RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


I'm looking for a better seatpost(16 posts)

I'm looking for a better seatpostAndy
May 7, 2001 1:40 PM
My Trek 5200 came with a cheap Icon seatpost. The seat angle adjuster is serrated for click-stop adjustments. It just so happens that the angle I want is between two of these click-stops. Can anyone recommend a decent seatpost with infinite angle adjustment? I've seen a few people on this board that switched to the American Classic seatpost.
re: I'm looking for a better seatpostPMF
May 7, 2001 1:56 PM
I think American Classic makes a great seatpost at a more than fair price. At $40, its a bargain. Only better thing than the price is adjusting it. I've never had a seatpost easier to adjust. My only complaint is that at 235 mm, its a bit on the short side. I couldn't use it on one of my bikes because the limit line was slightly out of the collar. Works fine for my other bike.
Another vote for ACzelig1
May 8, 2001 6:40 AM
I've used only three different posts over 25 years as this is truly a component where form is function.

Campy NR- Two bolt clamp and no serration angle adjustment but not user friendly with the bolt heads on top (under the saddle). No slippage, infinite angle adjustment if you had the time to deal with the bolt location, somewhat heavy by more recent standards.

Campy C-Record- One bolt design with serrations. Simple and sturdy but angle adjustment was a pain and not infinite.

AC- Simple and functional design with ingenious approach and ease of use to angle adjustment/seat clamp. My choice for now and the future.

The ITM's also look like they're worthy of consideration.
The cerration problem exists on several higher-end posts, too.bill
May 7, 2001 3:04 PM
The dangers of buying off the Internet -- can't look out for that sort of thing until it's in your hot little hand and its so purty and you want to put it on and oh it's just a little off that little bit won't hurt will it?
The American Classic has a two bolt system that is relatively inelegant, but darn it it works. I decided I wanted to try a carbon post, and the Wound-Up looks pretty but I would have a hard time arguing it functions any better.
re: I'm looking for a better seatpostChrisD
May 7, 2001 4:25 PM
i'm using an easton carbon seat post and love it! it's super adjustable and light as heck!
Thompsongrz mnky
May 7, 2001 5:07 PM
It isn't the lightest, but it's strong and is easily adjusted. They've even printed angles on the clamp so that you can have a reference. You can get them long or short or somewhere in between if you cut off the excess.
Thomson has little setback....dave
May 7, 2001 5:16 PM
Even the setback model doesn't permit the saddle to move as far back as most traditional road posts. Check the saddle position before trying a Thomson.
ThompsonWoof the dog
May 7, 2001 11:37 PM
what are you talking about. Its 190 grams, which is up there, dude. Its definitely on the lighter side.
Woof, "don't insult my seatpost" dog
Touchy Touchy ;-)grz mnky
May 8, 2001 10:40 AM
Hey - I've got one on both the road bike and the MTB. It's just that they aren't as light as some of the carbon models and I figured some one would bring that up without my disclaimer.
;-) hahaWoof the dog
May 9, 2001 8:35 PM
lol, those carbon ones are so light, but sooo pricey. But as I say "its all good baby"
Tail winds
Woof the dog.
Touchy Touchy ;-)moe
May 10, 2001 12:43 AM
you are the touchy-touchy one. You always have to get in the last word to protect your fragile ego. Give us a break for a while. Ever notice how often you post a reply? We really do know how smart you are. Really we do. You tell us all the time. Even when you are dead wrong.
Hey, Woof and Grz,mike mcmahon
May 8, 2001 3:45 PM
I just bought a new Thompson seatpost on e-bay for my back-up road bike. If it isn't as good as you guys say, I'm going to track you down and make you pay. ;-)
ITM Millennium....dave
May 7, 2001 8:24 PM
This post has a two-bolt adjustment, and a little more setback than most road posts. The angle adjustment require a small wrench, but after it's set it doesn't move if you need to move the saddle forward or backward.
ITM Millennium....James
May 8, 2001 2:07 AM
I have to recommend the Itm Millennium too. I was just in the market for a seatpost and after reading reviews/research, i ordered the ITM. After getting it, i found it to be very easy to adjust and my 215 Lb butt doesnt even make it squeak, Let alone shift it out of position.........good luck...........
Thanks... I got the Thompson Elite with setbackAndy
May 8, 2001 2:35 PM
Thanks for the input. I looked at the American Classic, Thompson and the Easton. My LBS had the Thompson and the Easton and I choose the Thompson due to price. Nobody had an American Classic locally so I decided against buying over the internet.

BTW, the setback on the Elite was just right. My saddle sits in the middle of the adjustable range giving me some room to move in either direction.

I can now adjusted my saddle to the correct angle. Anybody need an Icon seatpost real cheap? Like $5 ???
Sorry . . . There's no "P" in Thomson ( nm )Andy
May 10, 2001 9:14 PM