RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


looking for a light frame(21 posts)

looking for a light frametemplecat
Oct 4, 2001 6:05 AM
Looking for a 49cm c-c frame, Litespeeds come in at 3lb+
anthing out there lighter in this size? (alu, carbon ok)
Seven cycles comes in lite, but then so does the wallet.
Reccomendatons? thanks
re: looking for a light framemorey
Oct 4, 2001 6:50 AM
Try Cannondale CAAD 6.
re: looking for a light framemorey
Oct 4, 2001 7:19 AM
The Cannondale CAAD 5 & 6 weigh in at 1270 g. This is under 3lbs. I have a CAAD 6, and I love it!
Scattante Airplanenestorl
Oct 4, 2001 9:05 AM
2.6lb on that size. Aluminum Airplane (same as the pros)and carbon fork and seat stays... and all for $800. IT is actually the same cinelli Aliante which costs 1400. Altough the cinelli uses other alum of similar quality.

There is no better deal out there for a high end frame that the scattante airplane. Becareful with the sizing since they measure the bike center to the bottom of the seat collar. It has a sloping top tube so c-c or c-t does not apply.

Although if money is not an issue try the cdale cadd6...about 2.2lb for the 55cm...the 49 must be about 2lb
Trek OCLV...Len J
Oct 4, 2001 9:18 AM
120 is 2.4 lbs, 2.8 with the fork. (5200,5500)
110 is 1/4 lb lighter than 120.(5700,5900)
re: looking for a light framemorey
Oct 4, 2001 9:19 AM
Nestor is right, the Scattante is cheaper. However, the CAAD5 or CAAD6 are American made, have many technical innovations, and they are comfortable. I have a CAAD6 bike, and my wife has a CAAD5 in 49 cm. We both love ours.
They are nice to look at, fast and make hills disappear (I wish).
Empirebicycles.comride24-7
Oct 4, 2001 10:01 AM
Here, take a look at my custom Scandium frame with carbon stays. I ordered this bike from Charlie in a 60cm and it weighed in right at 3lbs. I have been very impressed with this bike and Charlie was very infomative in helping me make my decision. If you are planning on makeing this frame your full time ride, I would give Empirebicycles a look because you can get the bike built exactly the size and color you want.
Good luck with your new bike
Tim
Empirebicycles.commorey
Oct 4, 2001 10:25 AM
That is a nice looking ride! Where is Empire located?
Empirebicycles.comride24-7
Oct 4, 2001 12:28 PM
Empirebicycles is based out of Niwot, Colorado,and the thing cool about dealing with him is that he is also a racer, not just some guy that is trying to sell bikes. He not only knows alot about bikes, he can ride the He@@ out of them too!
Tim
P.S. you should see my ride now with Velomax wheels and all black tires.
Empirebicycles.comRoger
Oct 8, 2001 2:18 PM
I have noticed a lot of similar bikes with aluminum frames, carbon wishbone seatstay construction and the pinned fastening at the drop out. Other manufacturers are Argonne and Guru. These are mostly small custom builders.

Are they buying the design and tubesets from the same place? Are these Colnago technology or what?
re: looking for a light frametcr01
Oct 4, 2001 12:24 PM
Giant TCR. Next to the LS's Ghisallo, this is the lightest production frame out there. 2.2 pounds. Please note, weight ain't everything!
De Rosa, Bianchizoom
Oct 4, 2001 4:04 PM
De Rosa makes a frame called the UD that is claimed @ 0.9kg which is roughly 1.9lbs and has a rider weight limit of 175lbs. The New Bianchi EV4 is supposed to be crazy light also, like .8-.9kg
The price of lightEric
Oct 4, 2001 4:58 PM
I realize the original poster is riding a small frame (49 cm), but durability should also be considered. No matter what, the fatigue life of an aluminium alloy will always pale in comparison to steel, titanium, or carbon fibre. Frames built with superlight tubesets like Easton Scandium, Columbus Starship and Airplane, and Dedacciai U2 will not be very durable. I have personal experience with failure of one of the above, very prematurely. And I have seen it with some of the others.

The Litespeed Ghisallo seems like an obvious choice for a superlight frame that has good fatigue life. The Merlin Extralight is 2.5 lbs in a 49 cm frame, and it is a proven tubeset over several years. Trek OCLV is 2.5 lbs or less (depending on 110 or 120). Calfee must have a carbon frame in the 2.5 lb range for size 49. IMO, any of these frames are better choices than aluminium.
lightmmaggi
Oct 9, 2001 10:34 AM
If you're in the market to purchase a frame for life and put unlimited miles on it and free from rust, you buy Ti.

But bear in mind that Ti will get whippy after a while too. Although the fatigue life is greater with Ti compared with AL, I'm not so convinced that stiffness and responsiveness is and if it is, how much?

If you want to purchase a new frame every 5 years or so, then AL isn't such a bad choice. I think it's a better choice. Litespeed Ghisalo and the Merlin XLight run about $5,500. That's a hec of alot of money to spend on a bike that you might change in 5 years.

I would stay away from new Aluminum alloy frames such as the Deda U2 and the Deda V107. It will take a couple of years to get the kinks out, but when they do, they will be stronger than they are now and probably as strong as the Deda SC61.10. Alot has to do with the builder too and the process he goes through to build an AL frame.

Plus, stay away from any frame that has weight limit. Steel, Ti and carbon frames have no weight limit. That should tell you something. There are many AL frames out there that have no weight limits imposed.

I know many cyclists who have ridden over 10,000+ miles on AL frames and they're over 175lbs. Granted, the frames weren't the V107 or the U2, but it was AL.
how about Olmo frames??templecat
Oct 4, 2001 7:24 PM
Test rode at LBS today, pretty sweet ride. 1.28kg in aluminum. Any experience out there with these frames??
re: looking for a light frameLeisure
Oct 5, 2001 4:36 AM
I can't lie, but if light weight were my main priority (and it isn't) I would go for Ti and avoid carbon and aluminum. I give mad props for what some companies have been able to accomplish with aluminum and carbon in the strict engineering sense, but the ultimate material properties remain the same. It's just going to be easier to make a consistently long-lasting while ridiculously light frame out of Ti than the other two. If price is really limiting Airborne might be a solid alternative to Litespeed; you figure if Huffy were to make Ti road frames that fell apart you'd already see tons of reviews from angry owners saying as much on this site. Most of the negative reviews I've seen have been speculative non-owners. But then, I haven't checked recently so you should see for yourself.
If scandium tubing weren't so new I might recommend them as well; they're awfully light and have a general feel somewhere between steel and Ti. Being so recently developed, however, I personally would wait another year or so as welding techniques, etc, become solidly established. If you're interested anyway I've heard Rocky Mountain has some road frames on sale which I've gotten to test ride. Rocky tends to make sturdy frames, but you'll notice one of the reviews on this site mentions that the scandium tubing dimpled and just didn't last, which kind of goes along with what I was saying.
Personally, my dream frame is the Seven Alaris. It's straight-gauge so it's a third of a pound heavier than the Axiom, but it also costs less, ~$2000 if I remember correctly, which is basically the same as Litespeed frames but with all the gootchie custom crap.
New Airborne Manhattan Projectjs5280
Oct 5, 2001 1:43 PM
Glad to hear your not biased against Airborne, as a Zepp owner I can say the bad quality rumors are totally unfounded (and absent from every review I've ever read). It's great bike at a great price. Their parent company may be Huffy, but using the same logic, is a Mercedes S-Class as crappy as a Dodge Neon because they are both owned by same parent company, DaimlerChrysler?

Airborne is on the cusp of releasing their new frame, the Manhattan Project, which is supposed to weight in around 2.7 pounds, about .7 pounds lighter than the Zepp frame. No idea on cost or details (rumor is Ti w/ carbon stays, a theme at Interbike from what I've read), but I imagine something will coming out soon since Interbike has come and gone. Anyone go Interbike that can comment?
Giant TCRnigel
Oct 7, 2001 7:07 PM
As someone already said, the TCR is one of the lightest production framesets out there--period--at about 2.2 to 2.5 pounds. In response to their "light isn't everything" comment, however, I've experienced a superb ride out of my size-small TCR (equivalent to a 49cm traditional frame). (You can read my review of the 2000 TCR2 in the review section.)

Very comfortable, very responsive and alive, doesn't beat me up on long rides (which include lots of city potholes and bumps), and garners respect and major amounts of compliments (from riders and non-riders alike) all over--a very nice plus.

The tubes are smartly designed, and the carbon fork and seatpost make it a surprisingly (!) comfortable ride, even in a small size.

Good luck with your search,
Nigel
dittoJohnG
Oct 8, 2001 9:16 PM
I've got a medium and the ride quality is surprisingly good.

JohnG
principiaganderhead
Oct 8, 2001 4:24 AM
hi.

why not try a principia frame. they`re absolutely marvelous.
forget about us made frames-- they`re all outperformed by european products.

visit:
www.principiabikes.com

:-) marc
re: looking for a light framemorey
Oct 8, 2001 5:34 AM
I have a 49 cm CAAD5 frame made by Cannondale. It is very light and very comfortable. Personally, I love it. My husband has a 54 cm CAAD6, he also loves his.