RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy 10-speed chain vote(12 posts)

Campy 10-speed chain votemike mcmahon
May 28, 2001 3:12 PM
Cast your vote here: Is the Campy 10-speed chain with the dreaded Permalink the worst cycling "innovation" since the Biopace chainring?

This board and others are chock-full of complaints, questions, and confusion regarding the chain and Permalink. The main questions seems to be: How can I avoid using the C 10-speed chain? My Permalink broke on the first ride on my new 10-speed bike. It took me a while to find a shop that had the tool. It then cost me $20 for a new Permalink. When Perez's chain broke in the Giro, everyone immediately assumed it was a C-10 chain (it was actually Shimano). Can you think of any development in cycling in the past 10 years that has been more unnecessarily difficult to deal with? I love Campy stuff and am not interested in a C v. S thread: just opinions on the chain. Thanks.

Mike
Ah.......JohnG
May 28, 2001 4:39 PM
Why don't you put the blame where it belongs.... like on the hammerhead who installed your PL!

IMHO.... the C10 chain and permalink works perfecto!
JohnG
Agree re installationmike mcmahon
May 28, 2001 5:49 PM
I agree that the faulty installation by the guy who built my bike (not me) was the initial problem. However, a guy shouldn't be forced to look all over town for the tool necessary to repair the chain and/or purchase the chain tool for $70, IMHO.
Permalink installationMGS
May 28, 2001 7:28 PM
The permalink my LBS installed caused a clinking and problems with chain suck. I think this was due to a more than cavalier attitude of the mechanic who installed it without the proper tool.

I left that LBS, bought a permalink, installed it using a vice grip with two nickels, and it's performed flawlessly.

I still believe many permalink problems are caused by the LBS not doing a proper installation.

On installation, the link seats with an audible pop, one for each rivet. If you don't hear the seating noise, the link isn't set correctly.
what good are opinions?C-40
May 28, 2001 8:19 PM
The simple fact is that the permalink has exhibited premature wear. It won't last nearly as long as the rest of the links in the chain. I would like to get a couple of free permalinks from campy, so I can get another 2000 miles from the chains that I've removed after 3000 miles, to avoid a permalink problem. These chains have less than 1/32 inch of stretch per foot.

Hoperfully, Campy has fixed this problem with latest version of the permalink. Other than that, the chain works fine. If you're smart enough to lube the chain with any reasonable frequency, it will last as long as any chain on the market. If you need guidance on how to get good mileage from a bicycle chain, I can provide it,post again.

People who want to avoid the permalink are just cheap, lazy or incompetent mechanics. Don't worry though, SRAM will soon have a 10 speed chain with a Powerlink, so you can handle this "difficult" task without special tools.

What's the point? (nm)mike mcmahon
May 28, 2001 8:23 PM
nm
10 speed SUCKS & should be banned ---WE ARE THE -MARTIANS !!
May 28, 2001 9:46 PM
Who needs 10 speeds "cadence freaks" 7-8 gears work just fine !!!
come on ....don't buy into the HYPE.....USE WHAT WORKS dam it....
downtube shifters rule too !! STI is too expensive man .....
"OLD SCHOOL "
Johan? (nm)mike mcmahon
May 28, 2001 9:57 PM
nm
10 speed SUCKS & should be banned ---mackgoo
Jun 1, 2001 12:06 PM
Yeah.... and why are you using 7 or 8 speeds? I mean really a 5 cog gear cluster is really where it's at. Boob.
re: Campy 10-speed chain voteNoName
May 29, 2001 12:32 PM
Well i have 2500 miles on mine, still works perfect!!! Don't know what happened to yours, Bad luck maybe.

Later
SRAM says they are rolling out...JamesT.Kirk
May 29, 2001 6:19 PM
SRAM says they are rolling out a 100% Campy compatible 10sp chain w/ power link. praise the lord!
So... ;)JohnG
May 29, 2001 11:24 PM
I use SRAM chains on my mountain bikes .... they work good.... but this is a solution looking for a problem.
JG