RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Bepop Pedals?(9 posts)

Bepop Pedals?Marcy S
May 15, 2001 11:10 AM
For the first time yesterday, I saw Bebop pedals. The bike store demonstrated the clip in mechanism for me in his hands, so I can't tell how they perform on a bike. They are similar to the Speedplays, but are hollowed out and you can use them with ATB recessed shoes. I haven't read anything about them, even though they have supposedly been out for awile. Has anyone heard anything good/bad about them? I am interested in buying the middle priced pair.
Thanks,
Marcy
How much are they?Andy
May 15, 2001 3:30 PM
What does the mid-priced unit sell for?
How much are they?Marcy S
May 16, 2001 10:36 AM
I think the cheapest model is about $125, middle is about $180, and the top model is about $225.
re: Bepop Pedals?ixiz
May 17, 2001 12:10 PM
I have 3 sets and would part with one set
Im not sure which is top or low end
I believe mine is the top end version - Stainless Axle
Contact by email if you are interested - goixiz@altavista.com
190 grtams for the set and they perform very well in both road and mtn.
Some info.boy nigel
May 17, 2001 3:00 PM
I wanted to get these peds (the mid-priced stainless-steel axle) recently when looking for new road pedals. No one I know of has them (coolness factor ;)), and I figured they'd work the same as Speedplays (which everyone has). They were the "underdog," kind of, and I dug that.

On lots of research and inspection, however, I wound up buying Speedplays. The Bebop site (bebop.com) is hopelessly out of date (Still says "New for 1998..."), and very few places carry them (even though your LBS does).

I'm sure they're find pedals, though. Check out the reviews on mtbr.com (the brother site to RBR). Many MTBers use Bebops, and they say they're great for road. They have problems with them shedding mud (off-road), but for dry (normal) road conditions, they're great, so the people say.
Oh yeah! IMPORTANT!boy nigel
May 17, 2001 3:02 PM
Per the Bebop folks, they only work on SPD-compatible (two-holed) shoes. This eliminates many road shoes from working with them. This fact was the straw that sold me my Speedplays (which I think are WONDERFUL pedals--wouldn't change a thing), since my current shoes are three-holed models (Look-compatible). Couldn't afford new shoes ($150) PLUS peds ($165)!

Best of luck.
Thanks...Marcy S
May 18, 2001 2:11 PM
Boy Nigel,

I can't blame you for going with the Speedplay's, since buying new shoes were out of the question.

I am still debating on buying these pedals or not.

Thanks for all your great info.

Marcy
beBop pedals..I like 'emWade
May 21, 2001 1:02 PM
I put them on my road bike yesterday and used my moutain bike shoes. I've been riding Bebops for over two years on the mountain bike. I really love the float and the way you can twist out and back in without having to "re stomp" the pedal. The low stack height will probably require seat adjustment. The ONLY thing I don't like is the fact the the cleats wear out fairly quick--at least for mountain biking. This may not be a problem on the road. Also I keep mine lubed with dry/wax type lube. They can get tight when dry and I hope that extends cleat life.

I haven't ridden speedplays, but I understand that they're very similar. I can tell you that I'll never go back to SPD, LOOK, or other type systems. It's bebop or speedplay from now on.
Best of luck with your new beBop pedals...Marcy
May 23, 2001 12:44 PM
Wade,
Thanks for your input post on the beBops. I was thinking about buying a pair for my road bike, but since no one I know has them, let alone even heard of them, I decided against them.
I hope they work out well for you.

Marcy :)