RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Michelin axial carbon tires?(12 posts)

Michelin axial carbon tires?TomS
Jul 19, 2001 7:11 AM
Hi, I'm going to need new tires soon, and was wondering if anyone has any feedback on the axial carbons? I've heard they're pretty sticky, but haven't heard much about how long they last... do they puncture easily? How well do they wear?

I'm also kinda looking at the continental gatorskins; anyone know if they live up to their name?

I'm looking for a good tire for long-ish recreational/training rides and commuting; not racing (at least not yet!) Any others I should look at? I have vittoria twin-treads now, they've lasted about 2000 miles over the past year and a half, but seemed to pick up a ton of small cuts.

btw, I looked at the reviews section here and didn't see either one listed; is there a way to search the message boards? When I did a search, it only let me search reviews and classifieds.

thanks!
re: Michelin axial carbon tires?Mike Prince
Jul 19, 2001 7:35 AM
I've got a set with about 4 weeks and 700 miles on them so far. Absolutely no problems. The rear tire profile is just beginning to flatten out a bit. A few minor nicks in the tread but no cuts yet and I am 200 lbs. and ride on less than great roads. I have yet to puncture and am quite pleased with their overall performance. Also the price is right compared to some of the other high-end tires out there.

Having said that, I doubt that they will last the 3800 miles that I've seen advertised in some places but I am planning on buying these again when the current set wears out.

Mike
Where did you see...JL
Jul 20, 2001 5:05 AM
3800 miles advertised? I've been looking at these from a price point as well.

Thanks.

JL
Where did you see...Mike Prince
Jul 20, 2001 5:23 AM
I think on either the Branford Bike or Excel Sports web sites. Not sure as I eventually bought mine here in Europe but definetely saw this claim more than once while I was doing my usual anal-retentive research before I bought them. I got them for £16 ($23 or so) in the UK. So far they are very good. At this point I'm thinking about buying a case of them at this price to bring back with me when we return to the US at year-end.
Yep, here it is...Mike Prince
Jul 20, 2001 5:26 AM
Straight off the Excel web site

Ultra-Durable Racing Tire-Tread lasts up to 3800 miles !
• High density carbon woven casing with protective fabric ply sandwiched between overlapped casing plies for a total of 4 plies under the tread.
• Carbon-reinforced matte-finish slick tread for higher mileage and better cut resistance.
• Weight: 260 grams
Sales-speak craziness...Jofa
Jul 20, 2001 5:57 AM
"Carbon-reinforced matte-finish slick tread for higher mileage and better cut resistance. "

Matte Finish?! As opposed to... satin? gloss? Oh, eggshell, right.

Also it's good to hear somebody thought of putting carbon-black into tyre rubber, for grip and durability... if only Mr Dunlop had thought of that.

Who writes this rubbish, and how much do they get paid?
Fortunately this isn't why I bought them...Mike Prince
Jul 20, 2001 6:37 AM
I never believed the advertising claims, but was doing some checking up before I purchased since Michelin doesn't list these tires on their web site. If we believed half of the hype put out by marketing folk, imagine how pitiful our bikes would be? :)
yep..Jofa
Jul 20, 2001 2:51 PM
Imagine... Ksyriums, cf seatstays, silica dual- compound tyres, split saddles... blimey. Oh- whoops, sorry everybody. No offence.
Thanks for the info!! (nm)JL
Jul 20, 2001 10:03 AM
Looks like it's the marketing...JL
Jul 20, 2001 12:12 PM
hype from Michelin. It's says the same thing at Branford bike.

Happy riding.

JL
re: Michelin axial carbon tires?ritcheyboy
Jul 20, 2001 12:32 PM
I bought a set of Axial Carbons since my current home requires a 2 mile ride on a gravel road to get to the pavement. Not ripping good tires on that! Had been on Axial Pros. The good-durability seems really good so far, ride isn't bad compared to the pro. Fine if you've never ridden a nicer tire. The bad-they are narrower than the Pros. Why????? Only Michelin knows. A little stiffer due to 4 plies under the tread. No cuts so far. A good deal at $30.
re: Michelin axial carbon tires?LC
Jul 20, 2001 6:08 PM
I never rode them, but I took a close look at them in the store. They look like they would have very good wear because they are heavy. The part that contacts the road is probally double thick as an axial pro. I would think they would be the ideal training tire, probally about the same as the Cont Ultra 2000.