RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Shimano vs. Campy(16 posts)

Shimano vs. CampyWyatt
Apr 2, 2001 7:38 PM
What are pros and cons of Campy and Shimano. I am getting ready to build up a new bike and am getting differing views from the bike shops. Is their a difference in quality or performance, or is it just a matter of personal preference? What about serviceability and availability?
why? Why?? WHY???nm
Apr 2, 2001 7:42 PM
nm
re: Shimano vs. Campybartali
Apr 3, 2001 4:21 AM
Without trying to offend anyone... Shimano is less expensive and works great out of the box but doesn't last as long. Campy costs more, takes about 1500-2000 miles to break in before working smoothly and lasts a life time.

Campy has a very loyal following especially among the "mature" cyclists.
Debunking the slogansBipedZed
Apr 3, 2001 5:52 AM
"Campy wears in, Shimano wears out"

Surprising that this phrase is a source of pride for Campagnolo users. What this says is that Campagnolo manufacturing tolerances are not as precise as Shimano. Campagnolo requires a "break-in" period where components must be worn in to the proper specification. As far as wearing out, both groups will eventually wear out - they are mechanical components and all mechanical components have a finite operating life.

My Shimano Dura Ace components have been ridden/raced over 10000 miles and still perform flawlessly. The majority of cyclists will never put 10000 miles on a component group before either getting a new bike or leaving the sport.
Debunking the debunkingPete
Apr 3, 2001 8:57 AM
Okay, I'm usually not one to enter into trivial matters like which component group is better, but Mr. Biped Zed is a little too critical here. Plus he is wrong about the 10,000 mile thing. I have a chorus grouppo that definitely has more then that on it, plus it just survived a cross season, and winter riding. It is still working fine. The rear der has play in it, but it still shifts, so I still use it.
Saying that something is inferior and insinuating that the tolerances are less just because of a "slogan" is absurd. Ever buy a new car? They tell you to give it a break in period. Does this mean that the car is inferior, and that someplace out there is a car you can beat the daylights out of right off the lot? No, of course not.
I would actually assume just the opposite about a break in period. Campy shifters are tight when you first start riding them, but quickly become smoother after about 15-30 hours of use. I think it has to do with the precision at which these items are built in the first place.
What it is going to boil down to in the long run is which shifting system do you like better? I personally prefer the Ergo shifters. So I went with Campagnolo.
Read my message againBipedZed
Apr 3, 2001 9:34 AM
I never implied that either group was inferior. I merely addressed a common slogan that I interpret as implying something about manufacturing tolerances. It isn't even true, as both Campy and Shimano work great right out of the box if adjusted correctly.

There are only a handful of posters on this board that have ridden their component group more than 10000 miles. That hardly constitutes a majority.
Debunking the slogansVivaItaliano
Apr 3, 2001 10:32 AM
I just got a new road bike with the Campy 9spd Daytona/Veloce mix and fresh off the showroom floor this stuff fires like butter so I don't know what you are trying to debunk.

I think what that statement is more aimed at is the fact that Campy drivetrains have less mechanical parts and therefore less chance of problems over time where as the Shimano stuff may start out working great but goes downhill from there.

Quality wise I don't think you can go wrong with either Campy (above Mirage) or Shimano (above 105).

Here is a Campy biased view though:
-Campy hoods are more comfortable
-Campy has hidden cables
-Campy has upshift on hood so your thumb can hit it when standing or upright. Shimano places thier's on the brake lever so it is always a reach unless your in the drops.
-Campy has solid brake lever which feels better and cannot activate a shift by mistake
-Campy has fewer mechanical parts so it is easier to fix and maintains longer more smoother life cycle
-Campy has a 10 SPD double (just say no to any triple)
-Comes from Italy not Japan
-Campy just looks better
Subtle racismBipedZed
Apr 3, 2001 11:52 AM
Thanks for confirming the subtle racism that always seems to surface during the Campy vs. Shimano debate. Sooner or later a Campy-phile always brings up the origin of Shimano components as being a defining factor in their decision for Campagnolo.
Please don't play that cardgrandemamou
Apr 3, 2001 4:18 PM
My 2 cents:
Italian: Bikes
Japanese: Cars
American: Motorcycles

My opinions may be irrational and unfounded but certainly not racist. They are based on my past experiances and personal preferences. It keeps my otherwise complex life simple.
I agree!!!ChrisA
Apr 3, 2001 4:17 PM
Pros put on 15 to 20,000 miles a year. Some use just one training bike. That's more miles than most people will put on a bike before they upgrade.
Zeus vs Mavic ;)ScottV
Apr 3, 2001 6:54 AM
They are both good. It comes down to a few things

- 9 vs. 10 speed
- Which type of shifters you like
- Graphics
- What your currently using

I Have Campy on my road bikes. Prefer the shifters to the Shimano ones. But I have nothing against Shimano. In fact I have it one my mountain bike.
Zeus Super Chronos Hands downgrandemamou
Apr 3, 2001 4:06 PM
Thanks for the trip down memory lane. My first real bike was built up with Zeus. It was stolen while in college. I wish I still had it.
Dohgrz mnky
Apr 6, 2001 9:59 AM
Like you have the option of putting Campy on your MTB. Don't bring up Campy's "experiment" with MTB - they blew it.

This is one of those endless debates that goes absolutely nowhere, again and again and again.

It just doesn't F'ing matter.

If you've got the extra $$, like the shifters, and want the "status" then Campy is for you. Be content and smug if it makes you feel better.
Some weeks ago, there was a great thread about the lure ofbill
Apr 3, 2001 9:00 AM
lore or the lore of lure (take your pick) with cycling equipment. Basically, although I know that it's a little bit silly, at this point I like liking Campy. The stuff has served me well (not that I've demanded a whole lot from it; not that my old Shimano stuff hasn't), therefore, I think it's the best. The 10 sp. thing is cool, and the cranks are gorgeous. And Canmpy does work.
Is Campy really the best? Who cares? You're buying some lure and some lore. Go the other way, to Shimano, and you're buying some sort of statement, as well. If none of this matters to you, then break down the variables (price, aesthetics, 10 sp. v. 9 sp., compatibility with existing wheelsets, shifter shape) and make some choices. Either way, you're not going to go wrong.
Go to your LBS and wrap your hands around the shifters of either. The shape is probably the single most significant difference (and it ain't gonna change your life much, for better or worse, either way).
re: Shimano vs. CampyGary
Apr 3, 2001 5:05 PM
Whenever I see heated emotional debates that are oriented more to defend their viewpoint rather than provide objective encouragement toward a particular opinion, it tells me that I've either reached an impasse of core belief or I've reached the level of esotericism in which objective measurements are no longer possible.

I would not go as far as to say that statements about bike components coming from Italy are better are racist...but rather they are ethnocentric. Meaning that they are prideful of them because that's the region where the "quality" stuff used to come from...(i.e. before Shimano showed the world that it can learn to do it as well).

I debated the issue of Campy vs. Shimano myself. And after speaking with several long-time bike riders...it would seem to be just a matter of taste. Although most would agree that the Campy Record shifters were a bit better than Shimano's Dura-Ace shifters. Bear in mind that if you are using anything less than their top of the line product, the "other team" DOES have something a bit better.

But there is an issue of practicality that I conceded to...and that is I can generally walk into most bike shops (in my large city) and pick up a Shimano Dura-Ace part or it can be ordered quickly (less than a week). It would seem that to retrieve Campy parts almost always constitutes ordering and the arrival times appear to be longer. Of course, there are certainly exceptions in specific cases.

I ended up enjoying the lower cost, maintenance-friendly, quiet ride of my Shimano components. Though I certainly can see myself going to Campy later on when I'm not so rough on my components.
re: Shimano vs. Campymuncher
Apr 6, 2001 7:13 AM
Oh yeah, 'course - but Campy's still better though.....