RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


saddle leveling problem(8 posts)

saddle leveling problemheather
Aug 4, 2001 10:48 PM
I have an older durace seat post(late 80's). I just changed saddles and as I tighten the single bolt the two holding plates start to tilt down to the front. I tried starting out with the saddle nose higher than needed but it ends up a bit lower than level after I fully tighten it. I would love to know that I'm making a simple mistake that will allow me to have the saddle level. THANKS!!
re: saddle leveling problemgrzy mnky
Aug 5, 2001 10:41 AM
Sometimes the older seat post mechanisms use a series of nothces between the parts. It becomes extremely difficult to select and intermediate position. I'd advise replacing the seat post with soemthing that allows for the entire range of adjustments. Thomson makes a nice one.
re: saddle leveling problemHank
Aug 5, 2001 8:49 PM
remove the seat, take the post apart (remembering how it goes back together), clean all the parts, grease them and put the post back together.
re: saddle leveling problemJay H
Aug 6, 2001 5:55 AM
If it uses a rotating nut/bolt to adjust the seat angle, take the seat apart and seriously clean the groove and bolt and nut of anything. And check the groove for any pitting or notching. Alot of times the bolts are screwed down so tight that the bolt imprints a pattern into the groove that allows one to adjust the seat height. Then this imprint will get set for so long that everytime you adjust the seat correctly, once you tighten it, you'll find the bolt/nut combo moving because it is sliding to go back to sit in that imprint. Hence, the moving when you tighten the bolt. If you cannot get imprint out, then you might want to invest in a new seatpost.

Jay
yesHank
Aug 6, 2001 7:25 AM
that's the longer, better answer. I imagine, though, that if the post is Dura Ace, it's all gonna be nice cold forged stuff and less likely to be deformed or pitted. But you never know.
re: Speedplay vs. SPD-R (re:latest quick poll)??Cliff Oates
Aug 14, 2001 8:26 AM
Gregg, go to the product reviews, sort descending by number of reviews, then ask yourself why you're suprised. What suprises me is that people don't think highly (or badly, either) enough of their Look pedals to review them.

Cliff (X/2's on the road bike, ATAC's on the CX bike)
re: Speedplay vs. SPD(re:latest quick poll)??Chen2
Aug 14, 2001 9:30 AM
Having switched from Dura-Ace SPD's to Speedplay X-1's this year, I'm not surprised by the pole results. I was concerned with the big float of the Speedplays because my knee's don't like twisting movements. But my LBS convinced me to give them a try (at my sole expense). He also told me that most serious roadies are buying either Looks or Speedplays. As it turned out my knees are thanking me for the Speedplays. Hot spots are not a problem either because the cleat plate spreads the preassure out over a large area. I've been learning to alternate between standing and sitting when climbing and I was surprised that the extra float actually feels good when standing.
Al
re: Speedplay vs. SPD-R (re:latest quick poll)??Skip
Aug 14, 2001 6:06 PM
My Speedplay X-2's are far superior in every way to my SPD-R's!