with Ultegra and Mavic Open Pro's are avail. for $1295 at gvhbikes.com. I doubt if saving a little money to upgrade your current machine would make sense.

Do some research (bike.com) before buying a fancy set of wheels. The benefits are not what some people would claim.
get this...spdplayr
Dec 13, 2001 11:36 AM
i knew a guy that used a mountain bike with slicks and duct tape all over to beat the class A roadies in a local club crit. he ended up being sponsered by Trek--their mtn team.

as for upgrading--if it feels good do it.