RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


tubulars vs clinchers(9 posts)

tubulars vs clinchersfcube
Dec 2, 2001 6:36 AM
Are modern tubulars more prone to punctures than clinchers? Its been many years since I've ridden tubulars but I'm thinking of switching back. However, I rarely have a puncture with the high end clinchers I've been using and am wondering if tubulars are now equally punture resistant. Any of you out there use tubulars for training or recreational riding? BTW, I weigh 210 lbs. (all muscle of course) if that makes a difference.
re: tubulars vs clinchersRusty McNasty
Dec 2, 2001 7:54 AM
Unless you are riding track tubulars of the sub 200gram variety, tubulars flat less often than clinchers. Tufo makes some tubulars which almost never flat. They also have a sealant that actually works (good thing, since there is no way to repair them!).
For somebody who weighs 210, I'd bet that you have pinch-flatted more than once. Tubulars will eliminate that worry.
High weight limitKerry Irons
Dec 3, 2001 3:39 AM
You might reconsider your tubular leaning due to your weight. Back in the day, it was said that 180 was the "upper limit" for tubular use, more because of braking heat and rim glue adhesion than anything. Glues are a bit better now, but if you ride in hills and end up braking a lot, you're going to be generating a lot of rim heat which will soften the glue. I doubt you'd find much ride improvement in switching to tubulars compared to a top quality clincher from Continental, Vredistein, or Michelin.
weight limit my @$$!!!Rusty McNasty
Dec 3, 2001 5:54 PM
One of the advantages of GOOD tubulars is that they can handle the higher pressures that a porky rider needs. Even when I weighed 200+ lbs, I NEVER once pinch flatted, or blew a tire. Good tubulars go on tight.
As for heat softening the glue, well, USE GOOD GLUE, and install the tire correctly!!! If you use a decent glue (like Vittoria, Continental, Wobbler, etc, and not that white sh!t) and glue the tire correctly, there should not be any problem for riders under at least 250 lbs.
As far as ride improvement goes, YES, there will be a large improvement in your ride quality.
Opinion?Kerry Irons
Dec 5, 2001 10:47 AM
For every rider who claims these large improvements in ride quality, there is another who says they can't tell the difference or that the difference is minor. It must be that you are right and those who can't tell much difference are insensitive dorks. Right?
All about stylegimondi
Dec 3, 2001 5:12 PM
Your weight is not the issue with tubulars, you are just as likely to melt and puncture the inner tube on a clincher as you are to melt the glue on a tuby. The problem comes from dragging the brakes instead of getting on-getting off of them. I remember a national at Bear Mountain NY 8 or 10 years ago where they started the race on top of the mountain and rode everybody down the hill under neutral behind the car. 4 or 5 guys rolled tires out of 200+, and it took some 2+ miles of decending 7-8% grade at 20mph or so. It happens because you ride both brakes constantly, the trick is to either brake hard when you need it and get off of them when you don't, or in a situation like the above, you can use a front then rear then front technique giving each time to cool. In my entire career, 8 years, 3 in Europe this was the only tubular roll or melt problems I EVER saw, and that was before we really had 'high end clinchers' worth a darn, so everybody only rode tubies.

They are much less likely to flat for a given weight of tire, ie you can get a puncture resistant belt in a tuby at the same weight as a clincher w/o one, and same with the casing, rubber, etc. Not to mention for a big guy, they do not pinch flat. They do ride better, and corner better, along with having a better 'feel' for most tires, granted some are less than spectacular, but even those are on par with high end clinchers.

I say do it, you will be pleased
rolloffsDAC
Dec 3, 2001 5:45 PM
have a lot to do with the type of cement used, as well as the age of the cement. In the US, people use all kinds of junk glues, from the awful (tubasti, gutta), to the improper (fastack). I'm not familiar with when Bear Mountain is held, but I'd bet that it was held early in the season, and most of those people who did rolloff the tires were using old and/or lousy cement. I have never had any problem with Mastik 1.
any feedback on tubular rim strips? why does it seemPablo Escobar
Dec 3, 2001 6:59 PM
that most recreational riders in europe who use tubulars use rim strips?

are we techno-phobic or do they not work?

ive still yet to hear any views on them. then i would forget clinchers altogether if i knew they held well. could think of nothing easier than 2 x tufo's with sealant. and a spare for that inevitable flat/shred every 3k miles or so that i experience. with a sticky rim strip it would be even easier if the claims are true.

????? views????
re: tubulars vs clinchersmackgoo
Dec 4, 2001 3:52 AM
This continualy comes up with the same answers. Nothing against the poster or the responders. I whent to tubs the end of this year, I'll never go back. I can get tires for 20 bucks and they ride just as well as the best clinchers out there.
My advice to you, if you have to ask then stay with clinchers. Unless of course you can make up your own mind and be satisfied with that.