RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Sestriere vs Krysiums(20 posts)

Sestriere vs KrysiumsAvanti Guy
Jul 25, 2001 1:41 AM
Well I am sure this is one that has been covered many times before but I have another factor to throw into the equation.
I live in Australia so prices vary greatly from the US on certain products. Right now I am looking at getting a new set of wheels and am having a tough time choosing between the K's and Sestriere's.
The best prices I have been able to find in Australia for K's is $1124 and the Sestrieres are $1545.
I weigh 68Kg's am 6"1 and will be doing road racing (some climbing)and criteriums this season...
Also to throw another thing into the mix I can pick up a set of Heliums for $810 making them a nice good option to save some cash to spend on other bike goodies :)...
So anyone have any advice or info that can help me make the decision?
Are the Sestrieres worth the extra cash, and are the K's that much better than the Heliums?
Thanks for your help in advance :)...
re: Sestriere vs KrysiumsAvanti Guy
Jul 25, 2001 4:08 AM
And just to make the decision even more complicated I can get some Shimano DA Wheels for $945. So again thanks in advance :)...
ShimaNOOOOO!!!!TrekMan
Jul 25, 2001 4:42 AM
Forgot to put this in my message below, steer clear of the Shimano wheels for the moment. They haven't been making wheels for that long and no one want's to have to pay $1000 to test someone's wheels, even at your weight. I race with people who have got them and they spend more time truing them than riding them!
re: Sestriere vs KrysiumsTrekMan
Jul 25, 2001 4:32 AM
I live in Ireland so I'm in the same boat when it comes to prices of bike bits.

IMHO I wouldn't get the Sestriere wheels at that price since the Krysiums are a lot cheaper and are just as good if not better. And in my experience Krysiums are that much better than Heliums.

For me it would be a toss up between the Mavic wheels, Heliums (great wheel) with other bits for the bike, or Krysiums (fantastic wheel) without other bits for the bike. I'd have to let my wallet decide!
re: Sestriere vs Krysiums/Hey Trek Man?TC
Jul 25, 2001 7:27 AM
Where do you live in Ireland? I was in Ireland about 3 weeks ago and saw a few Treks on the road. I think I saw one near Youghal and the Sweep area. Heading on N22(I believe) to Ardmor, Waterford and Cork. Were you in the area?

TC
re: Sestriere vs Krysiums/Hey Trek Man?TrekMan
Jul 25, 2001 12:09 PM
Nah, I'm up in the rainy north west! Did you enjoy your visit, and were you cycling?
For me, Ksyriums, without a doubt (nm)Dog
Jul 25, 2001 5:16 AM
Doug
I hear that two new model Krysiums are comming soon...keith m.
Jul 25, 2001 5:42 AM
One will be lighter, an all out racing version,and one slightly heavier than the current model, a training, everyday style wheelset.
what's your source?Dog
Jul 25, 2001 6:37 AM
I'd like to take a look; thanks

Doug
what's your source?5ive
Jul 25, 2001 8:04 AM
Perhaps he was referring to this?
http://www.velonews.com/race/tour2001/articles/1144.0.html
someone you know Doug...keith m.
Jul 25, 2001 12:16 PM
Scott at Louisville Cyclery.
oh...Dog
Jul 25, 2001 6:30 PM
...where my Milano was born? :-)

Doug
I can confirm it...TJeanloz
Jul 26, 2001 9:52 AM
Our Mavic guy just got back from France with the news. I don't know how the lighter version got lighter, but I think the cheaper version will use the same rim and CrossRoc (the cheaper CrossMax) type spokes.
Can't speak for the K's but.....Len J
Jul 25, 2001 8:51 AM
Have been riding the s's for about 2500 miles with no problems at all. Great Hubs, light weight and bulletproof. Test rode both & didn't notice much of a riding difference. Ultimatly chose the s's because none of the LBS's locally stocked parts for the K's. Several Lbs's had Rolf certified tech's and good spare's inventory.

My .02
Sestrieres vs KrysiumsXeke
Jul 25, 2001 6:24 PM
I've been aboard the K's, S's and Mavic/DA's for awhile now, mixing and matching between three bikes. Also worth mentioning is that I've also been riding Vector Pro's for a couple seasons. None of these wheels have been a problem thus far, save a minor spoke problem with the Sestrieres that the LBS took care of promptly and quite satisfactorily.

I weigh about 170 lbs/77 kg these days. I'm not sure that the Sestrieres would tolerate much more weight over a long season of mountains under some masher, though they are probably the better wheels in the mountains for a small climber.

Bottom Line: I prefer the Ksyriums.
Sestrieres vs KrysiumsAvanti Guy
Jul 26, 2001 2:21 AM
Well thanks for all your help guys, I have decided to go out and grab the K's this week ready for some weekend race action :)...
One ride on the SestrieresMasi3V
Jul 26, 2001 10:12 AM
As I was riding for the first time on the new wheels, I wandered slightly off the road as two trucks passed. a mile later, I hear a ticking sound coming from the front wheel and look to find the wheel about 1 cm out of true...I usually go a year or more before puting a spoke wrench to my wheels. I'm very disapointed
In contrast, Ksyrium strengthEric H
Jul 27, 2001 1:18 PM
I have been racing on Ksyriums this year and a couple of weeks ago in a big race with a large field I NAILED a rock on a descent at about 65 or 70 km/h. I flatted of course, and I was certain my front rim was toasted. It was damaged, with a dent on one sidewall which extended down into the section of the rim. After pulling the dent out with a crescent wrench, and hammering the side of the rim to flatten the dent in the section of the wheel, I found the wheel to be only out about 1-2 mm in lateral true and it has a small flat spot of with a deviation of 1 mm from round. I have ridden it and it seems OK, but I just placed an order for a new rim today. Peace of mind. The LBS told me my cost of the rim itself is only about $75 Cdn.
Also check out VELOMAX Orion Compsruss g
Aug 6, 2001 4:56 AM
This is a wheel that seems to get overlooked often, the weight is somewhere in between the K's and S's and is a strong wheelset and it's cheaper! Check out the reviews on the review forum.
Just another to consider.
Regards
Russ
re: Sestriere vs Krysiumssuperdagul123082
Aug 9, 2001 9:56 AM
i am in a team of uscf junior racer's in and so far my team's wheels are the sestries and k's it is much better its good on climbing and k's are the best coz if a racer like Lance use the k's then it should be good on climbing and he won on the k's and sestries but it doesn't matter what you buy either k's or sestries coz i'll tell you the truth it doesn't matter what wheel are you gonna buy that depends on the ryder who's riding a bike !!!!!
but think of it? if i were you i would buy the k's it has zycrical bladed spokes and aero rims it's worth it buying the k's. but if your really into racing you got three option's get the k's ,sestries or ZIPP 404 there the best!!!!!!!!!!!

mike