RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Degreasers and lubes(13 posts)

Degreasers and lubesHwy45
Apr 7, 2001 5:20 PM
I know this has been talked about before here but it's been awhile and I'm doing the basics on the family bikes now. I have just run out of the Lemond brand named products I had. I seem to remember some products that weren't bike specific and worked well. So what works for you?
BOESHIELD T-9 LUBE.KK
Apr 7, 2001 5:59 PM
In my opinion, Boeshield T-9 is the best chain lube on the market. I think it is superior to White Lightning. Expensive-yes, but well worth the investment for many miles between lubes w. high dirt resistance.
BOESHIELD RULES!!ChrisA
Apr 9, 2001 4:49 PM
My LBS charges me about $5.00 for a 4 oz bottle. I lube each link individually. It usually lasts me a whole season.
Matter of opinionKerry Irons
Apr 9, 2001 5:09 PM
I've used Boeshield, and read many reports on it, and NO ONE claims that it lasts a whole season for a single application. How many miles is that? My experience with Boeshield was that it didn't last longer than other good lubes (about 300 miles) and that it was middling clean - between TriFlow (dirty) and ProLink (cleanest of the oils). I've seen people rave about nearly every lube on the market, but never had anyone claim a full season of use for any of them. Boeshield, based on a lot of lube discussions in on a lot of discussion groups, has its followers but is certainly not the lube of choice for a large number of cyclists.
An entire season? Nah...Cliff Oates
Apr 9, 2001 5:29 PM
Actually, I think he meant the bottle lasted a season. I use Boeshield and I relube every couple of weeks. I wipe down the chain with a rag soaked in degreaser, then apply Boeshield and let it dry for a few days (I have a weekday commuter bike and a weekend play bike). I wipe the chain down once more, it stays very clean and the chain is nearly silent.

I'm tempted to try ProLink because there _are_ a lot of people who swear by it. On the other hand, Boeshield is doing the job for me, so there's not a whole lot of impetus for me to switch.
I kind of miss the old forum software...Cliff Oates
Apr 9, 2001 5:35 PM
and its edit function. I should have noted that the second wipe down is with a dry rag.
Boeshield/ProLink/et almr tornado head
Apr 9, 2001 5:45 PM
I've been using the Schwinn factory chain wax... seems to work ok for me and stays pretty clean. Will be trying the ProLink, tho I've heard it's messy. i assume that means the application.

I've also had good luck with OneLube, made by the Slick50 folks. At only $2.50 for a huge spray can, it's a great bargain. Got it at a local department store. Lasted me a year for my bike, wife's bike, and three kids with 5 bikes. But it is a wet lube and a little "dirtier" than wax-based or dry lubes.
Matter of opinionSkip
Apr 9, 2001 5:32 PM
I believe he was saying that the 4 oz btl lasted the season.
Matter of opinion. Kerry....Hap
Apr 10, 2001 5:40 AM
"Boeshield, based on a lot of lube discussions in on a lot of discussion groups, has its followers but is certainly not the lube of choice for a large number of cyclists."

What is?

Hap
Tricky questionKerrry Irons
Apr 10, 2001 4:56 PM
Based on the riders I see on my daily rides, I would guess that "none" is the most popular lube. There really is no one publishing any sales information, so the following comments are about what I hear from fellow riders and read on discussion groups. ProLink is quite popular among "serious" riders who have read about it or heard from other riders. White Lightning has a lot of followers and probably many more users than ProLink - WL is especially popular off road where any oil on the chain will attract dust and you will find it for sale in nearly every bike shop. WL is no good in the wet, however. Same is true for pretty much all of the wax lubes, or hot wax treatments. I think TriFlow is also popular (widely available) - it is a good lube but it leaves the chain "wet" and so picks up a lot of dirt. Some swear by WD-40, which is not even a lubricant, so it just shows how "personal" lube choice can be. I'm guessing a lot of people only lube their chain after it gets stiff or starts making a lot of noise, and who knows what they use - everything from Phil or Pedro's (vegetable based goop) to 10w30. My own personal search for the holy grail has included melted wax, wax in solvent, WL, 10w and 20w electric motor oils (no additives like automotive oils), Slick50 Lube 1, Boeshield, Phil, Regina, Pedros road & MTB, TriFlow, and finally ProLink. IMO ProLink has the best balance of lubrication, water resistance, durability, and cleanliness. My current chain is pushing 10K miles and still has less than 1/16" elongation per foot. I lube every 300-350 miles by thoroughly wetting the chain, working the lube in by shifting through the range a few times, wiping the cassette and chainrings, and then wiping the chain until the rag is barely getting dirty. I never have to clean the chain, it doesn't get gunky, and the only time I have to lube more often is if I have to spend significant time riding in the rain. ProLink is not as clean as WL, but it lasts much longer, results in less chain wear, and is much cheaper (a bottle lasts 15K miles for me).
PEDRO'S products have worked great for meboy nigel
Apr 10, 2001 10:50 AM
For chain lubes, I use their ICE WAX. Reasonably priced, it keeps the chain CLEAN (I ride on dry roads mostly) and silent. Forms a type of wax that removes dirt and impurities as you pedal, leaving a shiny and quiet chain.

For degreaser, I use their BIO-DEGREASER. The stuff's eco-friendly, does its job, and actually smells VERY NICE. Pedro's makes sure that their stuff smells nice, too. Their bike wax, BIKE LUST has a wonderful vanilla smell that isn't chemical or offensive in the least, plus it does a super job of cleaning and shining up a frame.
You can't beat Simple Green for degreasingJon(unregistered)
Apr 11, 2001 7:50 AM
and it's quite a bit less expensive than bike-specific degreasers. It does seem to be acid-based, so be sure to rinse it completely off, and like any degreaser, it's not the best for your skin, but not as bad as some I've used.
For lubes, I've tried a number of chain lubes over the years, and really like the dry-type products. On dirt, they keep the chain and cogs cleaner than oils, and even on the road, they stay grit-free longer. I used to be a Boeshield fan, but since trying Prolink, I'm a convert. Boeshield gave me some buildup on the derailleur pulleys and cogs, but Prolink, applied correctly, has been much cleaner. It's also fairly quiet, and lasts at least 150 miles. I'm still getting used to long application intervals.
For bearings, I wouldn't spend a lot of money on the family bikes, unless your family races. I use some Quaker State bearing grease (1 lb. tub for around $3) on most of my wheels, and switch to their marine grease with teflon for the commuter, and for threaded parts, because of it's thickness.
For my race wheels, I've just started using ProGold EPX grease, which is supposed to have the same properties as their Prolink. It was only $8 for a 14 oz. tube, and seems to function as advertised, though I don't have enough miles on it to tell. It's nice and tacky at first, but after a few miles seems to thin out, so the wheels spin very freely.
For bearings, though, any grease should work fine, since most are designed to deal with much higher temperatures and loads than a bicycle can supply. If you change bearings and regrease once a year, your races should last years and years, barring contamination. For instance, I've got 5 year old 105 hubs with at least 6000 miles on them, and the cups and cones have yet to develop the shiny wear lines. So, don't believe all the hype, grease is grease. Chain lube, though, since it's exposed, is a little more important.
RE: You can't beat Simple Green for degreasingmr tornado head
Apr 12, 2001 5:29 PM
Since I spent some time running an oil change shop, I ended up using a lot of different degreasers. I *really* like GreaseFeast, which is not only very eco-friendly, but also has grease-eating bacteria. But other than that, SimpleGreen works great. Most others work OK for bike use.

For grease, I use what I have handy, which right now is a high-temp brake/wheel bearing grease. It's way overkill for use in my bike but it's handy.