RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Too many wankers on this site!!(14 posts)

Too many wankers on this site!!concerned citizen
Nov 10, 2001 6:15 PM
Too many near-clueless poser bike wankers post on this site. Too many responses regarding subjects that the poster clearly has not got direct, first hand experience with. The bark out the butt... Too many arse holes...
so, I guess we won't be seeing you at the X-mas party? nmbill
Nov 10, 2001 7:14 PM
nm
grrrrrrrrWoof the dog
Nov 11, 2001 1:25 AM
bark bark bark. Pet me, hehe.
Get BentHelduser
Nov 12, 2001 11:25 AM
Isn't this site all about informing the un-informed and SHARING information? If we were all experts like YOU we wouldn't need to be on here to be berated by your dumb ass!
it's true!the true concerned citizen
Nov 12, 2001 11:30 AM
CC was talking about the un-informed informing the un-informed... see what I mean?
Caveatgrzy
Nov 12, 2001 12:23 PM
The advice is always worth at least what you paid for it, but no one is getting rich.
I guessHelduser
Nov 12, 2001 2:16 PM
I guess that's why they teach children in grade school not to believe everything you read. Buyer beware when it comes to products and the trash people write in reviews about them. You just have to hope that since your on a site with others that are passionate about their sport that some of the infomation is worthy. Normally it is pretty easy to tell the garbage from the good.
if you find the perfect site, let us knowDog
Nov 12, 2001 3:38 PM
Go find a website with no one but Sheldon Brown, Chris Carmichael, and Lance Armstrong contributing, and let us know.

Like Grz said, you get what you pay for.

Doug
We may have technical difficultiesmickey-mac
Nov 12, 2001 3:52 PM
at cyclingforum.com to blame for our new friend's presence here. Someone operating as "The Concerned Citizen" and "The True Concerned Citizen" has been annoying people at that site for some time. He/she may have decided to explore new worlds with the recent tech problems at cyclingforum. Their loss is our loss.
It'd be like a Bergman filmJofa
Nov 13, 2001 2:02 AM
Act 2, scene 23:

SB: I've got some rare 14 17/19" racing tubulars for you...
LA: I don't care they're not significant.

( Pregnant Silence: our protaganists are at standoff, dwelling on their own individual torpor)

CC: How much does an average Snickers bar weigh, expressed in terms of VO2 max over specific energy output?
SB: (snaps) A bit less than an obscure Swiss dynamo...
LA: MUST CONCENTRATE.... stop these noises...

etc...
It'd be like a Bergman filmDog
Nov 13, 2001 7:26 AM
I think you nailed it.

Doug
check out the responses below for some really stupid replyspatrick
Nov 12, 2001 4:30 PM
Check out the responses at the thread below for some really stupid responses for cutting a steerer tube. This is an example of what is ment by C.C regarding the clueless wankers without first hand experience of the subject matter they respond to. Many others have shown up in the past several weeks too.
Wellgrzy
Nov 12, 2001 5:00 PM
Some of it is tongue in cheek and others are serious. Some are both. Some people just want to stir things up. Fact of the matter is if everyone did everything by the book, it would just be a repeat of LBS standard operating procedure and the standard answere would be "Read Zinn and buy the tools". You're going to have people come up with some unconventional and creative methods (installing a headset with a hammer) - some of this stuff works well, some is dubious at best, and some is pretty bad advice. Question: who is going to be the czar and decide what is OK to print and what is not? CC might actually have some value if s/he made some contributions. Other than that it just sounds like so much whining. Where's the value in that? I think that CC needs to get a neighboorhood forum watch going. You know, report the people with bad advice to the internet police.

In fairness some questions are pretty absurd and others are from people sincerely looking for real understanding. Sometimes the advice is even worse. Ultimately people are going to do what they want - right or wrong. Besides passing a long info of value there is something to be said for humor. Is anyone going to cut a steerer or seat tube with a chain saw? You can actually do the job with a good chop saw. Using a pipe cutter seems risky, but you've got people that swear it works. Next time you get some bad advice you should ask for your money back - I always do! Plus, it really did a number on my chainsaw so I want money for that also. ;-)
You fit right in ... welcome home, pooftapmf1
Nov 13, 2001 2:32 PM