RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Shimano RSX(13 posts)

Shimano RSXMel in WA
Nov 7, 2001 11:24 PM
I found what looks to be a good deal on a new, built-up sport touring bike (mail order). The group is Shimano RSX 8spd triple, which I'm not familiar with and can't find reviews about. Anyone have any experience with this? I'd be using the bike for commuting and long, leisurely (but often hilly) weekend rides. Will the RSX be reliable, or should I up the price of the bike by 50% by having him swap the RSX for Veloce or 105?
re: Shimano RSXDave Hickey
Nov 8, 2001 3:41 AM
The RSX was the group below the 105. For what your needs are, you'll get alot of long miles with it.
re: Shimano RSXcyclaholic
Nov 8, 2001 6:09 AM
Unless my memory is getting really bad, Shimano no longer promotes RSX components, as they were replaced by the Tiagra line. These must be older, unused stock components and that explains why you aren't seeing reviews for them.

I do lots of ultra distance club type rides and there are a few folks out there who have their road bikes set up with RSX. Like Tiagra -and I have some experience using a Tiagra drivetrain - the RSX are reasonably dependable and reliable. They are relatively heavy, but they are very cost effective - that's why you are getting such a "good deal".

As a cyclist who's used entry level components and top of the line components, I always suggest upgrading. My wife's bike is equipped with a full Shimano 105 grouppo and it has offered very good performance and reliability.

The RSX would probably offer you thousands of miles of dependable operation and would be great for a beater bike, but for the longer rides I would always have that shadow of doubt in the back of my mind. I saw a rider have a STI shifter failure on his RSX on a tough, hilly century ride and he had a difficult day.

The real question may be this: were the RSX (or Tiagra)components designed to accommodate cyclists who will complete many long, hilly rides? The answer is probably "no".

A Shimano 105 upgrade will jump the price by 50%? That is a significant factor to consider. For a little over $250, one could upgrade the drivetrain to full Ultegra (BB, FD,RD, cassette, chain, crankset). You can get a great deal on the bike now and upgrade later.
A great workhorsejtolleson
Nov 8, 2001 11:33 AM
RSX IMHO was better than either Sora (obviously) or Tiagra, a workhorse whose main difference from 105, Shimano 600, or Ultegra was weight (and the unique low gearing on the 21-spd. setup).

I had it on two bikes in the early 90s... a Specialized Allez and a Canny R500. The components off the Canny are now on a friend's 1984 Bianchi and still going strong.

The RSX 8spd. version parts are still pretty available retail (via Nashbar) so I think there must still be some production going on, though to my knowledge they aren't being put on any production bike since about 1998.

I'd prefer it to a lot of other gruppos at the same price point.
re: Shimano RSXdzrider
Nov 8, 2001 6:10 AM
I use 8 speed RSX shifters with a 7 speed Deore R.Der and an 8 speed Ultegra hub and it shifts well on an old bike. I tried this because my lbs mechanic, whose word I take like I heard it at the burning bush, says if all you care about is function, RSX is the stuff to get. Got a similar comment about their brakes from a famous frame builder who told me he recommends them for custom bikes set up for bigger tires. I'd try the stuff before replacing it.
re: Shimano RSXRusty coggs
Nov 8, 2001 6:37 AM
The reason for the big price diff between the RSX and 105 is that the 105 is current 9 speed and the RSX is NOS 8 speed. When RSX was upgraded fron 7 to 8 speed,it essentially became the old 8 speed RX-100/105. Good solid stuff for it's intended purpose.There is still alot of 8 speed stuff out there for replacement parts.
re: Shimano RSXChen2
Nov 8, 2001 7:12 AM
Some of the RSX triples came with smaller chain rings than the common 52-42-30 rings found on most Shimano triple crank sets. I thought they should have continued with the optional smaller rings which are good for heavy loads or for smaller recreational riders.
-Al
Got it on an old Allez, no complaints in 5 or 6 yearscory
Nov 8, 2001 8:36 AM
I bought the bike used, so I don't know how many miles it has on it. But it shifts fine with minimal (really almost NO) maintenance, and I know I've put lots of miles on it without a bit of trouble.
Got it on an old Allez, no complaints in 5 or 6 yearsVK
Jan 29, 2002 4:48 PM
do you remember which screw is hi gear and which is low gear for front der adjustment? my RSX front der screws are lined up top and bottom instead of inside and outside which makes more sense.
re: Shimano RSXbikerduder
Nov 8, 2001 10:16 AM
I have used RSX 7sp on my beater for the last 6 years and it has been a great group. I've had less problems with it than w/ my Ultegra group. Only maintenance in that time is replacement of chain and cogs. No significant adjustments in over 5,500 miles. My LBS swears it is one of the most dependable groups ever made.
re: Shimano RSXVK
Jan 29, 2002 4:50 PM
do you remember which screw is hi gear and which is low gear for front der adjustment? my RSX front der screws are lined up top and bottom instead of inside and outside which makes more sense.
Thanks!Mel in WA
Nov 8, 2001 3:00 PM
Thanks for the input. I think I'm going to get the bike with the RSX and see how it goes. The triple is the smaller gearing: 26-36-46, which I like for our Seattle hills. Weight isn't my first concern because I'm likely to sling a big pannier on the bike anyway.

Here's hoping I've got long, trouble free miles ahead.

Melinda
Thanks!LC
Nov 9, 2001 10:43 AM
You will appreciate that compact triple the next time you go on the Counter Balance up Queen Ann Hill.