RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Any opinions of TTT Mutant stem?(18 posts)

Any opinions of TTT Mutant stem?bunghole
Aug 15, 2001 8:29 AM
I don't see a review for the TTT mutant stem. I have always liked TTT bars and I want to replace my ITM Cinelli combo (too flexy). Anyone use the Mutant?
re: Any opinions of TTT Mutant stem?MikeC
Aug 15, 2001 9:22 AM
I use the Mutant. It's not light (200g), but that's only two ounces more than the lightest stems you can get, and that's the equivalent of a short chug from your water bottle.
I've found it plenty stiff, easy to adjust, and I even like its funky look.
Even better, you can get it dirt cheap.
ITZCRAPgrzy mnky
Aug 15, 2001 4:07 PM
Heavy as sin and ugly to boot.

200 g. vs. 125 - that's 60% more than it needs to be.

Looks funny when you flip it over if you want a riser.

I too like the TTT stuff, but not the Mutant.

It already looks dated, what will it look like in a few years?

Check out the Ritchey stuff.
Hey, Grzy-Kat3
Aug 15, 2001 5:41 PM
Whyd'ya always have to be such an obnoxious jerk when you give an opinion?
Look, dude, there aren't a lot of 125g stems, and you pay for them. But you know what 75 grams is? less than 3 ounces! Tell me what three ounces means on a twenty pound bike with a 150 lb rider? I spose your into carbon seatposts, too.
You think it looks ugly, I agree with MikeC and think it looks cool. By the way, I don't own one, but that doesn't mean it's crap.
Simplegrzy mnky
Aug 16, 2001 8:34 AM
Can't help but thinking about the Special Olympics quote from the other day. Just to show you that I really am retarded, here goes.

Gee, could it be b/c I'm opinionated!? If someone asked me in person what I thought I'd say the same thing. Maybe we need to revise the forum pact and add something about being kinder gentler beings and only using PC speak. Actually I enjoy pissing wussies like you off.

I stated the facts, clearly added my opinions - if you don't like what I write don't read it. It's worth at least what you paid for it - nothing.

3 oz. here 3 oz. there, pretty soon you're looking at real weight. Actually 75 g. is 2.65 ounces - so yeah I guess I know. In fact you pay for all stems - no matter what they weigh - I guess the TTT is a sweet deal since you get so much material for your money?

You think it looks cool - that's fine. I think it's butt ugly - I guess that's not fine. Maybe your opinion is worth more than mine - why is that?
So, big guy,Kat3
Aug 16, 2001 9:16 AM
You think that everyone whose not rude is a wus? You can't be pleasant and be a real man? You've gotta be loud or nobody pays any attention to you? I never said your opinion doesn't count. I just asked why you always have to be a jerk when you deliver it.
Now I know. Your opinionated. That usually means that its the only way anybody'll listen to you. Enjoy your Napoleonic complex, dude., and keep compensating!
What's Your Point?grzy mnky
Aug 16, 2001 3:09 PM
You do have one, right?

If I didn't know better I'd say you're stooping to my level. Actually it's a bit lower since you don't know the differrence between "your" and "you're". Your voicing your opinion in a less than pleasnt way so where do you fall on the Kat3 Politeness Scale?

Question: does this make you a jerk also? What about the one or two other people that don't think I'm a jerk and probably the rest of the population that doesn't care? Maybe we just need the Kat3 stamp of approval on everything. Tell us what you like and what you don't like and we'll elect you to the position of Moderator God. I think you're (as in "you are") a wuss b/c you're complaining about sh!t that doesn't matter and isn't going to change. There's also a difference between having an opinion based on sound reasoning and just having an opinion without basis. So my delivery sucks - at least I'm not running for office.

As far as Napolean goes - just remember, length times height is a constant.
That's right...you're a constant jerkKat3
Aug 16, 2001 5:01 PM
You see, in person people probly just raise their eyes and say, "Jeez, here's Joe Blowhard again." People just don't like being around guys who act like you. So I'm trying to give you some negative reinforcement that could help you get treated normal in a civilized society, not like some demented dwarf with a skin problem.
Kewlgrzy mnky
Aug 17, 2001 8:21 AM
I'm so glad you're committed to getting me back on the path to being acceptable. Since you're trying to be so helpful how 'bout a hummer?

Ever stop to think it takes two to tango? The rest of the audience is probably thinking, "What a bunch of losers - both of them." You gotta stop thinking you have a monopoly on righteousness.

Ultimately it ain't about me - it's you that have the problem - I've gotten under your skin.
That's right...you're a constant jerkGeasy monkey is a little fag
Aug 17, 2001 4:54 PM
He sounds like a puss and probable gets beat up all day before posting BS in here. If you were in the same room with this puss she'd probably be as quiet as a pup.
Why insult the ladies and gays like that?grzy mnky
Aug 17, 2001 5:13 PM
Just shows how little you really know.
Why insult the ladies and gays like that?moe
Aug 18, 2001 2:27 PM
Hey grzy, tell us again how smart you are.

Tell us again about what course you took in school.

People here know you are a spineless maggot.
Damn I missed it!.9WorCP
Aug 19, 2001 7:32 AM
Very entertaining fellas. What was this three or four against one? Mutant stem is chunky and ugly to Grz is an arrogant s.o.b. and has a "Napoleanic complex?" Really guys, what's with the sniping dogpile here?

GJ Grz excellent cleanup.
Hey, get over it, guys.MikeC
Aug 16, 2001 5:06 PM
This is supposed to be about bikes, not interpersonal relationships. Look, I like my Mutant stem, Grz doesn't. Big deal. Just go ride your bikes, ok?
Agreed. (nm)grzy mnky
Aug 17, 2001 8:21 AM
re: You might check the ZeppCliff Oates
Aug 15, 2001 4:39 PM
I've been running a Zepp stem for a year now. It's light, I think it looks good, and as far as I'm concerned, it's stiff. I've been running it with 3T Forma SL bars, but I recently switched to Prima 199. I have no comments on the new bars as my left wrist is still recovering from taking a Mighty Mouse-style dive into a road (which also prompted the purchase of the new bars).
re: Any opinions of TTT Mutant stem?Ken
Aug 15, 2001 6:12 PM
I have it on my C40 with 3T Forma bars. I think the Mutant stem looks better than the Colnago stem. I don't notice the weight. I like it.

Ken
re: Any opinions of TTT Mutant stem?beck
Aug 18, 2001 8:14 AM
Many of the lightest CNC stems happen to be flexy and fragile so the Mutant may be good in the long sizes or for a heavy rider.