RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy Veloce vs. Big-S 105(10 posts)

Campy Veloce vs. Big-S 105someguy1
May 21, 2001 9:34 AM
I am considering these two groupos for my new road bike build. My budget is somewhat constrained, so I have limited my choices down to these two. I have some experience with 105 and was satisfied with its performance. However, I have heard some great things about Campy, but not too much first hand. I have checked out the reviews and the two groupos and they are fairly even. Relatively speaking, I am new to road biking. Any advice or help you can offer is much appreciated.
Try 'emDaveG
May 21, 2001 10:11 AM
It's probably more of a preference thing. The Campy shifters operate a bit differently (thumb shifter, non-rotating brake lever) - some like that better, others don't. The feel of the Campy shifting is a bit more deliberate. Best bet is to test out some Campy levers and see if you like them. Both groups work well, and offer great value. I went from 105 to Veloce on my last bike and overall I prefer the feel and operation of the Campy levers better. If you are a weight weenie, Shimano wins, primarily because of the heavier Veloce hubs.
re: Campy Veloce vs. Big-S 105Mick
May 21, 2001 2:33 PM
Campy's cheaper groups are not as good as Shimano's cheaper groups. Veloce and Mirage kinda suck. 105 vs. Daytona is where Campy starts to catch up. Chorus (or Record if you're made of money) is flat out nicer than Ultegra or Dura-Ace, in my opinion. But that's only because I like the feel and how the shifters work. I can't say anything bad about Ultegra or DA. They are great groups. I really prefer the Chorus stuff I have, though.
perhaps you could expound on "kinda suck"DaveG
May 21, 2001 7:40 PM
Mick, no argument that you get more when you spend more - performance is (almost) always relative to a price point. But, perhaps you could expand a bit on what constitutes "kinda suck"? Bad shifting, weight, not status-enhancing ... what sucks?
expounding on "kinda suck" ;-)Mick
May 23, 2001 6:53 AM
In my experience, with Mirage and Veloce you DON'T get what you pay for. All you get is the Campy name. Sora and Tiagra components work fairly well ... they are heavier, and don't work as quickly or smoothly as the higher groups, but you can expect to shift and stop without to much time wrenching. The same doesn't appear to be true of the low end Campy. To make the components do their job, you have to spend lots of time adjusting, lubricating, and basically fiddling.

As you spend more you get a better return on investment. At the Daytona level you break even with what you would spend on Shimano. I believe that Chorus and Record give you more for the money than Ultegra or Dura-Ace.

My point is this: If you plan to buy cheap components, Shimano is the way to go. At midrange, it all really becomes a mattter of personal preferance (ergo vs. sti). If you have the cash, Campy is the top-of-the-line choice.
OK, but ...DaveG
May 23, 2001 10:29 AM
OK, at least you have a reason. However, I can't agree with the statement "As you spend more you get a better return on investment". I don't question that Dura Ace and Record are better than their lower-priced counterparts, but I don't think they are better values. Is DA twice as good as 105 as the price would suggest? Record doesn't seem to me to add $400 of performance over Chorus. I would argue you get better value lower in the lines. As to where your threshold is for adequate performance, that's an individual thing. Having used both Veloce and 105 concurrently, I slightly prefer the Veloce although both groups are excellent values. I could spend a lot more to get performance I am not capable of taking advantage of, but then I'd be sleeping in the garage with it when my wife saw the bill.
buy all you can afford....dave
May 21, 2001 4:13 PM
Campy Daytona is a significant step up from Veloce. At least you get 10 speed. If you can possibly afford Daytona, you'll skip a lot of future upgrade expenses. Daytona may be cheaper in the long run.

Otherwise, it's probably boils down to whether you prefer ergo or sti shifters. I much prefer ergo. Switched to ergo in '95 and wouldn't consider sti again.

Shop around for the lowest price. Try sdeals.com, totalcycling.com, or txcyclesport.com for low groupo prices.
BB DifferenceDCP
May 22, 2001 7:09 AM
Shifter preference aside, and since the Campy 10 speed advantage is not available for Veloce, to me the biggest differentiating factor would be the 105 splined bottom bracket, which would give the nod to 105. I am assuming that the infamous Shimano shifter rattle problem is solved with the 2001 models as otherwise I think Campy is an easy choice. If you prefer one shifter design over the other, however, that is reason enough to pick one.

Of course, cost is always a factor, with Campy chains, chain tools, etc. costing more.

I have 2000 model 105 which has performed flawlessly except for shifter rattle.
BB DifferenceAndy M-S
May 22, 2001 7:38 AM
If it were up to me, I'd build with a mix of parts, probably starting with Campy shifters, on the one hand, and the Shimano BB/Crankset, on the other (though there are some very good things to be said for Campy cranks). Brakes--take your pick. Hubs--mix & match, or use Shimano with Campy spacers, etc. Campy rear derailer to match the shifters, your choice up front.

You can even pick and choose among a manufacturer's lines (with a few restrictions) to customize your bike.

The whole 'gruppo' thing is unnecessary, really.
bad advice...dave
May 22, 2001 3:45 PM
Mix and match doesn't cut it when it comes to cassettes and hubs. Most of the new cassettes have several cogs that are riveted to a single carrier, and have no individual spacers that can be changed. The shifters, rear derailleur, cassette, and hubs should all be one brand for best performance.

The 9 speed cranks can certainly be interchanged, but if you want to upgrade to 10 speed, only the Campy crank can be fitted with a 10 speed big chainring.

Even the brakes have different amounts of cable pull, and don't funtion optimally when mixed with different brake levers. If you mix campy brakes with shimano shifters, you won't have any quick release on the brakes, to get the wheel out (it's built into campy shift levers).