RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Can you use Look cleats in Campag pedals?(11 posts)

Can you use Look cleats in Campag pedals?Richard Delbourgo
Aug 13, 2001 3:09 PM
Can you use Look cleats in the run of the mill campag pedal? They look the same.

Thanks Rich
Nopegrzy mnky
Aug 13, 2001 5:07 PM
A little closer inspection will show that while the cleat is very similar up front, they aren't even close in the back. Bolt pattern is the same though.
DO THOSE CAMPI CLEATS WEAR OUT QUICKLY OR WHAT???tirider
Aug 13, 2001 7:06 PM
Is it just me??? I have a newer set of Record Profit pedals and have never seen a cleat wear out so quickly. You'd think I run marathons in them. It must be the softest plastic around... what a money generating engine for Campi... I love the Pedals though. I think I'll check the prices at Total Cycling and buy a box of them.
Do they ever!PaulCL
Aug 14, 2001 6:47 AM
The Look cleat covers fit over campy profit cleats. If you do any walking, buy a pair, and stick 'em in your back pocket.

I'm on my third set of cleats (the plastic part) since November of 1999 or about 5000 miles of riding time (1 2/3 season).
the Look covers fit BUTColnagoFE
Aug 14, 2001 9:20 AM
not very snugly...they tend to fall off.
DO THOSE CAMPI CLEATS WEAR OUT QUICKLY OR WHAT???peloton
Aug 14, 2001 8:53 AM
Remember that the word 'profit' means to make money. Pretty fitting for what Campy charges for the pedals and the cleats.
YesCliff Oates
Aug 14, 2001 9:01 AM
That is one of the reasons why I now ride Speedplays.
Not in my experienceKerry Irons
Aug 14, 2001 4:32 PM
I just mounted my second pair of Campy cleats after 2.5 years/20K miles on the originals (white plastic). I guess it's possible that the new cleats are softer plastic, but they seem the same. I use cleat covers when off the bike at breaks, but not for my evening rides (walking around in the garage, etc.) Time will tell if the new cleats hold up as well, but I don't see why not.
Not in my experiencepeloton
Aug 14, 2001 7:09 PM
Kerry, you are lucky. You always seem to get an extraordinary life span out of products. Every time you post how long a cleat, tire, chain, or other part lasts for you I am amazed. I take care of my stuff more meticulously than anyone else I know, and you put me to shame. I wish I could get my cycling gear to last as long.
Cleat maintenanceKerry Irons
Aug 15, 2001 4:55 PM
The only thing I thing I can imagine I do to make my cleats last is to use cleat covers when I stop for breaks, stay clipped in (track stands) at lights and stop signs, and ride routes that don't require many dismounts. The other longevity I get comes from good maintenance and a smooth and careful riding style. While riding with others, they hit the potholes, glass, and road debris, and I ride around them because I'm always watching for them. They patch their tires and true their rims, I don't need to. My wife rides like I do, and since she weighs 1/3 less, gets even better life from tires, chains, etc. Finally, I'm reasonably sure that good stuff (Conti tires, Campy parts) last a lot longer than a lot of the other stuff out there. For reference, I get only 1/3 the mileage on top of the line Michelin tires compared to a Conti GP.
Older Campy, yes. The newer Pro-fit, NO.jw25
Aug 14, 2001 10:26 AM
Like the older Shimano clipless, which were licensed from LOOK, the older Campy pedals are completely compatible with LOOK cleats.