RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Pissed off ! Newton stem bolts(8 posts)

Pissed off ! Newton stem boltsPatrick E
Jul 31, 2001 7:01 PM
I stripped the bolts in a Deda Newton stem. Poor design, poor quality. It just plane stinks. Opinions, Experiences?
re: Pissed off ! Newton stem boltsonrhodes
Aug 1, 2001 4:27 AM
Did you follow the directions for proper torque? Velonews just had a really good article on all the new lightweight stems out there. I don't want to sound judgemental, but was it possibly operator error?
re: Pissed off ! Newton stem boltsMike Prince
Aug 1, 2001 6:56 AM
Reading through the product reviews it seems this is a common problem. I almost bought one before consulting this site. Seems that the weight/durability equation has failed on this and several similar products, especially stems and bars, lately.

Personally I went with a Steelman stem. Built like a tank and powdercoated to match my frame (also a Steelman). A weight-weenie nightmare, but I think I can lose the 100 or so grams from places other than my bike. And I can live with the peace of mind that I have taken a potential source of dental work out of the danger equation.
light weight vs. durabilitytirider
Aug 1, 2001 9:00 AM
I've used the Deda and it's a quality piece of equipment... that said, extreme care needs to be taken tightening the face plate. The ultimate issue with any bicycle component is the balance between weight savings and strength/durability. Just like NASA learned with it's recent "faster, better, cheaper" motto, there are tradeoffs between divergent variables. I recently contemplated purchasing the new ITM magnesium stem with its compelling 95 gr weight. Upon reflection of many dicey high speed descents where catastophic stem failure would have led to catastrophic injury, I opted for a custom Seven Ti stem without a removable face plate. Peace of mind is worth a few extra grams.
light weight vs. durabilitygrzy mnky
Aug 1, 2001 9:21 AM
The Deda stems have been problematic from their inception. this is the same product that had a recall b/c of the ti bolts, now the bolts are stronger so they strip the threads. Anyone suspect that the Deda folks didn't get this stem right?

You may want to think twice about that Seven Ti stem - a buddy has one and it's the flexiest stem I've ever felt. Total cheese noodle, but it looks good on his Odonata.

I've found that the Ritchey stems are light, pretty stiff, and have no problems with stripping bolts, and reasonably priced. How did they do in the study?
That's why it's custom.........tirider
Aug 1, 2001 5:52 PM
.....so you can get a stem built with the stiffness you want. Mine has enough spring to be comfortable yet is more than stiff enough for my riding style. If I was Erik Zabel I wouldn't ride a Ti stem, but I wanted a certain level of comfort for long rides.
light weight vs. durabilityAD14
Aug 1, 2001 2:17 PM
Got a friend with the Newton. I tried to warn him, but he bought it and you guessed it-trouble. I just bought a ritchey and am happy with it. With all the problems with Deda stems I could not chance buying and getting splattered on the pavement. Just read all the posts on this site and other bike sites about Deda stems.
Yeah, but....grzy mnky
Aug 1, 2001 4:58 PM
Some people will continue to buy stuff no matter how much info is out there telling them something's a piece of crap and get all pissed off for buying such a piece of crap. There's not much one can do.