RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Icon SPD road pedals, any good?(7 posts)

Icon SPD road pedals, any good?Bruno S
Mar 20, 2001 4:11 PM
I'm considering getting these pedals. Are they good? I have a stiff sole road shoe and double sided SPDs. Another option is Look. Will the larger platform be really more confortable?
re: Icon SPD road pedals, any good?HerrLURP
Mar 20, 2001 4:47 PM
I used to have Icon SPD's, and they are very good! I could not tell the difference between these and the more expensive Ritchey Logic Pro's! They are lighter than Looks/Times and I think even lighter than the Dura-Ace SPD's. Of course they are smaller, so they won't have as much "platform" for you to sprint on and may be a bit more uncomfortable. However, I prefer these over my old Look PP296's anyday.
A second opinion...Marlon
Mar 20, 2001 5:49 PM
I've experienced double-sided Ritchey's Pros, Look 296's (my current pedal) and the Icon road SPDs, and I have to say that I think the Look pedals do it for me. The Icon SPD's are fairly good quality (bearing in mind TJeanloz's post below about heavier riders, since I'm 140lbs), but having that small platform didn't quite do it for me, especially since I like climbing out of the saddle and sprinting lots. I just found the Look pedals more comfortable than the Ritcheys or the Icons.

Yes, the Looks are heavier, but they offer more float and are slightly more comfortable, more supportive, in my opinion. I have to admit though, if I had to get Look pedals over again, I'd go with 247s or their latest incarnation. The 296's knob at the back is just useless.

Also, anybody I've talked to who has used Time pedals swear by them.

Good luck.
re: Icon SPD road pedals, any good?Akirasho
Mar 20, 2001 4:58 PM
I don't know if the specs have changed, but I own a couple of pair circa '99 (gotta love a local Trek dealer who swaps 'em out for LOOKs and sells them for a song to guys like me).

I use them on a couple of recumbents, and their overall performance rivals the Shimano 747's I use on my MTB's. They're lightweight, with smooth bearings and positive engagement. They had the added benefit of being compatible with my MTB shoes.

As far as platform size is concerned, I can't readily speak. The pressure dynamics placed on me feet aboard a 'bent are probably noticably different than those on an upright. On the other hand, I do still use 747's on a couple of road bikes and rarely experience hotspots.

I also use LOOK, and feel that they do get a nod when it comes to stability as you honk on the crank. I guess it depends on your riding style. Talk about a fence sitter... I like both.

Be the bike.
A little good...TJeanloz
Mar 20, 2001 5:07 PM
The Icon De La Sole was a really lightweight SPD pedal. Very similar to the Ritchy road pedal (both are made by Wellgo). About two years ago we stopped recommending either pedal to riders >150lbs. They just kept breaking under bigger guys. It wasn't catastrophic spindle failure or anything- the mechanisms would self-destruct. I don't know how many we had to warranty before we started selling them exclusively to women and lighter men.
Thanks all, I will not buy them...Bruno S
Mar 21, 2001 5:40 PM
I weight 176 so they may break. I will go with Look.
Thanks all, I will not buy them...badgerboy
Mar 21, 2001 6:31 PM
i picked up a pair of Icon SPD road pedals about 2 years ago from my LBS. I now weight 170 lbs and have not had any problems with them bonking on me, just another opinion.