RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Cyclecomputer with rear pickup & cadence ????(9 posts)

Cyclecomputer with rear pickup & cadence ????JoeBuckeye
Dec 8, 2001 5:44 AM
I want to buy a new cyclecomputer and have it setup to my rear wheel for my trainer this winter. I also want the cadence feature. I've looked at the reviews and have come up with a few options. The Cateye Astrale, Sigme-Sport BC-1400, Echowell F2 and the Avocet 45tt. Any suggestions on which to buy. It seems that all of them have their quirks. I'll be putting this on a 2001 Trek 5200.
Please help.
Joe in Ohio
re: Cyclecomputer with rear pickup & cadence ????Ellen
Dec 8, 2001 7:16 AM
Funny, I just went through the exact same search myself, looked at the same models as you, and wound up buying the Echowell F2 from Nashbar. I've had bad experiences with 2 other cateye models, and echowell got great reviews on this site. I liked the way the screen was arranged, plus like the max and average cadence features. I' m waiting on delivery and can send you a review once I get it hooked up.
re: Cyclecomputer with rear pickup & cadence ????Len J
Dec 8, 2001 7:29 AM
Have had Cateye Astrale on several different bikes over senveral years with zero problems. Only thing I don't like about rear pickups is the wires, they look bad.

Len
Astralenee Spoke Wrench
Dec 8, 2001 7:23 PM
I've had good luck with Astrales. Actually, I'm pretty high on all of the Cateye's except for the wheel magnets.

I think the connectors for the cadence unit on the Sigma Sport are unbelieveably cheesy. They don't look to me like they'd stay connected very well. Besides, as I remember, the speed pick up on the Sigma Sport is still on the front wheel.

Don't have any experience with Echowell or Avocet.
re: Cyclecomputer with rear pickup & cadence ????scottfree
Dec 10, 2001 8:00 AM
Don't get me started on Performance and their rotten customer service, but I do have to say their Axiom 8.0C has worked like a charm for me for two years now (with one cheap & easy battery replacement) and right now it's on sale for $24.48 -- a bargain for a computer with cadence.
I think the Astrale is a mess.Sintesi
Dec 13, 2001 9:58 PM
You end up with a lot of extra wire that you have to fold up and tape to your frame. The tape they give are thin bands of scotch tape, it soon collects dirt and ceases to be "transparent" in about a month. the whole apparatus w/ the zip ties and tape and extra wire looks like it was cobbled together w/out a lot of thought. The rear stay mount for the magnetic sensor wasn't too stable on my thin steel frame (wouldn't tighten enough) and was constantly getting knocked out of adjustment. I got caught in a couple of pretty good rainstorms and the sensor choked on me after 8 months.

I liked the cadence feature but honestly you figure out the difference between 90-100rpm v. 70-80rpm pretty quick and doesn't really help all that much afterwards.

I took the whole thing off and I'm having more fun riding my bike not knowing anything.

One more thing. FWIW I've had two Cat-Eye computers. One (the Enduro) was bomb-proof. The other (Astrale) lasted one season.
Performance 8.0CMcAndrus
Dec 10, 2001 2:03 PM
I'm a fan of the Performance 8.0C computer which has cadence. It's easy to setup and use on the road.

I bought an Avocet 45tt but returned it. My daughter and I tried for an hour to program the dang thing (and I a computer programmer by trade). It also has a very odd rear-wheel pickup.

The only problem I've had with the 8.0C is that the wiring harnesses seems a little fragile but that just might be the installer's problem ;-).
Cateye AstraleChen2
Dec 11, 2001 7:16 AM
A significant and simple improvement to the installation can be made by gluing a small round (disk shaped) magnet to the inside end of the left pedal spindle. Install the cadence sensor to the chain stay, aligning the sensor window -Al
re: Cyclecomputer with rear pickup & cadence ????Andante
Dec 12, 2001 2:41 PM
I have the avocet 45tt. It is put on the bike woth flimsy plastic clips and zip ties that fall apart every month. The computer is execellent in form and function, though. I love it, especially the gear inches function.