RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy 10-speed durability(11 posts)

Campy 10-speed durabilityveloboy
Jul 5, 2001 11:23 AM
I have a question and I hope I'm not being redundant because I only check this forum periodically. I was watching OLN's coverage of the Giro a few weeks ago and I heard on two different occasions of guys breaking their chains. Once was Perez on one of the early mountian climbs. This guy looks like he's maybe 120lbs soaking wet! Still, Paul Sherwen and Bobke starting going back and forth about 10-speed chains being too narrow.

My question is this, are chains getting too narrow with this kind of spacing? I mean it was less ten years ago that we were riding six-speed. I have never seen anyone break a chain on a road bike. I've done it myself on a mountain bike but those are truly different situations.

I am running DA 9-speed now with a SRAM chain and am not worried. I don't plan on converting to Campy or ten speed any time soon. I am just curious more than anything. Anyone else out there with breakage problems or ideas on the subject?
re: Campy 10-speed durabilityPaulCL
Jul 5, 2001 11:40 AM
First of all, at least one of the chains reported to have broken in the Giro were off of a Shimano drivetrain.
I just replaced my 10spd chain after 4000 miles (shoulda done it sooner) but not due to breakage. On that point, we should replace our chains every 2500-3000 miles anyway to keep our drivetrain in good shape. So chain breakage shouldn't be a problem. If breakage of the narrow 10spd chains were a problem within the pro ranks (who put 10,000's of miles on per year), I think that news would have filtered down to us, the consumers, by now.
Perma-Link issuesCima Coppi
Jul 5, 2001 11:58 AM
Apparently Campy did have issues with perma-link breakage in the first revision of the C-10 chain last year. They made an engineering adjustment on the chain for the 2001 model year that solved this issue.
Perma-Link not neededJohnG
Jul 5, 2001 9:49 PM
Just put the chain together without the link. Works for me... :)
JohnG
re: Campy 10-speed durabilityjschrotz
Jul 5, 2001 12:24 PM
I agree with PaulCL in that at least one of those chain breakages in the Giro was a Shimano, if not both of them. While I haven't heard anything about reliability problems from the pro ranks, I have read (mostly on this site) that a lot of people have had problems with premature breakage of Campy's 10spd chains. I'm a longtime Campy person and just got a 10spd Chorus group about 2 months ago. The chain is rather narrow and not exactly something that inspires a tremendous amount of confidence. In light of that, I make sure to take good care of it by lubing it at least once a week and doing a thorough cleaning every 2-3 weeks. That may be a bit on the anal side, but I'd rather do that than snap it out in the middle of nowhere. Oh, and I'll also be buying a second chain soon, just in case.
re: Campy 10-speed durabilityPaulCL
Jul 5, 2001 12:41 PM
I never heard of any 10spd chains breaking, only making some clicking sounds which precipitated replacement (and complaints). I never experienced any problems with my chain - purchased in Nov of 1999. As for durability questions, my 1999 chain last 4000 miles until the dreaded 'chain skip' caught up to me and forced replacement of chain and cassette. During that 4000 miles, I put a lot of torque on the chain as a 6'1" 185lb + rider in a hilly area. I did keep the chain clean and well lubed (with white lightening) all of the time.
that was a shimano chainColnagoFE
Jul 5, 2001 1:23 PM
that broke. they were wrong. no probs other than early editions of permalink were not all that good, but no broken chains that i've heard of unless the person put it together wrong.
re: Campy 10-speed durabilityShad
Jul 5, 2001 3:14 PM
I snapped a perma-link about two blocks into a road race a few weeks ago. That was frustrating. In retrospect, it was my own stupid fault as I should have picked up on the very slight "clicking" noise the chain had just started making. I assume one of the "pins" was working its way out.

I won't be ignoring that noise again. Oh well, live and learn. I carry an extra perma-link with me now. Hopefully I can put it on with a rock or something, because there's no way I'm going to carry the special Campy chain tool on every ride.

Shad
Apple Valley, MN
better to carry a SRAM powerlink...C-40
Jul 5, 2001 4:35 PM
Although the SRAM powerlink is a little (.006 inch) wide for the campy chain, some folks use if all the time (not me). It would certainly get you home in an emergency, but if you don't also carry a standard chain tool, you couldn't get a broken permalink off either.
10-speed Superlinkunobtainium
Jul 6, 2001 3:09 PM
Is available from Quality Bike Parts and Bradford Bikes.Better and cheaper to buy this than a spare Permalink as no tools are needed to install. I just changed my 2001 spec 10 spd Campy chain. It had 3k on it and the Permalink held up fine. The previous 2 , 2000 spec chains developed the Permalink hiccup after about 1k. So I think the bad Permalink days are over. But I still carry a Powerlink just in case.....
Snapped a DA 9sp chain beforeMike K
Jul 5, 2001 8:28 PM
on my road bike (after about 2000 miles) and an XTR (which is the same thing - but lasted much less on the mtn bike) on my mtn bike - both blew apart at one of the factory sealed links and not where the chain was assembled - the road chain snapped while going up a nasty climb with no warning - very odd feeling when that happens...