RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Alpha Q or Reynolds Ouzo pro???(8 posts)

Alpha Q or Reynolds Ouzo pro???gsxrawd!USN=gsxrawd
Oct 23, 2001 12:47 AM
i'm looking for an all carbon frok. I've got it narrowed down to Alpha Q and Reynolds Ouzo pro. What is every one's opinions/suggestions here?
re: Check out the review section of this board.Akirasho
Oct 23, 2001 3:32 AM
Few posters here will have experience with both of these forks.

I've got a couple of Pro Aeros with 1" CF steerers (650C and 700C) and they are scary light and scary expensive (I hope they last!). I use them on TT bikes and like 'em so far. I suspect that I'd also like the Pro.

I'm intrigued by AME's lack of a traditional CF expander plug but wonder what weight tradeoff you get with an insert.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Reynolds Ouzo Progrzy
Oct 23, 2001 9:05 AM
Very solid design with several geometires avail. I run a 1" x 43 mm version as required by my frame. Bomber construction, reasonable price, and crisp handling. Unfortunately I can not make the direct comparison with the Alpha Q - never having riden one. However, I have riden things like Time and Trek carbon forks. The Reynolds felt a lot more responsive and seemed to take away some of the vibration. I've got several thousand miles on mine, and even few minor crashes, but no problems. Just make sure you get the expander bolt tight enough so that you hold the headset adjustment. I did remove the bumps on the dropouts - maybe the warranty is voided, but I doubt it matters. I'd say the Reynolds composite team in Poway know what they're doing and my fork design buddies (Kestrel, C'dale, and others) were impressed - FWIW. It's mated with a King NoThreadset and a Ritchey WCS stem - the whole works is as tight as a drum and inspires a lot of confidence for fast descending.

You probably can not go wrong with either model. Serotta F-1 also has a great reputation, but it's not light nor is it cheap.
Reynolds Ouzo ProTJeanloz
Oct 23, 2001 9:40 AM
I'd give a clear advantage to the Reynolds in this catagory. It's a very solid fork, very good design, reasonably light. It's rare that a company enters a developed market (carbon forks) with a better mousetrap, but Reynolds did just that in 1999-2000. The 1 1/8" model in particular is probably the top carbon fork on the market.

The AME has had a lot of good reviews, but my own shop experience, and my customer's experience has not been so good. The carbon insert that they give you is a real pain to work with- and there's no way to avoid it. I don't have a lot of confidence in that particular system. As opposed to the Reynolds plug, which recieved my own Engineering Marvel of 2000 Award. Furthermore, I have seen two AME forks crack at the steerer tube. In fairness, both were on much used and abused Ironman triathlete's bikes.

Disclaimer- I ride a Reynolds Ouzo Pro on my own bike, the purchase of which was highly subsidized.
re: Alpha Q or Reynolds Ouzo pro???graham
Oct 23, 2001 5:50 PM
I have an AME fork and think it's great! I decided on the curved version out of simple tradition. I also got the titanium steerer tube out of wisdom. The weight difference is not too much, the added strength of the ti tube is confidence inspiring. I have some doubt as to the durability of the carbon steerer design tube regardless of make. Seen them split lengthwise due to a crash or simple overtightening. I had ridden a Time Equipe fork for many years, nuked it with the Merlin attached to get a much better Seven with the AME fork. I tried a 42 and 44 cm rake. I liked the handling of the 42 but the 43 was smoother in dampening the road vibes. Check out the web site for a shocker as to the fatigue life of several high end forks.
re: Alpha Q or Reynolds Ouzo pro???tr
Oct 23, 2001 8:59 PM
I have a 1" reynolds and think it is a real nice fork. I have no experience with the alpha.
re: Alpha Q or Reynolds Ouzo pro???koala
Oct 24, 2001 8:34 AM
Got a 1and1/8 OUZO and love it in 43mm. A little toe overlap but I knew that would happen with my short top tube.
re: Alpha Q or Reynolds Ouzo pro???empirebikes
Oct 24, 2001 7:05 PM
I bought my first AME fork about 6 months ago and think it is the best fork I have ever ridden. Since then I have sold 5 more and all the customers love them.