RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy Nucleons(8 posts)

Campy Nucleonsflybyvine
Aug 30, 2001 3:06 AM
I was just about to get back on my bike to ride home & have found that I have a broken spoke on my rear Nucleon. Damn thing is so out of true that it won't even turn in the frame !

Didn't even happen while I was riding - just "happened"

I had thought these guys were "bullet proof" but with only about 500km on them I'm wondering. Has anyone else had defective spokes on these guys ? Do you think the rim is screwed ? (it is a long way out of tru with one broken spoke).

I've got an hour to wait for my wife to pick me up so I amy as well kill some time on the board.

Cheers
re: Campy NucleonsKen
Aug 30, 2001 7:20 AM
This is only the second time I've heard of Nukes failing. The other time was from the product review page for Nukes. As I remember the reviewer, from Singapore, had the whole rear hub collapsed after about 500ks. I've got 4000ks on mine with no problems whatsoever. I believe your Nukes should still be under warranty.

Ken
re: Campy Nucleonsflybyvine
Aug 30, 2001 10:20 PM
Now there is a strange co-incidence, I am also in SIngapore. Maybe there is a bad batch running around this market (not many buyers here mind you).

I have taken the wheel in today but have yet to have a discussion on the warrenty thing. I am really worried about the rim. It was about 1" out of round & 1" out of true. 1 spoke can really make a difference at that level of tension.

Cheers
re: Campy NucleonsLeisure
Aug 31, 2001 3:17 AM
Some of my family own an importing company in Thailand, and they know first-hand that some of the stuff they get is B-quality stuff that would never get to the U.S. or Europe. Things really shouldn't be that way, especially when you're going to pay more in Asia thanks to all the extra shipping and such. It's really sad.
re: Campy NucleonsTommasini
Aug 31, 2001 6:04 AM
The problem may also depend on whether your Nucleons are a newer version or not - it seemed like a lot of talk went around that the first year they came out ("99 ?) that there were problems such as spoke breakage and thus they had to slighlty beef things up for the next year (seems like they added material to spokes, hubs and rim). But to the untrained eye hard to notice as was not any substantial redesign.
re: Campy NucleonsCliff Oates
Aug 30, 2001 7:42 AM
Agreed, it should be handled as a warranty repair. Campy's warranty period on the wheels is 3 years. FWIW, I have 2000 miles and one crash on my Nucleons and except for one wheel needing truing after the crash, all is well.
have fun!DOH!
Aug 31, 2001 11:26 AM
These are not bulletprrof and as you will find out are expensive to repair and hard to find parts for. Pull out yr wallet!
not sommaggi
Sep 4, 2001 11:00 AM
That's just not true.

The Nucleon mini-spokeset is available from Brandfordbike.com for $30 and then it's up to your LBS to charge you labor. The mini-spoke kit contains 6 spokes (2 front, 2 rear drivetrain, 2 rear non-drivetrain) with nipples.

If you're a good customer at an LBS, they'll probably charge you just $10. It's different than a Mavic Open pro, but it's still relatively simple to any wheelbuilder or mechanic. Hec, if you had the right tools you could do it yourself. It isn't rocket science, you know.

BTW.. no wheel is bomb proof. I've seen spokes being popped by riders who are 150lbs and 220lbs. It's going to happen sooner or later on most wheels for strong riders. I've seen spokes pop on Mavic Ks, Zipp 303s, Campy Nucleons, Mavic Open Pros.... you name it.