RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Shimano R-535 wheelset any good(10 posts)

Shimano R-535 wheelset any goodMikey
Nov 20, 2001 2:06 PM
I am buying a new wheelset, and was going to go with a custom builder, but I saw the R-535's at Cambria for $189. I am new to road biking, but have mountain biked for a while, so I dont know much about these wheels. Does anyone have any experience with them, there weren't any reviews for them on roadbikereview. I will be using them for an everyday wheelset so even though they are a little heavy, which is OK as long as they are durable. Any help would be appreciated.
re: Shimano R-535 wheelset any goodweiwentg
Nov 20, 2001 6:02 PM
they are good and aero ... i picked up one whole mph from my old 32 spoke wheels. the hubs are good - not excellent, but good. they weigh in at 1900 grams or so.
at that price, you can't really go wrong - I paid $225, and my friend said those were the best wheels I could have got for that money.
as for durability: what do you mean? I crashed once and the wheels went out of true slightly ... no rim damage or anything. I've had them for all of 3 months, so that's all I can say. I will likely be using them for races next spring ... not light, I'll admit, but I don't need to come in first or anything.
you might also consider the Campy Protons. they're not as aero - more spokes, but they're lighter. they're derived from the Nucleons, which have been crashed and not gone out of true (see the reviews). also, Campy's bearings have an excellent reputation, and these wheels are pretty light.
the best deal for those I've seen so far is on ebay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1035224483

the guy's in the UK. total price would be $380 shipped. excel sports is selling the Protons for $380 w/o shipping. I should perhaps have got these wheels .... sigh. never mind. consider them.

consider also the Ultegra version of the R535s. Nashbar has one returned set, $368.47 sans shipping. total weight around 1720 grams.
http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=&subcategory=&brand=&sku=5618&storetype=2&estoreid=

I have to admit, though, that the price for the R535s is very attractive. you won't go wrong if you get them. were I in the market for a wheelset I'd get the returned Ultegras.
thanks, what I meant....Mikey
Nov 20, 2001 7:29 PM
about the durability is that I am 180 lbs. and was wondering if they would constantly need trued, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I also have heard that mounting tires on them might be a pain (Axial pros are a tight fit on the ultegras). I am building my first road bike, after crossing over from mountain biking, so I am planning on spending 200 to 300 on a wheelset to start out on, and night get a better wheelset if I start racing. Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it.
thanks, what I meant....weiwentg
Nov 20, 2001 8:53 PM
welcome. I'm almost 60 pounds lighter than you, so I can't speak for the durability under those conditions. they don't need CONSTANT truing afaik. BUT they're hard to true - only one mechanic at the LBS knows how. hope yours is Shimano certified.
535's are good.......davet
Nov 21, 2001 8:51 AM
I've had 535's on my Serotta Atlanta since May, have done 4 centuries, had one crash, and with my 185 pounds haven't had any problems and have not needed truing. I now have trick Mavics on my bike and the 535 wheels have gone on my son's bike. I think that they are VERY good wheels. BTW, Sean Kelly Bikes has the 535 wheels for $169.00.
http://www.seankelly.com/
re: Shimano R-535 wheelset any goodjkh
Nov 21, 2001 1:36 AM
You may want to look at the Velomax Circuit Comp at bikesmart.com. They got good reviews and are pretty light in weight (under 1600g).
re: Shimano R-535 wheelset any goodRed Baron
Nov 21, 2001 8:38 AM
I've had R-535's now for about 3 months as well and weigh 170lbs. Only had to have them trued after a crash. I race with them so have put them through there paces.I also have Vector Comps which ride a lot stiffer and feel heavier than the R-535's. They have a nice aero feel and are well built. Shimano usually does a lot of testing prior to releasing anything new as compared to some of the other wheel guys.

Can't beat them for the price!
re: Shimano R-535 wheelset any goodweiwentg
Nov 21, 2001 10:40 AM
for the price at www.seankelly.com, no you can't possibly beat these. I'd say get em! unless you're absolutely SURE you're TOTALLY hooked on road racing and will need something more tricked out.
Check this outKerry Irons
Nov 21, 2001 5:15 PM
Colorado Cyclist builds good wheels and will deliver a Ultegra/Open Pro for $209. I would guess this to be a considerably better/lighter wheel than the R-535. Factory built wheels are rarely better than conventional.
Gee, what a surprise ...pmf1
Nov 26, 2001 2:13 PM
Kerry Irons puts down pre-built wheels again. How does he know they are rarely better than conventional? Just trust him I guess.

What next? I guess the sun will come up tomorrow morning.