RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Selle Italia SLR Saddle(14 posts)

Selle Italia SLR Saddlemantissa
Nov 10, 2001 9:13 PM
Does anyone use one of these saddles and have an opinion on it? It's not included in the reviews on this site, so if anyone could chime in on whether you find it comfortable, uncomfortable, prone to breaking off and sending the post up your... or whatever, compared to other saddles you've used, and which model you're talking about (carbon, padded, etc).

Or if you don't personally have experience with it, what do you hear from others.

Thanks for your help
re: Selle Italia SLR Saddleroadietoo
Nov 10, 2001 11:09 PM
the SLR really does weigh 135 gms and I can tell there is very little padding in it. I used the saddle for a 1 week tour of 530 miles and it relly bothered me after the 3rd day. I still use it for racing but on a daily basis the Terry Fly is my preferred choice. The SLR works very well for its intended purpose and is available at a reasonable price if you shop around. It seems a high price to pay for what you gain though and I would not repeat my choice. I ride a steel (853) frame made by Waterford and avg. 200 -300 miles a week These thougts were the result of riding apprx. 2000 miles on it.
re: Selle Italia SLR Saddledenti
Nov 11, 2001 10:51 AM
the saddel i used for about 10years was a san marcos regal which i liked but when i bought my new bike i purchased the SLR not a bad choice but if you ride more than 150 miles a week choose something a little more comfortable.
re: Selle Italia SLR Saddlemadbadger
Nov 12, 2001 3:16 AM
Used mine for 6 months including long days in mountains, it's the most comfortable saddle I've used. Mainly cos it's so firm, you don't sink into it, which has sometimes caused scary numbness when using ordinary Flite saddles.
No problem with build quality so far.

At the end of the day you need to try it for yourself.
re: Selle Italia SLR Saddledavidl
Nov 12, 2001 3:28 AM
Ditto. I like my SLR. Works just like a regular flite for me.
re: Selle Italia SLR Saddlegwilliams
Nov 12, 2001 6:16 AM
I have been using one now for about 2000 to 3000 miles. I have no problems with it but I do use shorts with a little extra padding when I ride it. I actually like the flat surface on it as opposed to a regular flight. I usally ride between 150 to 250 miles a week.

Gary
I really like minelonefrontranger
Nov 12, 2001 11:30 AM
I think the SLR is more comfortable even than the "classic" Flites I've used for nearly a decade. It is less padded, true, but there seems to be more overall flex and shock absorption from the rails and shell. The combo of SLR and carbon seatpost handily takes the sting off of my unbelievably stiff Easton 7005 Al Morgul Bismark frame.

My boyfriend likes it for racing, but says it's too narrow for him on long (4 hour +) rides. He says the sides are so narrow/slim that they cause him some (how shall I say this?) "adjustment" issues. I don't have this trouble, as I'm female.

My .02
re: Selle Italia SLR Saddlecioccman
Nov 12, 2001 12:39 PM
I've got one as well. Nice and light. In my opinion the Flight Ti is more comfortable. There is a new SLR Carbon available now. I've seen it spec'd to weigh 95 grams and seen it elsewhere at 115 grams.
used them for 508 raceDog
Nov 12, 2001 3:36 PM
Just rode a 508 mile race on them; used a QR thin cover on the "regular" bike, and just a plain SLR on the "climbing" bike (actual time spent on each bike about the same).

No butt issues whatsoever riding 508 miles straight through. Used plenty of Chamois Butt'r and good shorts, though.

Dog
used them for 508 race12x23
Nov 13, 2001 3:41 AM
I picked up one last month, and so far really like it. However, I just saw where you and the wife got pregnant so I'm thinking I might ought to go back to my Era Pro.
re: Selle Italia SLR SaddleB1
Nov 13, 2001 8:23 AM
I started using one a month and a half ago, it is very comfortable.
I was kinda skepticle at first, but after 2 rides I started to really like it.
I have done a few centuries on it with no pain at all.
The nose of the saddle seems to point down a bit, so it does'nt put pressure on the jewels.
As far as reliability is concerned, it seems to be fine so far.
re: Selle Italia SLR SaddleJust riding
Nov 13, 2001 1:39 PM
How much do you weigh? On the SLR?
re: Selle Italia SLR SaddleGreyhound
Nov 13, 2001 4:03 PM
I have been using the SLR since August and haven't had a problem yet, and I am very saddle sensitive. Couldn't stand Selle San Marco Era, Terry Fly was ok, and the SLR is great. Its all about what fits you though.
re: Selle Italia SLR SaddleStarliner
Nov 14, 2001 8:21 PM
I have a Flite Gel on one of my bikes and put an SLR on my other. I prefer the SLR over the Flite Gel. After 50 miles with the Flite Gel, numbness becomes apparent, whereas with the SLR, no such problem arises.

My issue with the SLR is the sharp sides of the saddle once chafed blisters on my thigh/butt area after a hilly 75 miler. I was wearing lightweight shorts with the thinnest of a pad, however. Since then, I've worn better shorts with good pads and no more problem.

It's looks sexy, too - makes other saddles seem heavy looking.