RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Opinions on Michelin tires?(17 posts)

Opinions on Michelin tires?Retro
May 14, 2001 5:49 PM
I've scorned Michelin bike tires for years, since a pair I tried in the early '90s dried out and fell apart in a couple of months. But last month I got a set of Wildgripper City 1.5s on sale for my ex-mountain bike commuter (how wrong could I go for 10 bucks a pair?), and I love 'em. They're tough, fast, quiet on pavement... Is it time to swallow my pride and become a Michelin man? And what does anybody recommend (in 700c, for my "real" bike) for general riding? Anything other than Axials?
Thanks--
I, too, swore off Michelins for a timemike mcmahon
May 14, 2001 6:28 PM
but am now a loyal Michelin-Man. For a time in about '95, I was using a Michelin that was called something like "By-Synergic" or something equally meaningless. The things were schrapnel magnets. After subsequently experimenting with Conti, Torelli, Hutchison, and Vittoria, I started using Axial Pros in early 2000 and haven't looked back. Some people report problems with cuts and gouges with the APs. I haven't had this problem. In fact, the AP was the first tire that I had actually worn out without having to toss it due to cuts or generally shoddiness. Go Forth and Buy Michelins (but get the all-black ones).
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?12x23
May 14, 2001 9:26 PM
Love the A/P's in 700x20 & 23. I definitely prefer all black. I have decided the green is fugly. I haven't had any problems with flats or cuts in the tread and have worn several down to the casing.
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?peloton
May 14, 2001 10:03 PM
The Axial Pro is my favorite tire to date. I've worn through two sets with only two flats between both pairs. The ride quality is also excellent with supple cornering and a smooth ride. I get about 1500 miles out of a set before I toss them. I think I could get a little more, but it isn't worth risking a blow-out to me.
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?mike mcmahon
May 14, 2001 10:42 PM
I agree with your comment about not trying to extend the life beyond what's reasonable. On one set, I pushed the limits well beyond where I should have. I ended up with three flats in one ride. Once they go, they go fast. Just make sure you replace them before they're really worn.
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?12x23
May 15, 2001 9:14 PM
I didn't mean to imply that I ride them right into the tubes. I have been surprised to see the casing revealed 'all of a sudden' several times on the rear. The Michelins don't seem to get as 'square' as Contis before revealing their casing.
Noticed the same thingmike mcmahon
May 15, 2001 9:44 PM
When I was on Contis, they looked like someone ground them flat with a grinding wheel after a couple of months. I haven't noticed the same effect with the APs. I wonder if Michelin has been improving working to improve the tread on the APs since they were introduced a few years back. It seems that complaints about tears, slices, punctures, etc. have decreased over the past year or so.

P.S. My six-month-old son is looking more like the Michelin-Man every day.
come on, 1500 miles??Alpine
May 15, 2001 11:16 PM
I used to be the ultra hard core racer type riding 400+ miles a week not counting races (before I got married and bought a house 1 hour from work) and I've used Conti Grand Prixs for as long as I can remember. I never had any problems with them in any area and I have always ridden them for 3-4k before they were no longer worthy.
Some people are scared by that Conti side wall fraying that I've seen plenty of but I've never had any trouble sidewall or otherwise. I also run my clinchers at 150psi almost always. I even have a pair of Conti Grand Prixs that my wife put 5k on. They are hanging on the bike room wall and show no wear through. Squared of a bit? Yes but over 5k.
I'll also push the corners in the rain just as hard as anybody with any tires. I love riding in the wet stuff and the Contis are one of the reasons why.
I'm not a Michelin hater by no means. Michelins are on my BMW R1100S and my cars. I also have tried the bike tires but the quick wear has always been sour point for me.
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?pmf
May 15, 2001 7:01 AM
I think Axial Pros are great tires. You can get them at Labicicletta.com for $33/tire. Thankfully, they now come in black too.

I've also had good luck with their lower end tires I use for commuting. A few years back, I got a bunch of Bi-Synergic Michelin tires real cheap. They were good tires. Recently, Performance ran a special on tires that had a different name, but appeared to be the same thing (blue sidewalls, black center). I got 6 of those for $80. These have sold out, but I notice that Performance is selling the Hi-Lite Prestige for $22/tire or $58/3 tires. Personally, I'd spend the $11 more and get the Axial Pros from Bicicletta. But if you can find them in the $15/tire range, jump on it. Still $44 for a set of tires is pretty cheap these days. Might want to give them a try.
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?keith m.
May 15, 2001 7:54 AM
I've been using the super comps ($17 at performance bike.com) and I really like them. They are the same tire as the Axial Pro but they have an added belt so they are alittle heavier, alittle tougher. The only thing I HATE about them is they are sooooo hard to mount.
Any one used axial pro lights?PIng Pong
May 15, 2001 9:31 AM
Is that extra 20g weight saving at a cost in terms of durability, will it change my riding, will I scare myself with speed?
Anyone try the new Michelin Axial Carbons?JL
May 15, 2001 1:51 PM
Anyone try the new (supposedly) Axial Carbons. They're half the price of the Pros and I wondered if they were any good.

Thanks
Michelin Axial Carbons?skinner
May 17, 2001 9:34 AM
they are heavy. around 240g each
re: Opinions on Michelin tires?steveF
May 15, 2001 6:36 PM
I've had great luck with Axial Pros for several years. I just bought 4 black/grey AP's 700x23 from www.parker-international.co.uk for $26.99 each plus about $8 shipping total. I received them in 10-14 days.
Axial Pro PSI and Tire cutsSimpleGreen
May 15, 2001 7:47 PM
The negative reviews of the AP on this website often refers to the numerous cuts the AP's get. I wonder if the softness of the compound and over-inflation have something to do with it. I've found that I get fewer flats if I run my tires at 100PSI (weight = 155, 700x23).

Or perhaps the positive reviewers don't live in places with excessive rocks and glass. Anyone care to comment?

SG
sharp stufflonefrontranger
May 16, 2001 12:33 PM
"live in an area with rocks and glass" -- Gee, that wouldn't be Boulder, would it? We have thorns and razorlike sand out here, too. Never flatted so much in my life until I moved here, and it doesn't seem related to how carefully you try to avoid it. There's just a lot of crap on the roads.

I haven't used Michelins since ohh, about 1994 or so. I had lots of problems with delamination with them. Haven't tried the Axial Pros, but living out here in sticker-land, I tend to use Contis as they're durable. The downside is they're also pretty heavy, and will square off as another poster noted, but they don't seem to flat as much as other tires I used. My favorite road tires of all time were the Kenda Kompressors I rode as a sponsored racer for them back in Ohio. Sadly, no one seems to carry them due to roadie snob values i.e. the perception that Kenda only markets low-end tires for kids bikes.
Axial Pro PSI and Tire cutsmike mcmahon
May 16, 2001 1:26 PM
I run my APs at 115-120 without flatting problems. I live in an urban jungle and am daily assaulted by broken bottles, construction materials that have fallen off trucks, tacks, nails, toxic chemicals, hypodermic syringes, small explosive devices*, and other assorted hazards.

*This is no exaggeration. A few minutes ago, I read a report in the L.A. times about how someone has been planting explosive devices in orange traffic cones around town. So far, three have been found. Fortunately, nobody has been killed or injured yet.