RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Trek 5900 Headset(18 posts)

Trek 5900 HeadsetWCON
Nov 13, 2001 8:18 AM
Any thoughts on using a King or other aftermarket headset on a 2001 5900? The stock bearings in the bike are shot and the replacement set is not that great. I've heard that a King Devolution might work? Will Trek remove the lower cup to accomodate it?
Thanks
re: Trek 5900 HeadsetML
Nov 13, 2001 8:30 AM
Would love to know! Have had the 5900 for 8 months and love it, but the cane creek SUCKS!!!! Went to my LBS and they couldn't put a King because of the lower cup. If anyone has ideas I'm all for it.
re: ...hmmmmmm...Akirasho
Nov 13, 2001 1:00 PM
Does the 5900 use an internal headset??? If it's a standard Cane Creek... a CK should be a direct replacement... the only problem should be getting the old crown race off the fork.

The LBS shoulda' been able to do this...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
As I understand it...TJeanloz
Nov 13, 2001 1:09 PM
I havn't seen one of these in about a year, but if I recall, the fork crown race is oversized, requiring the Cane Creek lowers be used. You could replace the top cup with a CK top cup- but I don't think you'd see a huge benefit. You could also yell at your LBS for letting you buy such a thing...
As I understand it...tcr01
Nov 13, 2001 2:52 PM
Yeah, Trek really screwed people over on that little trick.
...R U sayin'...Akirasho
Nov 13, 2001 5:43 PM
that you couldn't just replace the fork crown race along with the rest of the headset? Is this a function of the fork design? Still seems odd to me that you couldn't... but I don't know fer sure.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Yuppergrzy
Nov 13, 2001 6:32 PM
Bottom race set is larger diameter than the top race set to accomodate the steerer tube being larger OD at the bottom. Brilliant marketing. Even better to pair up with Cane Creek - the DiaComp of the 21st century.

It's gotta be an engineering effort to make the fork stronger and lighter down where the stress concetration and moment loads are the highest. A good example why engineers shouldn't be given total control. Of course it's no problem as long as someone keeps buying inferior Trek replacements for you or the market place suddenly shifts and accomodates this new non-standard. I would be furious with them - wait they already pissed me off so I sold my OCLV a few years ago. I try to drag their name through the mud whenever the spirit moves me or I'm reminded of the finish on the '96 nude OCLV that peels off. Can you say short sighted? Fact of the matter is a 400 lbs. gorilla gets to do what ever they want - best advice is to keep them in a cage and not feed the animals.
Yes.....Rusty Coggs
Nov 13, 2001 5:52 PM
Same issue came up some time ago.Someone trying to replace the headset and found 'no fit' crown race among the 'standard' offerings.So much for so called standards....
re: Trek 5900 HeadsetWCON
Nov 14, 2001 6:26 AM
No...the fork is the same one from the Klein Q-Pro. The lower portion of the fork is oversized to accomodate the large carbon blades and increse the stiffness of the fork. There is NO crown race...the lower bearing is a press-fit precision bearing that functions as the race and fits into an oversized lower cup that is bonded into the headtube. The upper is a standard Cane Creek 1 1/8" headset.

The issue is that the replacement bearing is not sealed and it is exposed to water in the headtube. I can use a standard Chris King upper and want to know if anyone has had experience with a King Devolution specifically, or other lower being replaced in the frame.

I am looking for someone who ACTUALLY has this frame and has addressed this issue. The bike is great and I have no other problems at all. Please...no "opinions" about what I should do. If you actually have a solution that worked IN PRACTICE, NOT THEORY, I would appreciate it.
re: Trek 5900 HeadsetML
Nov 14, 2001 10:46 AM
here here to that last message!
re: Trek 5900 HeadsetTJeanloz
Nov 14, 2001 12:15 PM
I don't actually have this frame. But I have actually addressed this issue. I'm sorry that I don't have a solution that will work.

If push came to shove, Trek could probably rig something up so that a King Devolution headset would work in there. I don't think that Trek would do this for you- as, in their opinion, the headset they spec'd is adequate. The frame is not designed to take this headset, and would require some retooling at the Trek facility to make it work.

However, even if you could get a Devolution lower in there, you wouldn't be able to use your 5900 fork. Unlike your fork, the Devolution does require a crown race- and would need a fork that could accept a crown race. The fork would also have to be either 1" or 1 1/8".
Duhgrzy
Nov 14, 2001 1:03 PM
You've constrained the problem such that the only feasible solution is to keep buying crappy headsets from Trek. Maybe you can get a deal if you buy in bulk?

Personally, I'd replace the bike - that would certainly work in practice.
Duhkyroadie
Nov 15, 2001 10:32 AM
Yeah! Get a Colnago and when the frame cracks, like my C40 did, you can wait, wait, wait, for months, months, months, and still get nothing from the MFG. I wonder if a King headset will fit on my cracked frame. No I was cracked in the head to buy this Italian "we stand for nothing" frame.
Busted by the Truth PoliceTruth Police
Nov 16, 2001 6:04 AM
Nice fabrication about the Colnago. Is the the best story you can come up with on short notice?

Now, please tell the truth about you broken OCLV.
Urban Legendgrzy
Nov 16, 2001 9:11 AM
A few early OCLVs actually did fail, but that was many years ago. Seems it's always a friend of a friend, but I know it's true type of story. Had an OCLV for several years and had a couple wrecks - one of them nasty @50 mph and the bike was run over by another rider. The thing is solid. No way my ti bike would've survived the abuse.

The poster probably really did have problems with his Colnago - on what basis do you doubt him?
Urban Legendspook
Nov 16, 2001 11:09 PM
On the same weak logic you just used. Take that Colnago vs. Trek C@#$ somewhere else. We don't want your poor opinions here. Unless you have a valid post on the 5900 HEADSET, go start another thread.

Jerk!!!
Thanks for sharing....grzy
Nov 19, 2001 2:55 PM
Seems like the hypocracy runs deep in your world.

You've got nothing to add, yet you want to maintain the purity of the thread and are willing to take up space and insult. If you'd only taken your own advice you would've started another thread....

How strange.
Thanks for sharing....key
Nov 19, 2001 3:34 PM
Grzy,,
go away your posts are boring and unimaginative. What did did take the punishment of your 50+ mph crash was your Head!!!