RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Wheels for new bike Xaero ? Cosmic Elite ? or whatever ?(8 posts)

Wheels for new bike Xaero ? Cosmic Elite ? or whatever ?Merlin666
Jun 1, 2001 7:36 AM
anyone have a pair of spinergy Xaero's and can give me their thoughts. also thinking about Mavic Cosmic Elite
re: Wheels for new bike Xaero ? Cosmic Elite ? or whatever ?merlin666
Jun 2, 2001 8:55 AM
I quess no one on this message board has wheels on thier bikes since no one seems to have an opinion. open pros with dura-ace/ Cosmic elite/ or any other wheels. The whatever at the end of my statement kinda left it open for any wheels. Now I know the people on this board, their the ones I see carring their bikes with no wheels on them. Happy walking. I asked the question because I'm a MTBer and just order a new road bike and was hoping for opinions on wheels. The bike is a Colnago ovalmaster with D/A. looking for comfort but don't what them to weight a ton. Thanks for all the help.
re: Wheels for new bike Xaero ? Cosmic Elite ? or whatever ?bestT
Jun 2, 2001 5:43 PM
I have the xaeros on my new bike. I like them. They are light, fast, and soak up some road vibrations. I don't notice them feeling mushy when I stand to climb or sprint ( a complaint about the spox). They seem pretty sturdy so far, and I weight >200lbs. Not too many people have them, which I like.
I like Xaeros: 180 lbs (nm)mike mcmahon
Jun 2, 2001 6:00 PM
nm
another vote for Xaeros...keith m.
Jun 3, 2001 9:18 AM
I have the SR-3's, same as Xaero but steel bladed spokes instead of PBO fiber, and I like them alot. I weigh 170. good rims, great hubs (swiss made edco) and pretty light for a semi aero wheelset.
117 Views & only 3 people have opinions about wheels. Nicemerlin666
Jun 4, 2001 6:55 AM
Actua11y, 7 views & 3000 people have opinions about wheels, butLucky
Jun 4, 2001 7:14 AM
There are as many opinions about wheels as there are people who post here. It's a well-worn topic and if you search the archives, you'll find plenty of opinions. Most of those people who viewed your post probably looked at the lack of information on what you were looking for in a wheelset and decided to spend their valuable time elsewhere. When you want useful input, give as much info about how you will use the item as you can. What you weigh, how much you ride, and where, if you race or not, etc. Don't blame the folks here because you didn't get the feedback you were looking for. Oh, also, weekends tend to be slow. Everyone is out riding.

Your snide comments in your follow up posts won't prompt anything but more snide remarks, or will just be ignored.

Not knowing anything else about you, all I can say is that unless you ride on the road a lot, race, are very large, or have other special needs, a set of Ultegra/Mavic Open Pro 32 hole wheels will be a good value, is durable and can be serviced at virtually any bike shop.

Kathy
Another Opinion - Yew Suk!grz mnky
Jun 4, 2001 4:12 PM
Hate to break it to you kid - we ain't here to serve your slacker ass. You obviously don't rate a decent repsonse being a lower life form (i.e. MTBer). Dis'ing us on top of that isn't going to win you any awards. Some of us have more experince with wheels than you have years on this planet. The trick is in how you ask.

Now that I'm back you can get a nice snide reply - Mr. Grz Mnky style. Go get yourself a set of Rolfs, then come back and complain - it should be worth a few laughs. If you weren't so lazy you'd find that literaly volumes have been written on the subject of wheels and you just want the quick answer. Might as well ask how long is a piece of rope?

Check the archives if you want some quality info without my over bearing sarcasm.