RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


DEAN Ti frames- any experiences?(12 posts)

DEAN Ti frames- any experiences?campyguy
May 20, 2001 2:25 PM
Hello-
I am interested in getting a custom Ti frame, and there are a couple of companies I am looking at that have great prices. Dean is one of them. Please let me know what you know, have seen, heard, etc. about them. Thanks!

-Campyguy
re: DEAN Ti frames- any experiences?weed
May 21, 2001 5:41 AM
I got the El Diente in February. I love it. John was very informative and easy to deal with. The turn around time was about three weeks.

The bike rides beautifully. It is light and comfortable. I have not had any problems with flex.

I highly recommend the company. I was thinking about getting another, the El Diente extra light.
re: DEAN Ti frames- any experiences?G
May 21, 2001 6:44 AM
Took delivery of an El Diente 3 weeks ago. Have put about 300 miles on it and am very pleased. John is great to work with. It's a very smooth riding frame, and I had it built with a larger diameter downtube and beefier chain stays for stiffness. The only downside was that it took eight weeks for me to get the frame. If you have questions email or call them. Chances are you will speak to John directly.
re: DEAN Ti frames- any experiences?moo3i
May 21, 2001 7:07 AM
I rode for a team that was sponsered by Dean for a while and after seeing the quality issues with the bikes, I would never recommend Dean to anyone. Prices are great but it is totally hit or miss with what you will get from Dean. People I knew were riding steel and Ti Dean's. I rode a steel. We had many really,really misaligned frames right out of the box. The final straw for me was when I saw a new Dean arrive with one chainstay welded in 90 degrees the wrong way! Yeah, it was turned sideways. If you are going to lay down the cash for a custom Ti frame Dean is not who you should be looking at. Trust me you get what you pay for.
I don't think that was a mistake...seth1
May 21, 2001 12:36 PM
It's built that way to accomodate a new type of radically dished rear wheel with a 56 cog cassette. HA HA HA HA
more ranting about DEAN....moo3i
May 21, 2001 2:40 PM
After personally dealing with a few people at Dean, I wouldn't be surprised if someone there thought it was supposed to be that way. Dean used to sub out all of their frame building to other builders which could explain why they were putting out very inconsistent work. I thought things would improve when they began doing all in house work. They proved me wrong. I know I'm bad mouthing a company that some people feel are very reputable but a have one huge laundry list on Dean. These guys are not anywhere close to being in the same league as other USA Ti frame builders such as Merlin, Moots, Litespeed, and now IF (now making a pretty sweet Ti).
VERY good frame builderJohnG
May 21, 2001 11:33 PM
I've had VERY good experiences with Dean frames and the folks that work there.

Hammerheads not withstanding I'm sure you will like their product!
JohnG
NOT A..VERY good frame buildermoo3i
May 22, 2001 7:36 AM
If you don't beleive me just talk to an LBS owner that ever carried Dean. I would be surprised if 1 out of 10 had anything good to say about
the company or their frames. If you notice, no LBS except some big mail order houses carry Dean (look at the other bikes they carry and you
won't be very impressed). Dean may say this is how they keep cost low by selling direct from the factory. I think the truth is that no reputable dealer out there wants to
touch this company based on their past track record.

FYI I am basing my arguments on the fact that I have seen and have ridden with almost 30 people that have had Dean bikes and the majority of those people will
back every word I am saying. This would also include several shops and experienced mechanics. Like i said Dean is hit or miss. Don't get me wrong, I've seen great looking frames that have ridden very well from Dean. I am just pointing out that I have seen much more bad than good from this company. If someone wants a very average low
cost Ti frame then I would say roll the dice and see what you get. Good luck!
NOT A..VERY good frame builderG
May 22, 2001 9:35 AM
Dude, give it a rest. Based upon my personal experience with DEAN and others who have posted on this site and others, I would say you are the exception and not the rule. However, I would like to know what response you got from DEAN about your complaints and experience. As a quality control issue I would think that any company would have to respond to and address these types of complaints.
NOT A..VERY good frame buildermoo3i
May 22, 2001 9:54 AM
Here was Dean's customer service response:
I know 4 claims on broken steel frames that Dean offered NO warranty at all. They aggreed to a slightly higher discount for replacement cost. As for the rotated chain stay they replaced the frame. How embarrassing to even send something like that out of the factory. All of the misaligned frames they offered no fix for this. People had to pay out of pocket to have the frames aligned the best they could.
So dude, if you think I'm the exception I recommend you do exactly what I said and seek out a previous Dean dealer and see what they say. I'm sure they would appreciate a reason to vent their frustrations about the bad business Dean did with so many local shops. Like I said hit or miss. I'm glad you are happy with your purchase. I still could round up more people to trash on Dean than you could to praise them. I was offering years of dealing and riding Deans to someone interested in feedback. You are offering 300 miles of advice on a first time purchase. If you have anymore than that to back up your advice I would be glad to hear it. If not, you should give it a rest.
LOLJohnG
May 22, 2001 1:15 PM
You must go just hate life don't you! People always treating you like .... well, like you actually deserve!

JohnG
NOT A..VERY good frame builderG
May 22, 2001 1:24 PM
Whoa there. My experience with DEAN goes a little deeper than a new road frame. This was not my first bike purchase from DEAN, or my first interaction with the company. As I said, other individuals' posts and reviews do make you the exception here. That, to me is telling, due to the fact that we as cyclists are ever so eager to trash bikes or manufacturers when we perceive that we have been wronged or gotten a raw deal. Sounds like you and your team did indeed get a raw deal(or at the very least some pretty crappy frames). This strikes me as strange based upon my own experiences with DEAN. You have gotten me curious, so I will take your advice and look up previous DEAN dealers. If you want to help with that, then email me some names and phone numbers.