RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Anybody have Cinelli Alter stem picture.....(28 posts)

Anybody have Cinelli Alter stem picture.....sbw
Dec 5, 2001 12:03 AM
I've browse through but failed to find any....

Your help is much appreciated..

Regards
sbw
re: Anybody have Cinelli Alter stem picture.....paul3d
Dec 5, 2001 3:21 AM
Take a look at the www.cinelli.it site. They have a nice big picture.
POS Stem, dont buystr8dum1
Dec 5, 2001 7:19 AM
i've had 2 of them and stripped out the bolts on both. the stem clamp isnt drilled deep enough. if you dont crank it down, it slips and your headset loosens. you will eventually strip out the threads
POS Stem, do buyschills
Dec 5, 2001 8:23 AM
I have two of them and love them. Rock solid and never had any problems. Not the lightest, but perhaps the stiffest.
Great Stem! do buyLittle Pooter
Dec 5, 2001 8:52 AM
I have one 100mm, and have had no problems... rock solid. As noted, its not the lightest, some say its heavy, but when it comes to bars, stems and forks, I want something that will give me confidence. A bargain at Supergo for $49
I wonder why...grzy
Dec 5, 2001 10:01 AM
Hey, my offer still stands - I'll make you a stem out of galvi pipe that will make that Italian mutant cheese grater look like a noodle.
Here we go again...Little Pooter
Dec 5, 2001 10:52 AM
Ladies and gentlemen... Grzy would like to announce that there is only one stem on the market thats worth using. The Ritchey WCS.

He thinks there is no place in the market for heavier, stiffer stems that offer better price to stiffness ratios. (everyone bow now to the almighty Grzy...)

I get that you dont like the way this stem looks. You are entitled to your opinion. It works, its stiff, its half the price of the Ritchey, and I trust it because I dont feel it noodling aroung on climbs like the WCS. Nuff said.
Uh-oh Pooter ...pmf1
Dec 5, 2001 11:32 AM
Now you've done it.
He's not alone.Sintesi
Dec 5, 2001 11:37 AM
WCS = stiff. WCS = light. WCS = Strong. No cheap but better. BTW not a noodle.
Stiff is relative... thats my pointLittle Pooter
Dec 5, 2001 11:44 AM
Is WCS the stiffest? No
Are there stiffer stems available cheaper? Yes
Are the stiffer stems heavier? No doubt about it
Are all stiffer stems ugly or inferior? No
Does everyone weigh 145lbs? No, definitely not me.

Why do you guys have to argue these points?
Dont take it so personally.
Alright Pootie-boy. Have it your way.Sintesi
Dec 5, 2001 12:49 PM
Nothing personal I assure you. As a matter or fact I don't think anyone has mentioned the WCS except me and you and you said it was noodly. I think it's one of the stiffest on the market. It's a very good stem. I think it's gotta be better than the Cinelli imho. : ) The guy got his picture right off the bat and a bunch of contentious rabble as a bonus.
if not personal, why make fun of his name?nm
Dec 5, 2001 1:19 PM
nm
Come on ... Little Pooter?pmf1
Dec 5, 2001 1:47 PM
would you use this name?
cant blame him for incorrect spelling nm53 x 18
Dec 5, 2001 1:53 PM
nobody's talking to younfm-
Dec 5, 2001 2:26 PM
unless Sintesi = pmf1
Well you are right, but...Little Pooter
Dec 5, 2001 2:01 PM
You are right, I mentioned the WCS in error, responding to Grzy. Grzy and I have been debating the merits of that stem for a while, and I mistakenly brought it into this thread. I'm not saying you should or should'nt like your WCS, if its stiff enough for you, great.
In a nut-shell, my comment about this stem is that I tried it, and IMHO it flexed too much for MY liking. Yes it noodled around "a little" on climbs compared to other stiffer stems including the Alter and my old Bontrager forged unit. I'm a big guy, and I tend to muscle my bike around, and this stem wasn't stiff enough for me, and at that weight, I personally don't trust it.
This forum is all about opinions, and that mine.
No need to start name calling.
Cheers.
surely "a big who muscles his frames" can53 x 18
Dec 5, 2001 2:09 PM
handle a little jibe regarding his name.

after all making a little fun is also expressing an opinion. and opinions are like assholes 'coz we all have them.

anyway i ride an integralter so i really deserve some rollicking for it is supposed to be both heavy and prone to cracking. think not.
Hey Hey Hey! I'm only funnin'Sintesi
Dec 6, 2001 6:12 AM
Honest. I didn't mean to insult anyone and wouldn't over the issue of a bike stem. I thought I was just kidding so I'm sorry I apologise. I've tried 4 stems (a specialized, a Deda, a no-name OEM specialt and the Ritchey) and the WCS was the stiffest by far. It weighs nothing and costs around $80. That's hard to beat. BYTW I weigh about 170. What can I say? It was one of my better purchases and I felt the need to defend it. But you are definitely entitled to disagree.

In the future feel free to call BS on anything I write I'll own up but keep it mind I'm probably just goofing off.

Cheers back Pooter. : )
i think $60 at performance last time i looked nm53 x 18
Dec 6, 2001 6:28 AM
Good stuff... peace at last.(nm)Little Pooter
Dec 6, 2001 6:29 AM
i think $60 at performance last time i looked nm53 x 18
Dec 6, 2001 6:31 AM
Ummm....grzy
Dec 5, 2001 1:06 PM
Yeah, but we want to talk about relative differences in broad sweeping generalizations and use half assed comparison from the MTB world, but puhleeze let's skip any objectivity and don't bore anyone with the details. When challenged and confronted with quoted reference material - - bluster. You're playing both ends against the middle kid and most of us have the brain cells to recognize it, maybe you can borrow some. Kind of a funny title for your post, using the "relative" concept then stating things in black and white absolutes .

It takes two to argue and without you we'd be at a loss (and I'd have to get back to work.....designing stems.)
Last words....Little Pooter
Dec 5, 2001 2:23 PM
Its amazing that because I don't agree with you, and I don't throw an engineering text at every debate, I'm lacking brain cells? Thats a real objective statement.
The only fact I need is actually trying a product. All your engineering mumbo jumbo means nothing if the product doesn't meet expectations. I tried it, I didn't like it. MY OPINION!

For the most part, I have agreed with most of your opinions on this forum (and you have plenty), I am not attacking your character (or your name btw). I simply do not agree with you on this one.
You all have to lighten up and allow opinions other than your own, even if you are a "stem designer".
What is so difficult to understand?
ill buy one...53 x 18
Dec 5, 2001 12:50 PM
but only if you manage to design and fit a cigarrette lighter into it.

110mm x 1"

whats it gonna cost me?

how much will it weigh?
Lemme Seegrzy
Dec 5, 2001 12:57 PM
One elbow, a 1" dia. nipple, and a tee. Should cost around $10 and weigh about a pound. Now the cigy option should bring it up to around $49 - same as the Alter at Supergo!
that's a bit heavy though..53 x 18
Dec 5, 2001 1:40 PM
could you drill it in strategic places to lighten it a little and whistle dixie at above 20 mph?

it would be really cool to be able to light a cig and have tune's for the roll home after a heavy workout in some cat 5 events.
that's a bit heavy though..grzy
Dec 5, 2001 6:48 PM
Hey if the market will buy it then darn it I'll build it. Good angle with the musical angle, people will need to synchchronize and tune their rides.

What kind of cigs the legal ones or no?
both53 x 18
Dec 5, 2001 7:08 PM
i am only a young girl and am very impresionable.

i let men peek up my skirt if they buy me cigarettes as im not old enough to buy them yet.

apart from cycling my interests are practising moves with my cheersquad girlfriends.

i must admit i really fancy an older experienced man like yourself. do you have a beard?