RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Conti GP 3000: Can it be?(11 posts)

Conti GP 3000: Can it be?Crankist
Oct 2, 2001 9:35 AM
Judging from many of the reviews, this tire must come randomly-equipped with an explosive charge in the sidewalls. Is this tire that crappy? Why is it that so many reviewers are so pissed at a really popular tire? But if these criticisms are valid, then why no recall?

Mike
re: Conti GP 3000: Can it be?Akirasho
Oct 2, 2001 10:37 AM
my opinion and experience is that the GP3000 is somewhat prone to sidewall cuts and at it's current retail price, is relatively expensive to replace for what can be an unrepairable (you could boot it if it were small enuff) failure.

Many consider the GP3000 a racing tire... and indeed it does do such duty, but many folks use them as workaday as well and as such... they will be subjected to road hazards. I've had competitively priced and marketed tires from other makers that have worn far faster over the tread than the Conti... In my book, I still use the GP3000 for all types of rides... While I experienced a few sidewall cuts in the past, I've been cut free for about a year now...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
No problems hereKerry Irons
Oct 2, 2001 5:21 PM
While they are not the mileage monsters that are the straight GPs, I've had good luck (riding numbers 3 & 4 right now) with no sidewall cuts and getting ca. 2500 miles on a rear tire (I weigh 180). No complaints, and they are regularly available from La Bicicletta for $29 (US).
I've had good experiences w/ them.9WorCP
Oct 2, 2001 11:08 AM
No side wall cuts and the wear has been decent considering their intended use. 2,500 mi and going strong. Perhaps there was a bad batch and ensuing mass hysteria. I wouldn't write them off. Plus the new color schemes are neato.
sidewallsquadzilla1
Oct 2, 2001 3:11 PM
I have had terrible luck with the sidewalls in mine in the past. I did notice that they were uncoated. Just wondering if the newer ones had some kind of coat on them. It looks like the colored ones do, or is it my imagination ?
sidewallsBirddog
Oct 2, 2001 4:12 PM
I was told by the distributor 2 years ago that they had just begun coating their sidewalls because so many people were complaining. It didn't change my opinion however, I got my replacement tire from him and switched over to Michelins on the next re-tire.
There is a thin coating. It doesn't feel like dry fabric. (nm)9WorCP
Oct 5, 2001 7:53 AM
sidewallsJofa
Oct 7, 2001 1:31 PM
It's not just a case of being coated or not: tyre casings aren't made out of woven 'fabric' in the conventional sense. They are made out of layers (typically two) of aligned threads, which are individually bound in latex rubber: the two layers are aligned at 45 degrees to one another, which allows the casing to reduce its internal dimension on inflation (approaching the optimal 38 degrees or so), and keep the tyre on the rim in use. The rubber is a constituent of the casing, not a coating.... Conti's is just a different colour to other manufacturers'.

The problem with Continentals is that they're simply not well made: I've had a few Conti sidewalls fail in use, including a GP3000 tyre very recently. I don't know what the reason is, but to me, after basic observation, it looks like the casing thread is simply too thin. They work for a while, but they're not durable... go with another manufacturer.

Jofa
re: Conti GP 3000: Can it be?peterrave
Oct 3, 2001 9:57 AM
I had one of these the entire carcass of which, from sidewall right through to tread, ruptured on only the third time of riding. What's more, this is not its sole weakness. Ride comfort is poor, when compared with the plushest clinchers, eg., Veloflex, Vredestein. That said, all those colours look pretty and it scrubs up a treat.
Don't know what everyone's talking aboutmmaggi
Oct 4, 2001 6:11 AM
They're the best tires I've ever used.

Just this season alone, I have 2000+ miles on them with no problems whatsoever.
re: Conti GP 3000: Can it be?morey
Oct 5, 2001 11:08 AM
I have not had a single problem with the Conti GP 3000. I have over 2000 miles, 1 flat. The flat was a pinch flat, my fault, should have put air in the tire.
Basically, what I am trying to say is that they are OK!!!