RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


SPEEDPLAY vs SHIMANO VS LOOK...??????(8 posts)

SPEEDPLAY vs SHIMANO VS LOOK...??????Jim Kuhn
Jun 28, 2001 5:46 AM
I want new pedals. I read many positive remarks about the speedplays. I like the weight and float of the speedplays. I know nothing about their performance..Any comments?? Do the Speedplay cleats weigh a lot or enough to come close to the weights of other pedals????. I have also heard good things about the Dura Ace pedals???? Any comments on any pedals would help. Thanks, Jim
re: SPEEDPLAY vs SHIMANO VS LOOK...??????Crash
Jun 28, 2001 10:26 AM
Jim, Being new to road bikes I am just getting road pedals myself. I am using an old pair of Shimano's right now and don't like them at all. The pad is very small, and they have a tendency to flip upside down whenever you clip out of them. I have been riding SPD's on my mountain bikes for 5 years and I still have problems getting into these (not the tension, just the position of the pedal). The left pedal also squeaks constantly.
After looking at what's available I am getting the Look 357's. Basically the same pedal as the top of the line 396, without the adjustable float feature. Most of the people I talked to that have the adjustable float don't really use it.
Most people that try the Speedplay's seem to like them. I don't need all of the float and I like a bigger platform. Performancebike.com has the X-3 model for 79.99 right now, so if you wanted to try them it wouldn't cost you that much ! Good Luck !
Second the Looksmuncher
Jun 28, 2001 10:44 AM
I got a couple of pairs - an old set and the carbon ones, whatever they are called. Never had a problem with either, and they work very well - with the red cleats you get the float you need without the need to have the adjustment feature on the pedals, so I can't see the point of that unless you want to spend more money. If you don't want it, get the black cleats. Nice big platforms, easy to adjust and durable has been my experience.
Speedplays, I say.boy nigel
Jun 28, 2001 9:39 PM
I've ridden Looks (I used them when I raced in the early 90s, when their first red "Carbon" pair came out). I liked them, but their cleats squeaked a good deal after some wear; as well, I unintentionally unclipped a couple of times--no disasters, fortunately, but scary nevertheless.

I bought new pedals early this year for a new bike I got. I wanted something light, something with float (after the Looks, I used Sampson Stratics Ti pedals for years, which were nice pedals with float, until they gave in), and I dug the whole double-sided entry thing. After reading up on all the lightest pedals, I came to two conclusions: a) Speedplays seemed like the ultimate pedals for so many reasons; b) I read all sorts of bad things about the tension on the Dura-Ace pedals (light in weight, but you had to really wrench to get in/out, and they were only single-sided). I easily decided on the Speedplay X/2s for $165. Seemed like a lot of money, but all the other brands' top pedals were as expensive or more. Plus, I got practically the lightest things around, absolute no-look entry, easily servicability, nifty-looking pedals (nothing clunky or complicated about them--nice and clean), and I got knee insurance. Though I hadn't had problems with my knees (my Sampsons had float, though not unlimited float), I liked the no-centering effect of the Speedplays for kindness to knee joints and tendons.

My review is in the Product Reviews section. I've had them for about half a year now, and they're just perfect. I don't have to think about them at all when I'm riding or when I enter or exit them. Effortless, and well worth the greenbacks.

Good luck with your choice,
Nigel
speedplay is the lightest...C-40
Jun 28, 2001 3:21 PM
Apparently you haven't been reading the weight specs that most all catalogs have. Speedplays are the lightest by quite a bit, although you do have to consider the 50 gram weight of each cleat. Speedplays are doubled sided, and very easy to get in an out of. The full floating action can take a little while to get used to.

Speedplays also place the foot much closer to the pedal spindle, which enhances spin. They work particularly well with Sidi shoes. The cleat adapter fits right into the recessed sole of Sidi shoes.

The speedplay cleat creates a "platform" that's about as big as anything on the market.

I used LOOK pedals from the time they first came out, but switched to speedplays in '99. I'm on my third season with speedplays and intend to stay with them.
I vote speedplaysKPRTX
Jun 28, 2001 4:34 PM
I've ridden SPD's Look's and Speedplays. I currently ride with some looks on my roadie(because its my brothers bike) but would probably go for the X series speedplays. I ride with frogs on my mountain bike and love it. i think the road peddle is quite a bit better than the frogs. The cleat creates a nice big platform. The freefloat is a little different than the looks or the spd's, but once you get used to it I would say its worth it.
Don't forget to read the reviews...biknben
Jun 28, 2001 11:58 PM
You probably won't get any more info here than you'll find in the reviews on this site.

The Speedplay cleats actually weigh less that competitor's cleats. Check here http://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/weights.htm#pedals Don't listen to the Speedplay bashers. They always bring that up.

They will also bring up the "Hot Spots" issue. Some say that Speedplays create hot spots on the bottom of the foot because the pedal platform is so small. If you look closely, the pedal hardly touches the bottom of your foot. Force is transfered from the pedal to the cleat. Then from the cleat to the shoe. There are a few reasons why people get hot spots. IMO, it's not the Speedplay pedal.

The only thing I will caution you about the Speedplays is the float. It can be an issue. Some say it's like skating on ice. Others just get used to it. I got used to it but it gets interesting that first ride after I lube them.

If you can't decide. Find a shop that will let you try out a few brands.
Seriously consider the SpeedplaysFoster
Jun 29, 2001 11:34 AM
Opinions on pedals are like.... well I won't go there. I've had about 4 sets of Looks and I've only had two incidents were I unclipped accidently. Both were during sprints and as a result I have five chainring teeth scars on my right ankle. The first time was about 7 years ago, the second time was this year. This motivated me to check out the Speedplays. I got the X/2's and didn't experience the 'skating on ice' feeling that others had mentioned. I immediately got comfortable on these pedals. Because of the design, there is really no lateral play between the cleat and the pedal which results in a very secure feel. These pedals are great but then again, that's just my opinion