RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Record's vs. Dura-ace???(15 posts)

Record's vs. Dura-ace???CAMPorACE
Nov 4, 2001 4:24 PM
Which is better? I know that the Record carbon is lighter, but does it make a differece? What makes one better than the other. Is the Dura-Ace more reliable, more practical? Im about to get a Trek 5200, dont no what groupo's to put on there, thanks for the help!
The un-answerable questionKerry Irons
Nov 4, 2001 5:14 PM
There is no objective way to answer this question. Campy fans would note better durability, lack of cable clutter, a more positive shift feel, and a better feeling lever (not to mention the prestige of Campagnolo). Shimano fans would suggest this is all hype to justify a higher price. End of the day, it's personal preference, (see first sentence).
Campy's Rebuildable Shimano Components are not.TheDuser
Nov 4, 2001 8:05 PM
A friend of mine that has campy chorus has been swaying me to campy components because they are rebuildable. If something should need replacement in a shimano group you have to buy a whole new piece. I also recently heard that if you get water into the bottom bracket of a dura-ace set it's pretty much shot. I heard this from a reputable bicycle mechanic when I was asking the very question you're asking. I'm going with a chorus set. I've heard that unless your a sponsored racer there's really no point to spending the big bucks for the record set. The money is better spent on some really cool wheels. I'm about to purchase a smoke carbon 5200 with chorus 10, ksyriums, and the ergobrain. Best of luck with your purchase.

Hope this helps.

Mike
i had to buy another reel after only 3 times at sea (nm)dupe
Nov 5, 2001 4:48 AM
Tired of this argument.JS
Nov 5, 2001 9:20 AM
The only thing on Campy that would even warrant rebuilding is the levers and while I would have a shot at it for my own stuff most mechanics I spoke with around here wont touch a rebuild because of the time it takes and the chance for screwing up. They simply say they would have to charge to much to make it worth there while. Go figure.
At least it's an option.Helduser
Nov 5, 2001 6:09 PM
I didn't say it would be easy. I only said I heard that it could be done.
You don't have to rebuild Shimano ...pmf1
Nov 6, 2001 10:54 AM
How many people with Campy really rebuild their shifters? I've never had to do this with Shimano shifters. Just because you can rebuild it, does that mean its better? I've got nothing against Campy, but I get so tired of people telling me its so great because you can rebuild it. I can do the same with my Time pedals, but so what. I never have to.

If you do get Campy, you can read Campyonly.com and feel good about yourself.

Oh and yes, the DA BB is nannoying to install and maintain, but water will not ruin it.
re: Record's vs. Dura-ace???Galibier
Nov 5, 2001 6:34 AM
The only significant differences between the two are (1) the way the shifters operate and (2) Campy has ten speeds, while Shimano has nine. So, try out the shifting, and if you like one method better, buy that one. If not, then get the Campy -- 10 speeds is better than nine. As for whether the parts are rebuildable, I consider that a non-issue. I have used Shimano components for 18 years, and have never had a derailleur, shifter, or brake caliper failure.
re: Record's vs. Dura-ace???Galibier
Nov 5, 2001 6:36 AM
Oh, and I agree -- if you decide on Campy, skip Record and get Chorus, unless money is irrelevant.
look at slowtwitch reviewkenyee
Nov 5, 2001 8:39 AM
www.slowtwitch.com

Best unbiased review I've seen.
Basically boils down to which shift method you like as someone mentioned.
DA is comparable to Chorus. Record just has a few extra carbon bits, so if you really want to get the most expensive groupset, go w/ the Record.
Flip a Coingrzy
Nov 5, 2001 4:56 PM
They're both good. One's more expensive and has more of a cult following. It's a bit strange that you're contemplating such a high end setup yet you don't have a definite opinion as to which you like. Correct me if I'm wrong but doesn't a standard 5200 come with Ultegra? You're talking a custom build.

I tend to fall on the more practical side and would prefer to save the money on Shimano and can rebuild the stuff that you're not supposed to be able to. Plus I ride MTB so there is a lot of commonality in the tools. You'll choke when you need to buy the chain tool for Campy 10 speed at $55!! And that's just the beginning - the Campy carbon crank is coming out soon..... You'd be better off sticking with the stock Shimano components and swaping out anything that says Icon or Rolf on it.

It would be easier to decide and argue Ford vs. Chevy or paper vs. plastic.
the real question is...DaveG
Nov 5, 2001 5:00 PM
I agree with Kerry that this cannot be answered objectively. My question is: how does someone who hasn't decided on what group they like decide they need to spend $1000-$1500 on one? I recommend you try out both systems and decide based upon preference (primarily the levers). Personally, I'd go Chorus. Some performance as Record without the excessive price. It's impossible to go wrong with either system.
re: Record's vs. Dura-ace???mackgoo
Nov 5, 2001 7:18 PM
If you have to ask go with the DA.
In addition to what everyone else here says, I think that youbill
Nov 6, 2001 8:20 AM
ought to consider your gut, because that's really what it's about. The functional differences are minimal (never used DA myself; went from Shimano 105 to Record), so what it really boils down to is what my brother says about cars. If you think that, when you look in the driveway, it'll make you giggle, buy it. You will not have made a mistake either way.
I've got two bikes with Record, and it makes me giggle. What else is there to say?
re: Record's vs. Dura-ace???ML
Nov 9, 2001 4:03 PM
question for the ages! all the product and reliability aside, what all racers will tell. Those is Europe are really objective becasue almost all team in the US race DA. What sprinters really like and the biggest difference between the two is the shifters. Campy with the ergo shifter is easier to shift in a sprint then DA. Its also one of those things that you like or not. Most people that ride campy don't like going back because of this only, all the other stuff being equal. So try them both out and you'll know for yourself.

Cheers