RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Just read the review of the ...(11 posts)

Just read the review of the ...seth1
Jun 7, 2001 11:53 AM
Dura Ace BB. Holy Crap!!!! Now I'm worried. I just upgraded to DA-9. One of the posters suggested the P. Wood ti bb. Saw the price and nearly choked on my clif bar. I haven't built up the bike completely yet. Should I wait and see what it does first, or return it to Performance and get something else? I would like to ride this weekend.

BTW I'm doing my first race on Saturday. I'm a little nervous. I might chicken out.
re: Just read the review of the ...grz mnky
Jun 7, 2001 12:01 PM
Yeah, what we'll put up with to save 44 g. It isn't that bad if you stay on top of your bike maintenance. If you pay to have it done, ride in the rain, and log lots of miles then you probably would be better off avoiding the DA unit.

If you want less hassles then get the Ultegra unit. You want to be "all DA" then get the track BB.

You can't buy a BB from any other mfr. and have it work with Shimano stuff - they patented the design and have been enforcing it. They did license C'dale to build their own cranks to go on a Shimano splined BB. This is why there is the ISIS standard. Currently Phil just makes the traditional square taper BB.
Crap again, you're right...seth1
Jun 7, 2001 12:12 PM
Phil doesn't make a splined bb. Thought he did. Damn, I'm feeling slightly taken by Shimano.
Crap again, you're right...grz mnky
Jun 8, 2001 11:55 AM
Yeah, know what you mean about "feeling taken" by Shimano - it's something you'll get used to - not that you'll ever like it. ;-(

Make sure you check out the "Track" version of the DA BB. It's been mentioned a few times, but I don't know mucha about it. Probably a sealed unit with the weight of the Ultegra at a DA price.....

Oppps, there's that "taken feeling" again.
Crap again, you're right...Slow Ned
Jun 8, 2001 12:52 PM
Just upgraded to splined DA cranks and went with the DA track BB. If I recall, the BB weighs less than the Ultegra model. Supposedly it has lighter seals, for ease of spinning (this is what I have heard - not surmised). It seems fine so far. My only question will be long-term durability.
D/A track bottom bracketIan
Jun 9, 2001 1:37 PM
I know we have been on this subject before, many times before. I remember one of the other threads, the poster said that he had called Shimano to inquire about using the track bottom bracket for road riding. They told him that this should not be done as the D/A track BB is not even sealed as well as the D/A road BB. They said the track BB was made for the clean conditions of track racing and would not have a chance of holding up to the dirt and elements of the road.
DA BB suckspmf
Jun 7, 2001 2:09 PM
I've had bad luck with these things. They're hard to install and prone to loosening up. If you like to tinker, then its the BB for you. I just use the Ultegra with my DA set up. Its a little heavier, but not much. They're very easy to install.

The first DA BB I put into a Kestrel 200 a couple of years ago. I was upgrading the bike from the Ultegra 8-speed it had. Everything worked fine and I've had no trouble with it since. The second one I got went into a LS Ultimate. It was a pain right off the bat. Kept loosening up, making noise, etc. I tried tape on the threads and ti prep, but nothing worked. I ended up pitching it an installing an Ultegra. Recently my wife and I both got some new bikes. I didn't even think about the DA BB after the previous experience.

Maybe you'll get lucky, maybe not. If it were me, I'd take it back and get the Ultegra BB. If you're gonna go fancy (I see no reason to do this though) make sure what you buy will accept a Shimano splined crank. I don't think Phil Wood does. Race Face makes some that work and I hear they're quite nice and not too expensive. I'd just get the Ultegra though. It works well, installs easily and is cheap.
Race Face?grz mnky
Jun 8, 2001 12:02 PM
I don't think that anyone makes a splined BB to fit a Shimano crank except Shimano. A couple years ago there were some companies starting to advertise that they did, but every one I called declined to sell one or even admit that they would make one. Shimano's legal team has been very agressive on this issue. C'dale is the only mfr. under license that I am aware of that makes a crank to fit the Shimano splined BB.
Not my experience at all......runstevierun
Jun 8, 2001 10:45 AM
No problems at all with DA bottom brackets....
I've a 1999 LS Classic w/ full Dura Ace and
a 1988 Vitus 979 also w/ full Dura Ace.
Both bikes still on the road averaging
5K miles a year, rain sleet and snow.
Did the design somehow change post-1999?
[I went through three Campy Record BB's
before retiring my 1981 Bianchi. I thought
that was normal wear and tear.
(also pre-sealed bearing era....)]
Not Sure....grz mnky
Jun 8, 2001 11:59 AM
Not aware of any changes, but I haven't put my greasey paws on a new one yet.

Actually the DA BB can work out fairly well, but you have to stay on top of it's care and feeding from time to time. In particular I find it's a little more work to keep them quiet and happy in a ti frame.
go ultegra - cheaper + less headache.wes_london
Jun 10, 2001 3:05 AM
for a few grams more they are a lot less headache and none to wild. i have them on mine as i read the d/ace reviews and issues and thought whilst a critical part it wasnt necessary to worry about the weight. they will work with your d/ace cranks.

ciao, wes