RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Mavic Ksyrium vs Rolf Sestriere(8 posts)

Mavic Ksyrium vs Rolf Sestrierelott
Apr 24, 2001 3:15 PM
I'm buying a new Trek 5200 this weekend and I want to upgrade my wheelset. I have narrowed it down to these two(my LBS carries both). The upgrade charge is the same. I'm 5'8" and 150(if this helps). I read many reviews from the Product Reviews on these two but I can't seem to find a winner between them(maybe their is none). I'm looking for a more durable rim to handle the many potholes and a rim that is more compliant on longer rides(100 miles). I'm not as concerned with the lightness for climbing hills. Any ideas???
Flip a Coingrz mnky
Apr 24, 2001 4:58 PM
I don't like Rolf's so I'd use a two headed coin.
re: Mavic Ksyrium vs Rolf SestriereJofa
Apr 25, 2001 4:26 AM
K's are more popular, I think. Also they look better. However... don't want to start a wheel war here, but... Open Pro's on groupset hubs, built by a wheel god, will probably fulfil all your requirements better than either... and be about as light. Put the money saved into a riding holiday. Yeah, I know...
Wheel War!!!!runstevierun
Apr 25, 2001 5:02 PM
I've got the K's and love 'em.
My buddy has the Rolfs and loves'em.
I think his wheels are ugly.
He thinks my wheels are ugly.
But I spank him on the hills, ergo it must be the K's.
Check out Speed Dream Aerolight wheelsAndy
Apr 27, 2001 7:55 PM
I hope it's not too late... I purchased a 5200 last month and upgraded to Vector Pro wheels. Until last week I'd never heard of Speed Dream Wheels but I've seen some good reviews and comments in the general message board. Now I wish I'd had a chance to check them out. The web site is listed under the product reviews for wheelsets/Speed Dream Aerolight
I love them. Lighter, cheaper, better made (nm)3kidney
Apr 28, 2001 1:13 PM
I love them. Lighter, cheaper, better made (nm)Andy
Apr 28, 2001 8:30 PM
I'd like to ask you about your experience with the wheels. I don't have a lot of money to throw around and I was thinking about selling my Rolf Vector Pro's on eBay and getting a set of Speed Dreams.

Specifically, does Dave use "standard" off the shelf spokes and nipples? One of the big problems I've heard people have with Rolf's is that the wheels use non-standard components and they can't be fixed at many of the local shops. I've heard some people have had to wait weeks for Rolf's special spokes and nipples.

Also, there are no pictures of the wheels on the web site.
I love them. Lighter, cheaper, better made (nm)Billy Bob
Apr 28, 2001 9:40 PM
I highly recommend Daves' Aerolites. I have a set of Vector Pro's and the Aerolites are way lighter,almost as aero(they feel less flexy and more aero than Velomax Ascent's) ,and just as stiff. Give Dave a call, he'll answer any of your questions without a sales pitch.