RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


ITM Millenium Bar -- too flexy/fragile?(8 posts)

ITM Millenium Bar -- too flexy/fragile?bill
Mar 15, 2001 11:19 AM
I bought one of these from Colorado Cyclist ($55) because, if you've been following the gossip, I'm building up a new bike. I saw sale, and I jumped. Because this stoopid board was down, all I was able to determine from other research was that a mess of manu's put these babies on their built up bikes, and I didn't read any reviews before purchasing. How bad could they be, I figured.
I have now read the reviews. Only two of them, but they ain't pretty. Are these reports of extreme flexiness accurate? Good things posted about the ITM Millenium stem (except for the screws, which apparently rust -- anyone know where replacement stainless screws can be had?), but nothing good about the bars. Should I just wrap them up and send them back, or are they no worse than other light bars? I have Prima 220's now, and I think that they're fine.
wouldn't worry...dave
Mar 15, 2001 1:55 PM
I've used both the ITM 225 and 260 models, and never found them to be too flexy. The Millennium shouldn't be a lot different.

The bolts you need are metric M5 X 16mm, in stainless steel. I got a box of 100 from mcmaster-carr.com, for around $5. They also work as bottle cage bolts.
Thanks, much. nmbill
Mar 15, 2001 2:01 PM
nm
That McMaster site is incredible. All kinds of stuff.bill
Mar 15, 2001 2:08 PM
Thanks for that, too. Bookmarked.
mcmaster-carr.com has about anything you can think of....dave
Mar 15, 2001 4:31 PM
and good service. I've ordered on the net and received small orders in only a few days. Their regular catalog has several thousand pages. I work in facilities engineering at a large manufacturing plant, and use it constantly, when I need to get repair parts and materials. The prices are sometimes a little high, but if you're in
dire need, availability is the key.
mcmaster-carr.com has about anything you can think of....dave
Mar 15, 2001 4:32 PM
and good service. I've ordered on the net and received small orders in only a few days. Their regular catalog has several thousand pages. I work in facilities engineering at a large manufacturing plant, and use it constantly, when I need to get repair parts and materials. The prices are sometimes a little high, but if you're in dire need, availability is the key.
re: ITM Millenium Bar -- too flexy/fragile?steveq
Mar 15, 2001 2:37 PM
3k miles on mine. no problems. i weigh 160 and have no "noodle" problems. perhaps with a larger rider........sq
re: ITM Millenium Bar -- too flexy/fragile?ScottV
Mar 15, 2001 4:42 PM
I've been looking at these to and have heard mixed things about them. Some people find them flexable well other don't. Very strange. I'm probably going to switch to the Pro 260's just because I plan to put aero bars on them a few times a year for my local club TT's. Mmmm I fell a question coming on.

Oh I've heard nothing but good things about the stem except the problem you already mentioned. I some spare Ti bolts that I my put on it.